We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine fish in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Kod Marka

Konoba Kod Marka
20223 Sipanska Luka, Croatia
+385(0)20 758-007
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Sipan
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fine fish in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Šipan is the largest of the Elafiti islands near Dubrovnik. We approached Luka, one of its two villages, by small boat. The quiet harbour, dotted by palms and limestone houses and overlooked by a church, is impossibly pretty and we were urged by other sailors to try this restaurant. The waterside setting at sunset proved unforgettable - as did the food. We left the choice to the restaurant manager who returned with various starters: octopus burger, anchovies, prawns. For a main course, he brought the finest sea bass I have ever tasted. It had been simply grilled with a few herbs: fantastic. For accompaniment, a plate of potatoes, in texture somewhere between puree and crushed, flavoured with garlic, oil and courgette. Our crew fell upon this dish - and when we left the manager gave us more to take to the boat. All this was enjoyed with well-made Croatian wines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A magical waterside restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived on the island of Sipan by boat: a gentle hour's walk through the island, rounding the hill to see the sun setting behind the village spire and a meander along the quay, marked our magical arrival at this waterside restaurant. Gino is a warm and friendly host; he brought us one course after another (five in all) of mouthwatering seafood delicacies. The octopus fish cakes are famous for miles around, but my personal favourite was the smoked tuna carpaccio, in a zesty citrus dressing. Book ahead in the summer, if you can and let Gino select the menu.
A boat taxi home under the stars drew a memorable evening to a close.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best in Croatia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had an early dinner (7pm) without booking. It was superb. The view, as the sun sets, is amazing and the food was sublime. We didn't bother with the menu, just let them bring us what was on that day. Anchovies, salted with red onions. Octopus Cake. (Like a burger but with an amazing seafood & spice taste.). Seafood risotto (Full of seafood and a rich sauce.). And simple grilled fish with potatoes & Swiss chard. We shared a dessert and half a litre of local white. £50 for two. A complete bargain. Much loved by celebs, apparently. I'm not surprised!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Geat food, great picturesque location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Octopus burgers a must. Excellent food and service. One of the best meals I have ever had in Croatia. Essential to book during the summer. A bit more care in attending the bathrooms would be welcomed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Kod Marka also viewed

Sipan, Elafiti Islands
 
Sipanska Luka, Sipan
Sipanska Luka, Sipan
 

Been to Konoba Kod Marka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Kod Marka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.