We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer care and organization” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Cours Du Troisieme Millenaire, 69800 Saint-Priest, Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Priest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Valencia, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible customer care and organization”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel every week for months, although the hotel is new and nice the customer care is worse than dissapointing.
Yesterday I arrvied to the hotel and found out that my room was unavailable because there was a water leak.
The front desk people was at 23:59 pm looking for a room for me in another hotel. Obviously no hotel was offering any room at that time of the night.
It was nervewracking to see how 2 people were searching on the internet for a room for me.
They told me that they had to relocate other people also due to the same problem, but they relocated them in the afternoon. Why they didn't look for a room for me at that moment? This is poor organization.
Finally I decided to stay with a colleague in her room so I could have some sleep. Thank you to my colleague, otherwise I would be still waiting on the front desk while they look for a room on the internet.
Today when I got my room they told me that I cannot have an upgraded room because i was going to stay for a long period. (REALLY?!?!) They told me though, that a surprise was expecting me at the room. The surprise was 3 macarrons... quite a poor compensation for having to share a room like I was in a hostel instead of being in a 4 star hotel, don't you think?

It is very dissapointing that a regular customer like me or my colleagues receive this kind of treatment. It's not the first time and i'm sure it will not be the last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NolwennRoux, Responsable relations clients at Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We would like to apologise one more time for the technical issue in your room. This situation was unpredictable and our director of maintenance has worked hard to try to fixe it before your arrival.

We are sorry that we did not find any other solution than to propose you to share a room with your colleague. Please stay assures that it does not correspond to our level of service.

After this unfortunately event, it was not possible to upgrate you as a compensation because all our Executive rooms were booked.

We are sorry to read that you did not like the home-made macaroons we have offered.

This situation is unusual and never happened before and we would like to assure you that we will do our best to avoid it in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to give you a better impression of our services.

Kind regards,
Nolwenn Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    66
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
45
9
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a Globus tour we spent a night here at the Hotel Golden Tulip Lyon. The room was nice and spacious, the beds very comfortable and it being located outside the city it was very quite here. I would recommend they get a few more electric adapters for their USA guest, this is the only complaint we have. We didn't need the A/C , it was a cool night.Overall a good stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped at this hotel while driving from the Alps to western France. I liked it, the room was fairly large, modern with a nice bathroom. If you are going to Lyon there is a tram (public transportation) stop nearby. The staff was polite, I even received AAdvantage miles for our stay!
Because we arrived late we did not have a chance to try the bar or the restaurant. I noticed some complaints regarding the A/C, we had no problem with the heater (in February).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a nice hotel. The lobby is modern with a earthly feel to it.
The staff is very polite and helpful without it being anoying. The room was clean an appealing. Again a modern feel. The bed and pillows were great. The bathroom facilities, top notch!
Breakfast was good, fresh products and the right amount.
Overall a great value hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is nice inside, but very isolated. No walking to the local shops here.
Dont buy a drink from the bar here. After travelling for 6 weeks and paying hotel bar prices, the prices here are nothing short of blatent profiteering, €15.00 for a rum and coke!!!!!! Thats double other hotels, omg...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NolwennRoux, Responsable relations clients at Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel.

We are so sorry to read that you were disappointed with our bar, especially because of the prices. We have transmitted your comment to our catering manager.

Our hotel is located in a quiet area, close to Lyon and to the airport. It is true that there are no local and typical shops there but only a mall. You can take the tramway T2 just in front of the hotel to reach the city centre. Here, you can find everything that makes Lyon so particular, especially food!
Our front office staff remains at your disposal for any further information.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire.

Nolwenn Roux
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights attending a business meeting held in the hotel. Unfortunately our stay was marred by the air conditioning in our room not working. We raised this with the hotel the first night and were told it would be fixed. After repeated approaches, on the 3rd night, we were eventually offered a room move but by that time it was too late. It would have been much better if our complaint was taken seriously the first time, rather we kept being told it was set correctly despite the fact that it wasn't cooling the room at all! Other than that the hotel is very good. The decor is bright and modern and it is clean throughout. Breakfast was a very good buffet with an excellent hot and cold selection in the bright and spacious restaurant. The meeting facilities were excellent. There are no other hotels/restaurants in the immediate vicinity and if we didn't have a rental car we would have been restricted to eating in the hotel or making the quite lengthy trip into Lyon using the tram (which is very close to the hotel). There are nice walks around the lakes and forest close to the hotel. The exercise room is quite limited with only one treadmill, 2 bikes, a stepper and a couple of rather strange exercise ball contraptions which I found to be not very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had such a great experience from our stay . Everyone was nice from the reception to the restaurant team. We liked the environmental actions which are in place such as a garden where the hotel makes grow vegetables to incorporate in the cuisine. We ate in the restaurant food was excellent based on local fresh and some organic products, thanks as well to the wine advice from the manager.

We will definitly be back if we make our journey to Lyon or if we pass to go to the Alps.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NolwennRoux, Responsable relations clients at Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad to read that you have appreciated your stay with us!
We have transmitted your compliments to all our staff, there are thrilled to know that their efforts have contributed to your enjoyable stay.

Our hotel is proud to be HQE (High Environmental Quality). We manage the impacts on the outdoor environment and we have taken different measures to reduce our ecological footprint.

Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant. We are working with regional producers, this is why we can offer you the finest products in our cuisine.
It is true that we have our own garden! This is new and we are very excited with this project.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Golden Tulip of Lyon.

Kind regards,
Nolwenn Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire

Address: 160 Cours Du Troisieme Millenaire, 69800 Saint-Priest, Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Saint-Priest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Priest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Lyon Millenaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.