We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someone needs to get a grip!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog Inn at Wingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Dog Inn at Wingham to your Saves list
The Dog Inn at Wingham
Canterbury Road, Wingham CT3 1BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Wingham B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Someone needs to get a grip!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I bought an Amazon Local deal for 2 nights at the Dog Inn in April having looked at Trip Advisor reviews first. I really hoped that the more recent poor reviews would prove wrong but I'm afraid they didn't. Our room, No. 5 was tiny, with the bed pushed against one wall, the only other furnituure being 2 small chests of drawers plus a hanging rail in what must have been a fireplace. The shower room was also small but adequate thought the door, which opened outwards into the bedroom could not be shut from the inside. There was a lot of traffic noise. Breakfast the first morning was OK. Shortly before we went out for the day there was a knock on the bedroom room and a young lady asked if we'd like anything done to our room. The answer was obviously clean it properly but we just mentioned making the bed and changing the towels - and that was all she did! Didn't empty the waste paper basket, didn't replenish the tea bags. We're not even sure we got clean towels - there were towels rolled up on the bed that evening but we discovered they were damp so may well have been the old one's recyled.
The restaurant menu shown on the internet looked interesting if not cheap so we booked dinner on the second night. What we were offered bore absolutely no resemblence. The food was perfectly edible but showed no finesse. Bread and olives were featured on the menu with no price and we assumed these were complimentary. Not the case - they were actually £3 & the waiter/barman had no idea they weren't priced. It didn't really matter as the two other couples who were dining and did request them never got them either - the waitress "forgot".
Someone really needs to get a grip on The Dog Inn. At the moment it appears to be run by teenagers with too much time on their hands as there are so few customers. The same sort of comments seem to apply to the sister establishment, The Blazing Donkey in Sandwich. We won't be going their either, even at the very reduced price offered by Amazon Local.

Room Tip: We understand that Room 4 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    114
    41
    41
    102
See reviews for
33
266
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I spotted a good deal at this Grade II listed inn, which - going by its website - looked too good to be true. And, in fact, that's exactly what it was - too good to be true.
Customer service: Barely there. The staff didn't seem to know what they were doing or how to run a B&B service. There was no real checking in or checking out procedure. Breakfast times weren't explained. The staff were at best uninterested and at worst lazy.
Accommodation/cleanliness: The first room we were shown to hadn't been cleaned. The carpet was covered in debris and had not been hoovered any time recently. The sheets were dirty and even looked soiled. The next room was better, though the carpet was still filthy. The staff seemed unconcerned. The first room was 'period' but cramped not cosy. The room we ended up in was not 'Grade II listed' as billed.
Security: The room we were in was accessed from a separate entrance. The outer door had two broken locks. Our room door had a lock, which was not an easy one to operate but did work. When we returned after a day out, our room had been 'cleaned' (not the bathroom or the carpet though) and the door had been left unlocked. No one seemed to care.
Food: Very poor indeed. Nothing adequate for vegetarians. Portions meager and prices high. Bad presentation, no napkins (until asking for the second time). Cheese board for two was a joke - five biscuits, three small slices of cheese (though the menu mentioned five cheeses) and a revolting looking bit of 'chutney' (looked like left over curry). This cost £9!
Our advice - don't be seduced by good deals at this place. Find somewhere else so that you can really enjoy the beautiful area without this utterly disappointing headache casting clouds over your trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went for my birthday - husband had booked room for the night. Arrived at lunchtime, stood at the bar for nearly 10 minutes before we were acknowledged. (and we were the only ones in the bar) Young woman yakking on the telephone! Had lunch, starter Ok the main was more than disappointing, duck - had so many feathers could have flown off the plate.

Were told that same menu for evening meal - went to the local supermarket and bought snacks that we ate in the bedroom.

Room pretty enough and clean(ish) lovely old beams. Bathroom shoddy

Breakfast ok - nothing special - staff couldn't be bothered really

Save your money and don't bother with this place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just recently celebrated my 50th birthday along with 40 guests and had a brilliant evening thanks to Richard and his staff..great food and accommodation..I'm a regular visitor to The Dog and I have never been dissapointed

