We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good flavours - but disappointing experience.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sails

Sails
Raratonga, Muri, Cook Islands
+68227349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Muri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good flavours - but disappointing experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This looked excellent according to all the reviews, so we were revved up and excited to try it. It certainly is a lovely location right on the beach with views over the lagoon. It is always busy so we booked well in advance to get a front of the verandah table. Unfortunately when we got there they had overlooked our booking and we got a table further back.
As noted "reservations accepted" but ignored!
We tried the Szechuan Prawns starter, the delicious three fish Moana Nui Trio and the Ocean Strike fish mains. To be honest all dishes were delicious although they could have done with some extra vegetables to help meld the flavours.
The negative was the unpleasant smell of the leaking sewer next door wafting over the balcony. We did complain and the staff nicely said there was nothing they could do and it had been like this for days! It wasn't pleasant though.
The wine was fine but the overall bill was as high as we pay here in Australia.
With our table booking messed up and the smell and the high price this had to be an overall disappointing experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    276
    116
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place right in the middle of magical Muri Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location is perfect. Right on the sand with a lovely view of the Muri lagoon and her little motus. The food is very fresh and very tasty. We had yellow tail ceviche and fresh Prawns. Delicious. A great lunch washed down with refreshing banana coladas. Service was very good too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location & view just wonderful, banana pancakes - scrummy, cocktails were refreshing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice and I'd definitely return.

The food is tasty, it's on the beach and the view is beautiful - we had cocktails made to our specifications and Captain Tama's Tours is next door.....we'd definitely eat there again.

They don't have bad customer service - they are efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“PERFECT SPOT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were lucky enough to have our wedding reception at Sails. It was the best evening we could of asked for. Erin was amazing to deal with pre, post and during the big day and the staff on the night were all brilliant. The food was exceptional and our guests are still talking about it. All details from the DJ, the food, the staff, the cake, the set up was perfect! We had 96 guest so it was a large wedding but we had not one issue with sails in looking after this group.

We also had many lunches and evening meals at sails while there and again it was impressive. Food amazing and it is the best location on the Island!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place has a really nice setting and the food is always very good however I did feel that the wait for your meal here took a lot longer than other places that we dined.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.