We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stopover hotel north of lyon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord to your Saves list
Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 allee du Levant, 69890 La Tour-de-Salvagny, France (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Lyon Ouest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good stopover hotel north of lyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This 4 star hotel is a few kilometers off the highway north of lyon, roomy and clean hotel with good parking facilities even with a small truck. Nice big pool area, must be quiet fun in the summer, hotel is planning further refursbishment around the pool area and restaurant.

Pretty standard cuisine, breakfast is OK for the price.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualysLyonNord, Responsable réception at Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear 988olivierg,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Indeed we have some project for the swimming pool area and for the terrace as well once we finish with the interiour renovations.

Regarding the breakfast, we are trying to improve it as well. So I invite you to contact us should you want it to discuss it further.
I remain at your entire disposal.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here as part of a tour group.

The hotel is not close to anything, and is far away from any supermarket or city centre.

The room and ensuite were standard size, not large or small, and clean.

Unfortunately the room stunk of cigarette smoke, even though it had a no smoking sign in the room. We couldn't leave the air conditioning on as the cigarette smoke smell was more pronounced when the aircon was on. The room was warm without air conditioning.

Staff don't appear to speak English very well, as there was a language barrier problem when one of our fellow tour members checked out and tried to pay for a phone call.

Would I stay again? No, because of the room smell.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We decided to chose this hotel because it was exactly in our way to Paris, just few minutes drive from the highway. We arrived very late, but the reception was opened and the personnel was very helpful. We got a beautiful spacious room on the first floor. The room is well equipped and freshly renovated. We had a very good night sleep. The position of the hotel is just perfect for someone who loves the calm and wants to relax.
The next day we decided to have breakfast. The buffet is just perfect. A wide variety to choose from. As we were taking breakfast on the terrace we saw the swimming pool so we decided to take a swim. I must say: you really have to try this swimming pool. And also, if you have time, ask in the reception for the sauna (you have to ask 30 minutes before, so that they will switch it on).
All in all, our stop here was beyond our expectations since the price was not high at all and the services were just perfect (and the hotel as well of course). Can't wait for our next trip in France!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here on tour, on long trek from Nice to Paris. after nearly a full day on the bus and arriving in Lyon quite late, was quite good to get into the hotel...

Hotel was nice and new and the fact it was outside of Lyon really didn't matter as I wasn't going to be visiting Lyon. The only issue was the food... The hotel was putting on the dinner that night and as soon as we got off the bus - bus was about 45 minutes late - we got ushered into the function room for a dinner... the hotel staff didn't want anyone going up to rooms and there were shouts throughout nobody was to go upstairs.
The food just wasn't very good, rather bland.

The bar, however, was great. Whatever issues the food had - sure, the extra stress may have been the kitchen had been ready for 45 minutes with the food. The bar was nice and relaxed - most of the tour departed straight for bed, so only a very small group of us stayed in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Initially we planned to stay at the Radisson, but it was already booked out, we had a rental car with AVIS and drove down from Paris to Nice and Monte Carlo first, up to Lyon and back to Paris. We did book a BMW 5 and get a Skoda Superb in the end, it was fine and the hotel is easy to reach, as long as your car has a GPS. There may be doubt over confidence that the GPS is leading you into the middle of nowhere, just trust that thing and follow the road, it will lead you to the right direction. The hotel is around 15 minutes drive from Lyon downtown and easy tor each. Try avoiding peak-times and get up early in the morning or drive back before 04.00pm, after 08.00pm, the highways / motorways can be a real mess out there and especially in France think about the following: don't care what's behind you, only care what is in front of you. The hotel is fine, it has a steam-room, sauna and a small fintess "area" (not a center actually), there is also a pool, but it is outside. There is a petrol / diesel taste in the hall-way, on the way to the fitness and "spa"-area, just hold your breath and go through. People are very friendly and the interior construction is fine, just like any other Park Inn hotels across the globe. There is a small farmer market around the corner, there are also some petrol stations nearby. In case you are using a GPS and you want to go downtown, please choose "fastest route" and not "shortest route", there are a lot of radar around when crossing villages with speed-limits that don't actually make sense / no one cares about it anyways.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

Nice new hotel just outside Lyon but within cheap and easy bus range of the fascinating city centre. It was very hot when we were there and they initially tried to palm us off with ground floor rooms where the aircon was not working at all (perhaps due to building work to restaurant / meeting room area). Having convinced them we needed aircon they eventually gave us a 1st floor room where aircon works to some extent (I think reception won't allow temp to go below 24C). The large rooms and bathrooms are lovely and so is the very well maintained swimming pool. Don't sit down too heavily on the sun loungers, they are cheap, nasty and knackered.

Well worth the 55€ a night we paid but the food sucks, even the bread is that crummy long-life-finish-it-off-in-the-oven type they sell in Britain. If you have a car, drive to the hotel in Charbonnier-sur-Bains for an excellent breakfast where it costs 7.55€ instead of being tormented by wasps at the Park Inn's temporary restaurant where you pay 12€. Dinner is naff too (except the bought-in icecream) - you will do better in the Terre et Mer Restaurant in the nearby village for the same sort of money - c.65€ inc wine for 2.

  • Liked — Large well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — food
  • Tips/Secrets — eat out
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

An above average modern hotel close to the main highway. Very friendly service and clean rooms. Minor problem with disorganised breakfast but this apparently was mainly due to the fact they were not using the normal restaurant as a result of painting work. Good value.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil R, Responsable réception at Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Forbes1,

Thank you very much for your very kind review. During your stay we indeed were renovating the restaurant (renovation which details will end mid-February 2014) in order to enhance the service we give you.
As for the service, thank you again for notiving it, this is what we aim for. A personnalised and friendly service which will, I believe, entail you to stay once more with us when you come around Lyon.

Kind regards,

Virgil Roussos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord

Address: 2 allee du Levant, 69890 La Tour-de-Salvagny, France (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Lyon Ouest)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > La Tour-de-Salvagny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Tour-de-Salvagny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out among France hotels in Lyon, this hotel boasts an ideal location 12 minutes from the city centre and nearby the industrial park of Dardilly (TECHLID). Perfect for business and leisure travellers alike, this Lyon hotel is five minutes from the A6 to Paris. Enjoy a restful sleep in this France hotel’s comfortable rooms, equipped with first-class amenities. Ideal for meetings and events, the nine meeting rooms feature natural daylight and beautiful pool and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord France/La Tour-De-Salvagny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qualys Hotel Lyon Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.