We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence hotel and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kawaguchiko Station Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kawaguchiko Station Inn to your Saves list
Kawaguchiko Station Inn
3639-2 Funatsu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Perfect place for Mt.Fuji
4.5 of 5 stars 103 Reviews
thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellence hotel and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. This hotel was located opposite of kawaguchigo station. However, we have little to find out the place. The room is clean and well prepare. they are no elevator so we have to use the stair wheel. The internet in downstair not high speed comparing in the room. We also like onsen every much. The staff there so kind and great service. Also, this hotel, we can see the fuji from this hotel... Yeah... we like this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
21
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Station Inn is just bare meters from Kawaguchiko Station. I've stayed in dorm, overpriced as I found cheaper hostel just 50 meters down the road towards the lake. But when you take price out of equation it was a nice place with great staff and it's very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Location is also on plus as you do not have to drag your luggage for miles, whether you arrive by train or bus. There is good internet reception throughout the hotel. And big lounge in basement filled with many games and even kimonos for you to wear. Also tea and coffee is free all the time. Kawaguchiko itself has a lot beautiful spots and views of the Fuji mountain, as well as many hiking trails or walking paths. All the info you can get from the reception as well as train and bus times which is handy. They do have a restaurant but I didn't used it so cannot really comment on the food quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were here 1 night. The hotel was cross the kawaguchigo station, but the logo was so small and in Japanise lanquage. The room were clean but we are not sure about how clean of the blanket. The hotel not have the lift so if you have many lagguges, it will be difficult to clamb the stair. The onsen is very good, you can see the Mt. Fuji from it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here on my visit to Kawaguchiko in march and my planned trip up to the base of mount fuji. I booked a single traditional japanese room with a direct view of mount fuji over the station. Room rate was the best in the area and after reading reviews previously on here I decided to book.

I arrived after a 3 hour journey on Japanese highway buses from shinjuku which runs frequent and good value services to and from shinjuku. I previously booked online to secure seat and reservation, fortunately easy to find thanks to google streetview, but a confusing boarding procedure nevertheless.

Unfortunately due to the season,mount fuji 5th station is not accessible but this is not a problem, as mount fuji is best viewed with a snow covered top in winter.

As is the case with most hotels in Japan, you must take off your shoes before entering and wear sandals. This wasn't a problem but you must always respect japanese traditions in a place of business.
Surprisingly the owner was very freindly (freindlier than Tokyo people) spoke very good english and I was allowed to leave my suitcase there in order to abide by the late check in time.

After a very long day walking, sightseeing in the sun, and photographing the impressive view of mount fuji and the local towns in the area, I headed back to the hotel to finalise payment and check in.

My room was on the second floor with a futon and traditional mat floor and small LCD TV with more interesting HD japanese channels. A very clean quiet room with a fantastic view of mount fuji and the best view I have ever had from a hotel room. Nothing compares and nothing can prepare you for the emotions of being there.

Bathrooms are shared but the faciities are very clean. On the top floor there is a 24 hour onsen with hot flowing water 24 hours a day. On the very bottom floor there is a recreation room with PC's, free coffee and tea and board games. Met some very interesting people down here (singapore and canadian tourists).
There are also free wifi connections in each room which is useful for people like me.


The owner was very warm and welcoming, he warmed up my food that I bought from a local supermarket and kindly phoned the japanese bus company when I had lost my bus ticket. In fact the hotel assistant took me over to the train station in the morning to help with translations.


When I return back to japan and revisit this beautiful area (yes it is beautiful) I will certainly be revisiting station Inn and the owner as it is an essential location for train/bus connections around the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Kawaguchiko Station Inn:

The inn is located directly opposite the Kawaguchiko train station which may not be so obvious due to the signage. Once crossed the road, there is no problem locating the inn. A traditional inn with tatami and simple layout (table and tv), you have to carry luagges up to either the 2nd or 3rd floor but the reward is >> fantastic view! We are basically looking directly at Mt Fuji with views that changes throughout the day. (So ask for room 201, 202, 203 & 205 - similar for level 3). Perhaps we are in Spring so the sun rise is kind of early at 4am and the traffic (cars & trains) noise is kind of obvious but we trade off that for good views

Upon check in, the friendly owner will ask for breakfast (western 500Y, Jp 700Y), try the Jp (need to order the night before) breakfast, simple and nice fare to kick start your day. Alternatively, there is a 7-11 store round the corner that serve decent, warm microwave foods.

Not to be miss is the onsen at the 4th floor, the ladies onsen view is nice with Mt Fuji view too if you open up the window (as the warm air will blur up the window view). However once you soak into the onsen, the view is not visible. For men onsen, sorry guys the window cannot be open fully so guess that obstruct the view slightly.

Shower bath and coin washing machine (& dryer) are available as well.

Overall, this is a simple inn with great view and value for money for Mt Fuji view!

Just a couple of things to note:
Other than Summer time, the place is kind of quiet at night. You may want to plan your dinner early (6-7pm), eating at the inn offered a 10% discount, while 7-11 foods offer rebate too after 6pm. Cash is more commonly used so do consider talking more Yen or otherwise there is a bank next store to the inn that offer currency exchange. Most of the attarctions require either the Retro or Fujikyu bus, do check out the day pass at the visitor centre at the train station. The only attraction which you can walk to is the rope-way in about 15mins.

Room Tip: Level 2 & 3 - Room 201/202/203/205 & vice versa for level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My friends and I stayed in Japanese Style room for 4 people on April 19, 2013.
Hotel is very near Kawaguchiko Station. We only cross the road.

We paid for Japanese breakfast at hotel. It is good value and quality.
Owner is very nice. He adviced us how to eat seaweed with rice in Japanese Style.

The room is warm by heater. It is large about 4 tatami mats.
On 3 floors, there are 2 toilets for women and 2 toilets for men).
On 4 floors, there are 2 onsen rooms (separated between woman and man) and 2 shower rooms.
On ground floors, it is common room. We can play game & internet, drink coffee, watch TV and try Yukata for taking photo.

Room Tip: The room at the front side of hotel can see Mt.Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in April for 4 nights, it's the first time we stayed in a traditional Japanese hostel. We were a bit shocked at first glance of the room - there were only mats and a small table in the room - we thought we had walked into the cupboard..anyway, the staff were great, they transferred our bags to Kyoto and they were there for our arrival. We didn't try the Japanese breakfast, and weren't too keen on the continental either. We went on the boat and cable car trip, we got the tickets in the railway station. The views from the hotel are spectacular.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kawaguchiko Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawaguchiko Station Inn

Address: 3639-2 Funatsu, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location to stay during your visit to Mt. Fuji and Lake Kawaguchiko. Just across from the Kawaguchiko Sation. All the guest rooms are Japanese-style. Mt. Fuji can be seen from the guest rooms and baths. If you plan to climb Mt. Fuji, its fifth station is located only 40 minutes away by bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kawaguchiko Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawaguchiko Station Inn Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawaguchiko Station Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.