We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty smelly rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko to your Saves list
Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko
1132-1 Asagawa, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0303, Yamanashi Prefecture (Kawaguchiko Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Highworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dirty smelly rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were unfortunate enough to stay in this hotel recently. On a positive note, good view of the lake.
Downside, room smelt of stale cigarette smoke, bed linen was grubby and the bathroom had hairs in the sink and bath, up the walls and over the floor and we had to clean it before we could use it.
Stay elsewhere if you have the option.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is on a steep hell next to the cable car entrance, so it's easy to find. Great view towards the lake, but you can't see Mt. Fuji. Rooms are large by Japanese standards. Bathroom amenities were provided, as was room wear (Japanese Yukata). Staff were polite and the gentleman at the front desk spoke English. Breakfast was acceptable, a mix of Japanese and Western foods. The hotel has a private onsen(hotspring) but you have to go and wait your turn, so we didn't use it. TV channels were very limited.

There were a few restaurants around, but they only seem to operate for strict lunch and dinner times. But there's a lawson around the corner, so you can get food any time. Price wise, the hotel is cheaper than the options around it. I recommend getting the Kawaguchi-ko bus pass as one of the stops is about two minutes away from the hotel, so you can use it as a base to explore the area. Taxi fare to Kawaguchi-ko station and Fujikyu theme park are all affordable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view, but the higher the better. If you are sight seeing, get a Kawaguchi-ko p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived at Kawaguchiko in pouring rain and were a little disheartened to find the town area a bit dated and run down. However, upon reaching our hotel our spirits were lifted. The manager was just lovely, our room was perfect and the view of Lake Kawaguchiko from the room was stunning. It is minutes walk from the lake and a 25 minute hike up the hill to get a great view of Mt fuji if the weather is fine. Breakfast was included in our stay and we were more than happy with the provisions, a mix of Japanese and slightly western foods.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We reached the Kawaguchiko station and called the hotel. Unfortunately, as expected..the lady staff had a really hard time understanding when I asked directions or enquire on shuttle to their hotel. Asked the lady at information counter..sounded really close.

It was close..but it was certainly not easy at all to walk with a really huge suitcase..and a 2 year old toddler even in his stroller! Hubby was grumpy when we reached the hotel as the hotel was right there on top of a hill!! It was just next to the Ropeway cable car. So we had to walk..and I dragged my 7 months preggie belly pushing stroller up the hill. From outside it looked run down..leaves everywhere(guess it is from the autumn leaves falling)..and as if not maintained that we were wondering if the hotel moved to a new location. We went it and yes......the hotel still runs!

We left our bags..as check in time was in the next 1 hour and decided to go for the Ropeway cable Car while waiting.

But anyway..about the hotel.
Upon entering the hotel..you will have to leave footwears in a dedicated rack for footwear. So you will have to change to indoor sandals before heading towards the counter. Even my small boy had to change. It was no biggie really.

We were greeted by a very friendly man at the counter. I think he is a Mr Matsunami. I suspected so because whenever I emailed the hotel, Matsunami would reply my emails with a pretty good English. And in that hotel, I think he is the only one whom we can actually communicate without having to repeat ourselves or making sign languages. He was really really helpful with everything..and pretty knowledgeable about the area. He booked a steamboat dinner for us after someone cancelled.

The hotel has an onsen bath which was really really hot!!! The onsen is separated between men and women. We wanted to have a private family onsen bath..and you can do that starting from 10pm. First come, first serve. So before 10pm..I already got everyone ready in their bath robes..even for my 2 year old. and we started marching towards the onsen. There was already probably someone else in their bathrobe marching right behind us..but we got there first. And Matsunami is there again..smiling. There is a white board on the wall...so basically you write room number and the one after us will enter the onsen when our time is up. A room is limited to 45 mins in the onsen.

Before the onsen, we had our steamboat dinner. It was really nice as the weather was really really cold...and having something hot was good.... And there he is again..Matsunami. He is just everywhere!

They even have a massage chair next to the onsen. So after onsen..you can just sit down while having some drinks from the vending machines. Beers too.

I was in the lobby doing stuffs online in my onsen bathrobe...and Matsunami suddenly appear with a blanket saying that it is cold. All throughout my stays in hotels..I was never being given a blanket when sitting in the lobby.

Gosh..he can really really make a difference to everything! We reached the hotel feeling grumpy and all..but he was being really helpful with everything.

Staffs in the restaurant was also friendly..even the elderly lady who cleared the table..

Our room...the view was blocked by this reddish coloured tree. So no view. But having the right room..you will have a good view from uphill facing the lake.

Oh well....I will definitely stay there again if he is there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is too far to walk with big luggages from kawaguchiko station but limited-time shuttle bus can help. The location is near the KachiKachi ropeway and boat pier. View from room is so excellent even not see Fujisan. This hotel seems to be old but overall is ok. No good view is from the onsen because bamboo fence prevents nude. Hotel staff is so kind, helpful and great service mind. Free wifi is available only the lobby. Massage machine service, water, ice,dvd and japanese comics is offered and no sur-charged. Buffet breakfast is so delicious both western and japanese style. I 'll be back to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko

Address: 1132-1 Asagawa, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0303, Yamanashi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezbay Lake Resort Kawaguchiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.