We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying for the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Kawaguchiko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Regina Kawaguchiko to your Saves list
Regina Kawaguchiko
5239-1 Funazu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture (Kawaguchiko Onsen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
★HP特典500円引♪富士急ハイランドフリーパス付
Liphook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worth staying for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent one night at the hotel on a whistle-stop tour of the Mount Fuji area - which gave us spectacular views of Mount Fuji from the warmth of our hotel room. Our room was large and had a separate sitting room and kitchenette which was a nice element to the stay.

The room has all the utilities that you need for a comfy stay and the balcony really helped with the photos we took of the Mountain.

The bar is really cosy and the prices aren't too hiked for a hotel for a beer - but it wasn't the kind of bar that you would relax in for the night. The breakfast was pretty decent with a lot of Japanese and Western options so we filled up for the day ahead.

As we were there in low season, it was not particularly busy and I think the only negative is that you are not allowed in the spa pool if you have tattoo's (not sure why) so I was a bit disappointed with that.

Other than that a decent sleep at a decent rate.

Room Tip: I assume that all rooms have a view of Mount Fuji - but just make sure when you check in that you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    47
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were on a JTB / Sunrise tour that stopped here for lunch. We were looking forward to a traditional Japanese lunch. While the food was okay (the portions not the greatest), the staff was not attentive and seemed like they did not tour groups. The service, as a result, was less than desirable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although an older and unassuming property, the Hotel Regina is just perfect for one or two nights.

We stayed there as it was close to Fuji-Q theme park. Value for money, it surprised us with a stunning view of Mount Fuji from our room. The shuttle service to the park and train station was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a large hotel that our family stayed for one night
pros-great baths, good breakfast, very good views of Fuji in morning although clouded over in afternoon-no snow, family room consisted of two adjoining rooms so plenty of room, shuttle bus to station
cons-not cheap, out of the way,noise from highway throughout the night so interrupted sleep.
Probably would not stay again because of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good: great room, view of Mt. Fuji

Drawback: location, normal onsen

======================================
Room stayed: Standard Twin room at Level 3 (non-smoking, 33m-square, attached bathroom)

Room rate: 8500yen (weekday, including Onsen tax) with breakfast

Location: 5-10 mins drive from Kawaguchiko station. Free pickup service is available. Not sure if any convenience store nearby. Far from Lake Kawaguchiko.

Pickup: Free pickup from Fuji-Q Highland Express Bus Terminal and Kawaguchiko Station. For Kawaguchiko Station, the pick up point is near to the taxi stand, which is beside the Tourist Information building (on the left hand side if you face to Station/Mt Fuji). Call to the hotel when you arrive. Public phone (10yen is enough to make a call) is available in front of Kawaguchiko Station counter/gate. On the other hand, the Tourism centre staff may assist you (free of charge).

Travel Tip: Free WIFI is available at Tourist Information centre. The centre closes quite early every day. If you need help, stand near the building to tap on the free WIFI, should be 24 hours available. On the other hand, get help from the ticket counter beside the train station. The staffs there understand English.

Pick up schedule (to/from station): From 8am until afternoon (12pm? or check-in time 3pm?), once per every 30mins. From afternoon, any time when you need the service.

Pick Up Service: Not that impressed. The staff never offer help to take my luggage. There are many other hotels in this area with better services.

Front desk staffs: One of the staffs can speak English quite well. She was the one who answered the phone when I requested for pick up. (Note: Although Kawaguchiko is a famous tourism area, number of Japanese who can speak English is still limited.)

Room condition: Well maintained. Good lightning. Very big room. Bathroom is also big, which is not a norm in Japan. With balcony, where you can view the Mt Fuji. (Note: most of the hotels' room around Lake Kawaguchiko has view of Mt Fuji as well, but you are unable to open the window, nor there is balcony). The air purifier was already on before I checked in. Temperature of the room was very nice. It kept me warm as the weather was so cold in Kawaguchiko. Heated toilet seat was ready as well. Basically, the whole room just made me feel so comfortable.

Toiletries/amenities: Toothbrush/paste, razor, shampoos, soap, hair dryer, fridge, kettle and air-purifier are provided. In-room slippers are recycled. Disposable slippers are provided as well. No safe in the room. No drinking water provided and you have to boil yourself. Green tea and complimentary snack are served. Vending machines (selling beer, milk, cup noodle, etc) are available at ground floor. There is shop (operated by the hotel) selling souvenir at lobby, and one restaurant at level 2.

Internet: In room LAN and WIFI. At 1st, both of them were not functioning. Staff told me that WIFI is only available at Lobby, but my phone was still unable to connect it. 2 hours later, my phone successfully connected to the WIFI in room. The WIFI was ok until I left the hotel the next morning.

Breakfast: Buffet style, Japanese and Western. Quite a variety. Taste is normal. Not that impressed.

Onsen: 42C bath, a bit too hot. Area is not big, bath is small. No nice scenery nor open air onsen because it is at ground floor.

Sauna: Only available at male onsen.

Swimming pool: Short operating hour (late afternoon till evening). Never have chance to try.

The only thing that impressed me is the room. The rest is just average. But there is limited choice of onsen hotels for solo traveler at lower price. For those travel in pair, there are lot of better choices around Lake Kawaguchiko.

Had travelled to Hokkaido and Kansai before, feel that onsen at Kawaguchiko is really normal. The only advantage here is view of Mt Fuji. To enjoy, invest a bit more to have good view of Mt Fuji when soaking in onsen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There were lots of positives from our stay here. We had a spacious, large room with a lounge area to relax in. The views of Mount Fuji both from inside and on the balcony were absolutely spectacular, looking across a forest - I can hardly imagine a better view of it (the other hotel we stayed in nearby looked across houses and powerlines so not as beautiful). At sunset it was really wonderful. The hotel staff ferried us to and from Kawaguchiko station. Style-wise the hotel as a whole was looking a little weary and wasn't sumptuous but was inoffensive and clean. The area itself wasn't the most exciting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very good view of mount Fuji in the morning from the window. All hotel windows are facing the mountain. Rooms are old but ok no wireless internet access unless you separately pay for it.
Not a luxury hotel but lost of room good for small groups.

Room Tip: All hotel windows are facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regina Kawaguchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Kawaguchiko

Address: 5239-1 Funazu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels / Ryokan in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Regina Kawaguchiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Kawaguchiko Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Kawaguchiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.