We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog Inn at Wingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Dog Inn at Wingham to your Saves list
The Dog Inn at Wingham
Canterbury Road, Wingham CT3 1BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Wingham B&B and Inns
Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed overnight on a voucher from living social.
Room is basic, dreadfully lacking and uncomfortable- not to mention unsafe with the smoke alarm with out batteries outside the room.
Clear the terrace, clean up and smarten up..
Food dreadful. Worst meal for a long time.
1 member of staff to serve the bar, food, answer the phones.. run ragged
Met a lady who was planning her wedding package there as a rescue package as another local venue could no longer accommodate. I wish her all the luck..she will need it

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    114
    41
    41
    102
See reviews for
33
266
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The welcome here was warm and the only member of staff on duty did her very best to look after us throughout the evening, serving behind the bar, answering the phone, taking payments and table waiting and serving food- wow.
Our room was clean but fairly basic, as already mentioned by previous guests- problems with power supply.. our own hairdryer ( none supplied) would not work properly, due to poor power supply, No mirror in the room, Toiletries consisted of 2 x hair conditioner by the shower..Woefully lacking in attention to detail, tired building with peeling paint, terrace tables not cleared..and most certainly not clean.
Smoke alarm without batteries abandoned outside the room - worrying.
The menu was different to the one we had seen when we had booked our stay but that was a little while ago.It looked delicious.. unfortunately fell very short of the mouth watering description of the dishes - I would describe the meal as very disappointing.. and certainly would not recommend to others to dine there. I left most of the dishes I chose. Was the chef present on the premises or perhaps on an evening off ?
I was really looking forward to a night away with character, ambience and quality food and I was very disappointed.
Having said that the breakfast was ok and our choices were catered for.
Although I appreciated the attention to service by the lady behind the bar, even after she called in for help from the staff at the blazing donkey.. the speed of service improved- the quality of the produce served could not be improved by those ladies alone.
Such a shame as said before but we must be careful not to promote that we can not deliver.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a lovely old pub. I expected the stay to be a nice weekend .

The room: "suite" 7
No smoke alarms
Half the electric sockets non functional.
Noisy dribbling taps.
Shower had no proper mixer and so alternated between freezing cold and boiling hot.

The pub
The 2 local ales were both off- I suspect the pipes are not cleaned through properly

Service
The 2 young people who had been left in charge were completely whelmed ( although they tried hard and were polite)
The hotel was fully booked and yet the manager (who was not there) had deemed it adequate for the chef to double as waiter. Having waited half an hour for breakfast and then been told it would be at least another 15 minutes we gave up!

The root cause of this is that it is poorly managed without attention to detail and with a lack of basic maintainence
Even the glass of the front door was cracked- presumably a previous customer slammed it on their way out?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

we had a lovely 3 days after purchasing a living social voucher. We stayed in room 7 which was really nice. A great size , comfortable and clean. The food was really tasty a little pricy but again great value with the voucher. We arranged to have champagne & chocolates in the room and the cream tea I highly recommend it's delicious. The staff are friendly & polite which always adds to your experience. The Inn is a little bit tired looking in places and needs some money spent on it but we could over look that as we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: room 7 is a good choice it doesn't get much noise and it's a suite so plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a short 2 night stay this week and would return again if we were in the area. We were greeted by Chelsea who was so friendly and helpful for the whole of our stay and seemed to be there all the time. She was as knowledgeable about the area as the menu and we couldn't ask the wrong thing.
The rooms were a mixture of old and new with our sloping floor and old gas light fixture adding to the quaintness of it with a modern en suite to bring it up to date.
The food was very 'masterchef' which was very much outside my husband's comfort zone but he really enjoyed trying something different after being told exactly what was in it! Modern food did not mean meagre helpings!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Room 7. Superb room. Comfortable bed. The food both in the evening and Breakfast was excellent. Cannot fault.

I do believe there are a few smaller rooms that are not as spacious.

Plenty of Parking at the rear of the pub in a beautiful location. I will defiantly stay again


Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great ye olde Inn, good food, beers and friendly staff.
Good location for visits to Canterbury or Sandwich.
Very quiet and peaceful, inside and outside!
Rooms retain olde character and towels are seen to be made up into birds after cleaning!

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was a suite overlooking the back and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dog Inn at Wingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Inn at Wingham

Address: Canterbury Road, Wingham CT3 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog Inn at Wingham is a grade II star listed medieval property occupying a prominent position opposite the church in the picture postcard village of Wingham, just outside Canterbury. The inn boasts 8 en-suite rooms with flat screen TVs. The rooms are full of character with original features. The hotel's restaurant is multi award winning and the property itself has recently benefited from a stunning restoration both outside and in. Perfect retreat for food and wine lovers. Private parking is available to guests on site and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Dog Inn at Wingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Inn At Wingham Hotel Wingham
The Dog Inn At Wingham Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog Inn at Wingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.