We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden and nice hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fuji View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fuji View Hotel to your Saves list
Fuji View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Onsen Hotel   |   511 Katsuyama, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0310, Yamanashi Prefecture (Kawaguchiko Onsen)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden and nice hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here to see Cherry blossom and Mt Fuji. The hotel's garden was a really nice surprise with plenty of blossoms to see.

The staff were friendly and helpful, they even let us take our robes home when we asked.

The Onsen was also nice to relax in.

Breakfast was a nice mix between western and Japanese buffet.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    43
    12
    9
    0
See reviews for
28
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel has a nice view of Mt Fuji and their garden is quite nice. However, we find that there isn't any eating place or entertainment nearby. Though they provide shuttle bus to the Kawaguchiko station we found this quite inconvenient. For those who prefer more mobility for sightseeing and easy access to shops, we would recommend the hotels along the opposite of the Kawaguchiko lake. If we come back, we would choose hotels like Mizuno or those along the same stretch.
Though surprisingly we found our room at Fujiview to be quite spacious and their Futon beds were very comfy; Their Japanese + American breakfast buffet was so so but they served more of Japanese staples. As we were not used to japanese breakfast so we opted out after the 2nd day.

The weather in japan during the August summer season was too humid even for us from tropical country. Maybe best to plan during spring and autumn seasons I think that would be more cooling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed there two weeks ago and was not the least bit impressed. First off, the web page photographs do NOT properly depict the hotel. My room was very out dated and I swear that the carpet had not been cleaned in since the place was built :-). There were large dark stains in the carpeting and it had not been vacuumed in quite a while. The bed was terrible! We also had dinner at the French restaurant and could NOT have been more disappointed. The service was substandard and the food was marginal at best. My dinner was well over $100.00 and I felt like I'd been used by the stuffy staff who work there. I highly recommend doing your homework on other Fuji hotels BEFORE you book this one. I went solely off their web page and it proved to be a costly mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has very nice grounds with Cherry Blossoms all over. The best part is the direct view of Fuji from rooms at the front part of the hotel. We got lucky with this but worth asking. I did not realize how good the views would be. However the hotel itself is past its best-before date. Needs a renovation badly to update the place. Not a dumop by any means, just showing its age in the rooms, furniture, etc. The service is decent but only average by Japanese standards. The food is similarly run-of-the-mill. Overall, a three-star rating with the views and location a major boost.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location -- good for exploring the area, beautiful view of the lake and Fuji.
Hotel -- big, old fashioned, seriously in need of new decoration
Room -- there are 2 sides: Fuji side and lake side, rooms are very big and clean, again seriously in need of new decoration, no wifi
Bathroom -- big and very clean
Dinner -- ok but at the fix time
Breakfast -- ok, good variety
Onsen -- ok, outdoor and indoor, nothing special
Staff -- polite and willing to help but English may be a problem
Overall, this hotel command a very nice view but it makes you feel like you are staying in a retirement home

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the side of your room you want, Fuji side or lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has not been decorated for many years. We stayed in a fuji view room which did have a good view of Mt Fuji but there are not many positives to add to this place.

The services was OK at best. We asked to see a menu for the French restaurant at the hotel and they only showed us the set menu not the a la carte for some reason so we ordered the set menu and only ate 1 out of the 4 courses due to the fact we didn't like the menu but had no other choice. After the meal they tried to charge us more than was on the original receipt.

Also the location is fairly remote so you can't walk easily to other options for dinner. Taxis are not cheap in this area.

Overall the hotel felt tired and in desperate need of a refurb!

English was very limited in the hotel - just a caution if you expect more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel was clean. Service was good. Food was good to above average. They did offer two times to eat dinner. We chose the earlier at 545pm. The other time would have been 745 pm. The service was very slow for us, although the restaurant was not crowded. We were in a party of 4 and each had a different meal. All were good. Dessert was also good. I had a great massage, although they definitely need to update that area. There are no walls to the massage area and anyone walking by can see. There was only one masseuse on. Best massage I have had. The hot spring bathing area was nice, clean and well kept. There are two indoor observation decks on the top floor to view Mt. Fuji. A great benefit for staying in this hotel especially in the winter. We went in mid November and the grounds were still beautiful. I think one would be extremely please if you went there went there was full vegetation.

I would recommend the 5th floor which is non smoking. The rooms were big and clean.

All in all a very nice hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuji View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji View Hotel

Address: 511 Katsuyama, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0310, Yamanashi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Onsen Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fuji View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Fuji View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji View Onsen Hotel
Fuji View Hotel Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuji View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.