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Like most guests we had a voucher - £69 for B&B for 2 for 2 nights (let's be honest - that is cheap!).
We were lucky - best room - huge, with comfortable 4-poster, 2 sofas, beams galore, crooked mirror in fireplace, view of church steeple, etc. Only 2 hangers in wardrobe. And a very dysfunctional shower in the smart 'open the door and down-the-stairs' bathroom - we think it was a power-shower that had lost its power. And the loo had to be pumped a few times before it flushed!
We were greeted by Erme, who carried our luggage upstairs, and was subsequently, barman, waiter at dinner and breakfast - next day succeeded by Harriet - both very pleasant young people who appeared to have sole responsibilty for everything except cooking.
We had dinner there the first evening ( a 'special offer' - £50 for a la carte for the 2 of us - money taken straight from our card as soon as we booked it!). But a nice meal.
Spent a lot of the next day in Sandwich. Very interesting old town - loved the Medieval part and the Quay. Not particularly easy-to-follow walking guides from Tourist Information. If you didn't want to drive, there is a bus from Wingham to Sandwich (and also to Canterbury).
It actually rained (a bit) - so we had to dash into the Red Cow for lunch!
No chance of a drink in The Dog (or virtually anywhere else) after 10pm on our first night, so went down the road to The Anchor Inn. Made very welcome, even though it was practically empty. Next night went there for dinner. It was busy, with a great atmosphere. Run for the last 14 months by an enthusiastic and innovative couple. There was a traditional English game of Bat and Tap being played in the garden - a regular feature (a fore-runner of cricket?).
Breakfast at The Dog was standard cooked English - quite nice - and we did get toast and butter! There were also cereals, a few croissants and fruit juices.
Basically it was great value for money - you're staying in a historic building in a charming English village - if you want 4-star, you have to pay 4-star prices!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had room one, a small double, at the top of steep, narrow stairs, but we were not bothered by that because, if you stay in an old hotel, you must expect minor inconveniences. The room was very stuffy, with a sloping roof and window directly over the bed. On the one side, you had to squeeze between the bed and the wall to get into bed. There was no wardrobe, no chest of drawers and the only storage was 3 hooks on the back of the door and a hall coat stand with 2 hangers which overbalanced when you put anything on it. (A more functional and neater solution would have been 6 coat hooks on the wall going into a small alcove and 6 hangers supplied). There were 4 drawers under the bed, but only 2 opened fully and we had to store out clothes there. There was one bedside table with 2 tiny drawers and another small TV table with the same 2 drawers, but they were only suitable for small toiletry items. The room was clean, as was the en-suite and the bed was comfortable, but very warm, and when we opened the window, because it was directly over the bed, we got a draught and were not able to sleep. No hairdryer was supplied and when I requested one, I was told by the barman that the hotel did not supply hairdryers to guests. (A hotel?) There were no toothmugs in the en-suite, or drinking glasses in the room and I had to ask for them in the bar. There were no tissues in the room and there was not enough loo paper. Body wash/shampoo was supplied, but the pump on the bottle didn't work. (Fortunately, we go prepared for all eventualities!) The plumbing made a hideous noise, so we couldn't flush the loo in the night in case we woke other guests. We had an arrangement with the guests in room 2 that we each wouldn't flush the loo until 8am, so that we wouldn't wake each other up. The first night we went for a drink in the bar and requested brandy and coffee. The barman served the brandy in the measure he had used and we had to request brandy glasses. The barman didn't know what a brandy glass was and I had to point one out to him. He said that he couldn't believe that you had such a big glass for such a small amount of brandy. The same barman refused to serve us to another drink at 10-50pm because he had cashed up the till. I work part-time in a theatre bar and when we are going to cash up, we always ask patrons if they require any more drinks. I would have thought that the same courtesy would have been shown in a hotel. The barman seemed totally inexperienced and just didn't seem to know what he was doing, or how to treat hotel guests. For the second night we went to another pub locally. On our return the same barman met us at the door at 10-15pm and said "No more drinks guys - the boss has told me to cash up as we didn't think anyone else was coming in". He then asked me where we had been for the evening and I told him to a local pub where they were a bit more hospitable. Breakfasts were edible, but I had to request toast, which came ready-buttered! I also had to request orange marmalade. These are not "extras" - they should be supplied. We had the cooked breakfast each morning, but for anyone who would have liked continental breakfast, the choice was very poor, with only 2 cereals and a bowl of poor-quality fresh fruit. In the lounge area there were books of photographs of weddings that had taken place at the hotel but I think, judging by the dates on the albums, that they were from when the previous owners had the hotel. No-one in their right mind would have a marriage ceremony here - they would be a laughing stock. It is such a shame, because the owners are sitting on a goldmine. The location is ideal for exploring the area and the gardens, although small, have been planted out beautifully. I hope that they read all of the Tripadvisor reviews and do something about the complaints.

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the front of the hotel and has traffic noise from 6am. Room 1 is at the back and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband booked their Bridal suite over 2 months ago for our Wedding anniversary. Our whole weekend was planned around this nights stay but when we arrived we were told 'Sue' who apparently no longer worked there had made a mistake and that our Bridal suite had been given to another couple who were staying the whole weekend!! We were shown to a horrible pokey little room which upset me so much I had to leave and sit in the car otherwise I would of cried. The manager did offer us a free meal or a free nights stay on another occasion but for me this whole thing had ruined our special occasion so we asked for a refund and went home. I have since found out that this has happened to other people. Luckily we are quite local but to say I am upset is an understatement! Regardless of whether the service, food etc is good or not I will never set foot in there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dog Inn at Wingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Inn at Wingham

Address: Canterbury Road, Wingham CT3 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog Inn at Wingham is a grade II star listed medieval property occupying a prominent position opposite the church in the picture postcard village of Wingham, just outside Canterbury. The inn boasts 8 en-suite rooms with flat screen TVs. The rooms are full of character with original features. The hotel's restaurant is multi award winning and the property itself has recently benefited from a stunning restoration both outside and in. Perfect retreat for food and wine lovers. Private parking is available to guests on site and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Dog Inn at Wingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Inn At Wingham Hotel Wingham
The Dog Inn At Wingham Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog Inn at Wingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.