We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails

Sails
Raratonga, Muri, Cook Islands
+68227349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Muri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Almost Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We came for lunch with a group of eight and it seemed the staff didn't want to know us (one lady in particular). Wasn't busy and the service was quite slow, especially from the one lady. All that aside the food was great and the wine list is concise and incredibly well priced. We all had a great day at Sails but due to the one rude staff member our experience fell short of perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    275
    116
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Alittle overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I ate here for dinner one night. In my opinion the food is pretty expensive, nothing too spectacular about it. I had better and cheaper at other restaurants in the cook islands. Its good for the loctaion but thats about it! The waitresses are very nice and friendly too.
Pretty average place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good food, service, & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

yup, that's right the food was good, the service decent, and the location is perfect - right on the beach overlooking beautiful muri lagoon

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Came by this place wandering along the main road in search of lunch options. The place looked nice but having seen the menu I was put off - prices are laughable. This place obviously lives off its (scenic view?) reputation, as it doesn't have any outstanding dishes that wouldn't be available elsewhere for lower prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish Dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place has the most amazing fish dishes. And I must give a big thumbs up for the Island Fries and Aioli, moorish & filling ($10).
This was one of the highlights of our trip, although we never had a bad meal anywhere.
A must, we tried to go back for a second night but they were booked out for a wedding. Its a very popular place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.