We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunwing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Resort Fanabe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa de Fanabe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunwing Resort Fanabe
Save
You added Sunwing Resort Fanabe to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Londres, 4 | Playa de Fanabe, 38660 Playa de Fanabe, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa de Fanabe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland, Wearside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunwing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed at the Sunwing June 2008. An excellent family orientated Aparthotel. This hotel is staffed by mostly scandanavians who all speak good english. Our party consisted of myself/partner (45yrs), the hotel is modern & clean, friendly staff always available to help. Sunwing is in an excellent location only 2 mins walk to Fanabe beach, shops, pubs & restaurants. The on-site supermarket has a good selection of groceries,toileteries & alcohol all reasonably priced. The rooms were suitably equiped for self catering with 2 ring hob, microwave, kettle & coffee maker. Beach towels were also provided for individual use by the pool where there were more than enough sunbeds & sun canapies available.
Our favourite restaurant was the Gran Reserva, turn right from hotel entrance, 20 yrds on the right... superb food and service at a reasonable price ( menu covering fish/meat/pasta/pizza ). A very friendly pub called the Garden bar situated within Commercial Centre Fanabe which is opposite the Gran reserva restaurant. Paul & Dawn will make you very welcome.
This is our 3rd year at Costa adeje/Fanabe and by far the best hotel we have stayed in,all being 4 star.
Recommended.

  • Liked — Superb location, very clean with friendly staff
  • Disliked — no negative comments
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    203
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
383
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

All I have to say about this hotel is praise. The hotel was fantastic, the staff who were mostly scandinavian were very kind and helpful, the complex itself was immaculate, all the activities anyone could ever want in a hotel, awsome ! I particularly liked the glass lifts, very impressive, as was the whole hotel, all very modern and light.

We went and had a nose in the other 2 hotels that were in front of the Sunwing Resort Fanabe ( The Bahia Princess & The Guayarmina Princess ) and to be honest our hotel was much nicer than the other 2, even though they look very grand from the exterior, the interior is very dated and could do with updating.

Overall a fantastic holiday ! Would definately visit again !

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I stayed at the Sun Wing Apartments in Fanabe in June 2008.

Location
The hotel is about 30m from the beach (slight hill walking from the beach back to the hotel).
Many shops and supermarkets – there is a supermarket in the hotel but it is slightly more expensive than the other supermarkets.
Many cockroaches outside but not inside the hotel.

Restaurants
There are plenty of bars and restaurants around the hotel. Most of the restaurants offer a similar menu, but they have catered for everyone.
Meal for two with a bottle of wine (including dessert) would have cost no more than €50. We went to a Chinese restaurant one night – Phoenix – where we got a free bottle of wine and the meal cost €30!
The food was good and there was a good choice - excellent restaurant called Tony Romas and a good Italian restaurant beside the hotel.
Careful of the Spanish measures in your drinks!

Hotel
The hotel is a Scandinavian hotel (English speaking) and the apartments are fully furnished from IKEA! Everything you would need is there. A toaster can be rented from the reception for €6 a week. Safety deposit boxes can also be rented.
The rooms are very spacious and have a sliding door that divides the sleeping area and the living area. Air conditioning was good - room kept cool. Our balcony did not get the sun.

The hotel was very clean and the maid service was excellent. There are two days a week when there is no maid service, but they leave a card on the bed telling you the days they will not be there.
The hotel runs a kids club at the pool area.
Pool area is very clean and there are lots of sunbeds available – we were always able to get our choice of sunbeds any time of the day.

Trips
We booked with Thomas Cook and the rep gave us a list of trips to go on.
There are trips for partying, families and couples – lots to do and mostly reasonably priced.

Overall, we had a great holiday and if returning to Tenerife, we would return to this hotel. We would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Hi sorry this review took a while but here goes, travelled to Sunwing in Sept 2007 with wife and 4 year old, the hotel is very nice , clean and spacious, rooms are typical apt size with a sliding door separting/dividing kitchen and room from bedroom.
the kiddies club was very well run and our four year old loved it especially Lea the rep.
Entertained was a bit of alet as 90 percent was in german as was most of the activities however all the reps spoke v good english
If you enjoy an 'engkish' hotel dont go here as for the first 2/3 days of our holiday there was maybe 5% british the rest german speaking tourists
Pool was lovely and a good idea was the pizza/fast food bar poolside allowed you to get a carry out which you could eat poolside on your sunbed (plenty of but could be difficult to get beside kiddies pool)
Resort was quiet but nice with plenty of pubs / eating houses 5/10 minutes walk away.
would not put anyone off staying at hotel but as stated not for a british only hotel
will go back to resort but not hotel

