We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kawaguchiko Lake

Kawaguchiko Lake
Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Took a train to kawaguchiko station from shinjuku to otsuki station and transfer to fujikyu line. The transfer was smooth and quick and the fujikyu trains would appeal to the children as they have various themes ie Pokemon, Thomas trains etc. As we were there during winter , the view during the journey was beautiful. Lake kawaguchiko itself was breathtaking as part of the lake was frozen. Took the rope way nearby and had the most clear and amazing view of Mt Fuji

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    198
    52
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great view of Mt Fuji!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This town has a great view of Mt Fuji, especially from the lookout point you access by cable car. I also recommend walking along with the lake until you get a good view of the mountain.
We went to Kawaguchiko by bus from Fujiku station. Spent around 3000 yen for a return ticket. We had not booked the tickets in advance, we just showed up. Make sure you go on a clear day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very serene; lots of ducks; beautiful scenery and view to Mount Fuji.
Not much entertainment once the night falls though

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Like = Kinda serene place, looks cool

Dislike = For some reason, people don't really capitalise on the fact there is a lake there. There's no (from what i can see) fishing, gift shop, local stuff, boat stuff etc. Its like the local just said "Hey, we got a lake here. So look at Mt Fuji". But there may be some local culture/activities that im not aware of.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely place and peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I went there by myself and It was my first time to went aboard by solo.There is bwautiful and have charm of peace and lovely in Japanese style. It gave some feeling of relax and happy.and I will be there again as well. If you went by train and love to walk a bit,I recommend to walk from kawaguchigo station to kawaguchiko lake.It is not far.I guess It is about 300-500 metre.you would touch of it. But make sure.It is not so cold to walk. Anyway,There have a short trip ticket in train station that could go by bus too.but It is very short time stop any spot.then I prefer better head to Kawaguchiko lake and walk to look around .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawaguchiko Lake also viewed

Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
 
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun
 

Been to Kawaguchiko Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawaguchiko Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.