We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Mt Fuji experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort to your Saves list
Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort
2549-1 Oishi, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0305 , Yamanashi Prefecture (Kawaguchiko Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Mt Fuji experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our family of 4 booked our short getaway to Japan, and wanted to visit Mt Fuji.

Checked Tripadvisor and found this resort. The resort deserves its high rating as we had a fabulous time.

We took the highway bus from Shinjuku to kawaguchiko station. From there, a quick call to the hotel and the pickup came within 20 min. The receptionists understood and spoke enough english to make it a comfortable checkin.

The room was exactly as expected. Large tatami style albeit a small prefab toilet (quite common in Tokyo as we would find out).

But the best was the view! Incredible Mt Fuji was up close as we flung open the curtains.

The onsen had an indoor and outdoor baths. Outdoor for sure as you can relax in the warmth of the water and gaze at Mt fuji. Incredible.

Dinner was fabulous, kaseiki style with several courses of Japanese cuisine, delicately prepared.

Breakfast is also included, though not as impressive as the dinner. But definitely worth the price you pay, especially when we opted for the light dinner set for our 11 year old (who had a good sampling of the adult portions) and the children's meal for the 8 year old.

Recommended for family or quiet getaway for couples.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked a triple room and stayed a night at Sunnide with breakfast and dinner included. There's 2 western beds and 1 japanese futon bed in our room. Free wifi is available at the lobby. It is a quiet and cosy place to stay even though it's a bit rundown but the excellent meals made up for it. Our room has a good view of Mt Fuji and if you want to take photographs of Mt Fuji and its reflection on Lake Kawaguchiko when the day breaks, Sunnide is the place to stay, as the lake is on the opposite side of the road. We did that and were awarded with beautiful photos.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night to see Mount Fuji. It's away from town but that makes it nice and quiet. Free pickup from the train station, free bike use, nice staff, good food, wifi in the rooms, decent views of Fuji and really pleasant lakeside walks.

Only negative was the bathroom which was a bit small and weird, and the light out front of the hotel meant it was hard to have a dark room to sleep in.

Would definitely stay here again. Good value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed in Sunnide resort hotel for 1 night and definitely an enjoyable place.
The hotel have a beautiful lawn and the main building is facing mount fuji which is magnificent.

We book a Japanese style twin room and it's quite big, clean and comfortable.

We are provided with dinner and breakfast.
The Japanese set dinner course looks great and taste great too.
Besides, the buffet breakfast also provides many choices and we really enjoy it.

The public onsen is good as well as this is the first time we tried an onsen in Japan.

Overall the service is good, the hotel provides free shuttle bus from Kawaguchiko station and free bicycle rides.

The downside is its washing machine and dryer which charge about 100 yen each
yet not functioning well.

Nevertheless, it is still a pleasant and worthy place to stay :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort is one of the best hotel for visitor who wants to see Fuji-san. Hotel located face to Kawakujigo lake and mount Fuji. I booked one Japanese twin room and one Japanese/western style room with outdoor bath. Both are faces to mount Fuji, which are excellent. Rooms are big and very clean. High quality beds/futon made us sleep well. Hotel Japanese dinner set were great, beautiful and delicious. Buffet breakfast also great. Hotel staff can speak English fluently.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are very surprised the room with Private Onsen at the front building looks new and super clean. The room is far better than the room in the main building. Dinner is really good. We are very impressed with hotel service. The place is remote with lovely nice view!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are in Japan, you hopefully want to experience Japan. We were afraid this location and the resort would be too cliche with too many touristy trappings - as you might expect from a popular weekend resort in the West. Thankfully, this resort has not yet gone overboard to adjust its style to the average Western traveler's taste. That is why Sunnide Resort surprised us and truly exceeded our expectations.

The resort is clearly trying to preserve what's left of its Japanese style and flavor. Unlike another reviewer, we really appreciated that distinction. We savored our multi-course set dinner. Not only were we not rushed, we were in fact pampered during our dinner. The food was a visual and gastronomic treat. Although the meal alone was probably worth the price we paid, the rest of the accommodations that came with our beautiful, clean, comfortable, and spacious room were noteworthy too.

Like several other reviewers, we had one of the larger suites with a private balcony and bath facing Mt. Fuji. Nevertheless, we couldn't help but join others in the communal hot spring bath with indoor and outdoor hot spring pools. The clientele was mostly Japanese. They were warm, friendly, and receptive to the non-Japanese guests. That is way more than I could say about their Europeans counterparts in the equivalent European locations we have been to.

If you want to experience a peaceful Japanese retreat a short distance away from Tokyo, we recommend this place. If you are looking for a more standard Western experience, perhaps you should avoid this location and the hotel. We will highly recommend it to our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Try one of the front suites with a balcony and bath facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort

Address: 2549-1 Oishi, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0305 , Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN so you can book your Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.