  • Liked — kiddies club
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. down
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Myself,my husband and two children aged 12 and 9 stayed here last july for two weeks.The complex itself is spotless and although it is very popular with scandinavians there were quite a few British and Irish there as well.All of the staff spoke excellent english and were very friendly.It was my daughters 10th birthday when we were there and on return to our apartment that evening we found a birthday card for her from the hotel manageress and an invitation to the restuarant for a free icecream sundae.They had obviously noted her date of birth on her passport on arrival.We had a problem with noisy neighbours on our first 2 nights.By noisy ,I mean drinking and singing/shouting on the balcony at 3am.We reported this to reception and within 15 mins security had paid these people a visit and told them to be quiet or they would be removed from the hotel.This complex is very family orientated and simply doesnt tolerate this kind of behaviour Thank God! Ive listed a few practical points below that i hope help if you are going here on holiday. 1.Restuarant is very good,very reasonable and kids eat free! 2.Entertainment is very good especially "Cinderella". 3.Mini market has quite a good selection and constantly bake fresh bread during the day although there are plenty of bigger supermarkets within 5 minutes walk.4.Theres a bus stop round the corner to Las Americas and the big shopping centre/water fountains.5Aqualand water park and Jungle park are both short bus rides away and well worth a visit especially the dolphin show.6.If you decide to go to Loro Parque,hire a car and dont do one of the organised bus tours as a 50 minute journey takes over three hours by the time everyone has been picked up, and then you have the same journey to look forward to on the way home!7.You do have to get up early for a sunbed but its the same no matter where you go at that time of year. The only negative thing I can say about Sunwing is the pool could be a bit bigger but other than that its a great complex and we will definitly go back.

  • Liked — friendly staff and great value in restaurant
  • Disliked — pool could get very busy and could be a little bit bigger
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

11 members of our family from 0.5 up to 70 years of age visited this resort for two weeks in march 2008. A good hotel for a family with small children.
One good thing is the apartments for people with different kind of disabilities, that is for people using a wheelchair.
Another bad thing is the cockroaches. They came out around midnight. We told the reception immediately. The apartment was sprayed down so completely that my wife and I had to sit on the balcony half the night just to be sure to wake up alive the next morning. My daughters apartment, and other apartments had the same problem later on during our first week. After one week we were offered other apartments that was clean and nice. We do not blame anybody, it is just the way nature is. So for middle aged people traveling without children and/or grandchildren, this resort is not a natural choise. But for younger couples with children this resort is good due to all the activities for the youngest.

  • Liked — Good atmosphere
  • Disliked — uninvited guests
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

The hotel is clean, the pool is clean and a good size, the staff are friendly.. in short you get exactly what it says on the tin when you book.
My girlfriend and I went togther summer 2007, the apartment we got was really spacious, although we think we got an apartment for 4 and there were only 2 of us - it had a seperate bedroom and we have spoken to others who didn't.
The hotel is well situated not far from the beach (5 min walk) and it has a few good restaurants nearby. A taxi to the main pubs etc of las americas was only 15 minutes and cost around 10 euros if I remember rightly adn if you are looking for the bright lights every night then fanabe is probably not for you.
It does have a small selction of good restaurants but very little in the way of bars etc so be prepared for this.
We never ate dinner in the hotel but heard good things from the other guests about the main restaurant. We did eat from the lunch menu at the bar and couldn't complain with anything we got there.
There is a (somewhat expensive) shop within the complex itself although there are at least 4 small supermarkets less than 2 min walk form the hotel all of which sell everything you could possibly need cheaply, be it alcohol, lunch, entertainment or essentials.
So.. the hotel looks nice, is clean, is well situated and doesn't cost the earth? As I said...what's not to like?

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — I have slept on comfier beds in my time!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwing Resort Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Resort Fanabe

Address: Calle Londres, 4 | Playa de Fanabe, 38660 Playa de Fanabe, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de Fanabe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa de Fanabe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunwing Resort Fanabe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort Fanabe Hotel Playa De Fanabe
Sunwing Hotel Fanabe
Sunwing Resort Fanabe Tenerife/Playa De Fanabe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Resort Fanabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.