We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stop over - dated and overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Canterbury Road, Wingham CT3 1BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Wingham B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for a stop over - dated and overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight after a drive down from London and were recommended by another b&b as they were fully booked. I thought with this recommendation the red lion would be a worthy stay - seeing the pics and reading reviews sold it for me.
We arrived and was welcomed by a helpful lady who showed us to our room. Although small and cosy the decor was very dated - the bed linen looked as though it had been there since the 80's! Very worn and none of the bedding matched. The bed was uncomfortable - I woke with a sore back. A little money spent on refurbishing the rooms and I would be happy to pay £75 per night - I think this was overpriced for what you get.

As there is not much to do in the area (which is what we wanted) we stayed in the pub and enjoyed a bottle of wine over dinner. The food was delicious and resonibly priced. The landlord seemed friendly...to the locals. I didn't feel as thought we got a friendly welcome from him or that we were trusted. In my experience you pay for your stay on day of departure but he asked us to pay that evening. Maybe I was being paranoid but when we checked out other guests paid on departure. I just found him to be a little unwelcoming but other than that I wouldn't let this put you off. Finally, the breakfast was nice and the ladies that rustle it up were lovely - only tip for them would be to have a breakfast menu to see what your options are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and would recommend this inn for its food ,comfort and loved the character of the old bedroom,the food was super and friendly staff,definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broadstairs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

stayed here several times and never been let down or dissapointed. Room 2 is huge but very cosy. You really do need to try this hotel wether you are travelling or locals.
Stayed last night with the wife as a last minute getaway, we only live 20 minutes away, the welcome the room the food and the hosts were as usual excellent
highly reccomend

Room Tip: no tips really just go there and relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Warm welcome. Lovely little garden. Very frieindly helpful staff. Never had such a large room before! Fantastic historical building. The food was good and the portions were generous. Good value too

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The building is very old with lots of character. We stayed in room 1 which for a hotel room was very big and had lovely big windows with lots of light coming in.

The pub is cosy and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The evening meal and breakfast we had were both to a good standard and we really enjoyed our night away.

Good value for money and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Being on the road A LOT, it can get a bit lonely, but not when you stay at the Red Lion! The staff are all very friendly, and the locals in the bar make you feel like you are all old friends. I could not find a single fault, the rooms are very cozy, the bar enticing, the food to die for, and the very old building itself has retained a large amount of features, whilst still being modern.
I found this place after seeing a review somewhere online from the Kent on Sunday newspaper which rated it 9/10. I can certainly see why it got such a high score, but fail to see why it didn't get 10/10....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We also stayed this New Year and agree with Alex, had a fantastic time. John is a natural host, Paula (apologies if wrong name) is indispensible, running the bar and restaurant but still finding time to be social. Rooms are extremely clean, warm and well stocked. I've been to many more expensive places where you don't get a basket of toiletries. Food excellent and very good value.
It's great to know that there is such a night away without costing a fortune. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Canterbury Road, Wingham CT3 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Wingham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red Lion Inn to your Saves list