We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin Calme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Moulin Calme to your Saves list
Le Moulin Calme
72500 Luceau, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Luceau B&B and Inns
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had booked in here on our return from a holiday in South West France, liked the look of the place and noted positve reviews. On arrival, we could see what a special place it was, in a wonderful setting with lakes, gardens etc. But oh dear, everything was so run down. The car park was quite scruffy and unkempt, the paint on the gates peeling and in need of freshening up. The pedalo and the duck house mentioned in the advertisement were both rotting away quietly in the lake, the fountain was not working. The whole place was desperately in need of some tlc. The "mill" part of the place was clogged up with rubbish and wood, could have been made into a fantastic feature. There was a plile of old barbecue equipment beside the lake, which looked very unsavoury. Our room was at the top of a slope, thank goodness the weather was dry or it would have been muddy and dangerous. Room was on a corridor opening onto the garden and the outside door could be locked only with a key once everyone on the corridor was in. Cleaning equipment, not very clean was stacked outside our door, and the light switch was probably very dangerous. Our room was pleasant with a nice seating area and bathroom with shower, but cleaning was perfunctory at best, with previous occupants hairs left in shower. Bedding was very clean and crisp and the bed was comfortable. The meal was another disappointment; we have stayed in many chambres d`hote and appreciate that food is not always of a restaurant standard, but this was overpriced at 20euros per head. Wine was expensive, we paid 19euros a bottle, which is more than we had paid during the whole holiday. Yes it is a beautiful place, but needs someone who will restire it to its former glory and who can provide better meals at that price. We shall not go back or recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
norwich UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stopped over for 2 nights on the way back from the south of France. the location was great, after the hussle of a liverly campsite. The rooms where very clean and comfortable. the food was fantastic, you would not get better quality in a top restuarant. I would highly recommend this stop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Booked Moulin Calme via the internet for an overnight stay on our return from the Dordogne. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable room, with shower and separate WC. Two mill pools with fish and areas to relax, there was also a swimming pool.

The food served by Madame Combries was of outstanding quality.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnac-Pompadour, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

Booked Chambre d'hote through Hotel Abroad, on arrival made very welcome by owners. We stayed for one night enroute to Dordogne. Hotel is less then 10 minutes off motorway between Le Mans and Tours and ideal position to explore sleepy villages as well as the larger towns.

Our room was first class. Everything was spotlessly clean , nicely decorated with lovely view over lake. From their website they have 5 rooms and 1 studio apartment,

A stroll around the hotel grounds led us to 2 lakes where fishing is available, a beautiful swimming pool and even a ping pong table.

We had prebooked a meal, and the food was superb - Madame Combries is a fantastic chef. They were wondeful hosts and everyone had a wonderful evening.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting with total quiet and has a lovely sun terrace with sunbeds and patio furniture overlooking lake. Perfect for unwinding after a long day driving. I would definitely recommend this gem of a place for overnight or even better longer stays. Ideal spot for relaxation or exploring local area

The only downside was that we were only here for one night - will definitely return for a longer stop!

  • Liked — Peace, quiet, wonderful food and fab hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Moulin Calme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Calme

Address: 72500 Luceau, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Luceau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luceau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Moulin Calme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin Calme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.