We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality in wonderful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse to your Saves list
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street R336 | Addo Elephant National Park, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Utrecht
1 review
“High Quality in wonderful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Oscar and Diederik are excellent hosts. We also highly appreciated that they had good suggestions for us: a guided visit to their cooking-project township, a beautiful gamedrive(Addo/Schotia tour) and useful tips for our trip via route 62 to Cape Town.
So, it is advisable to stay here more than two days we did!

Han and Tineke Fonteijne

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Trendy guesthouse surrounded by lemon tree orchard and lovely mountainview s.
Up to date bedroom with aircon, spacious shower, swimmingpool ( the biggest on our trip ). Very interesting townshiptour with Oscar to his dedicated coooking project.
The 4*4 track from Kabuga gate to Darlingtonlake is a must to do!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

I liked my stay here - particularly for the friendliness of the hosts, Oscar and Diederick who now run the place.

We all sat down to an excellent lamb shank dinner prepared by Shaun the chef and had great debates about the future of life.

They've done the rooms up nicely and the shower works well in the morning.

I would probably have thicker curtains to keep the sun out in the morning but otherwise it was a great stay. The breakfast in the morning was great.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the hosts
  • Disliked — Thickness of the curtains!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

We were fortunate to have stayed with family at the Lemon3Lodge over the December holidays when we visited the Addo Elephant Park. This jewel in the Eastern Cape is situated close to the main gate of the park (+- 30km / 20 Mi) and offers everything that the safari-goer could possibly wish for. The lodge is very tastefully decorated, has all modern amenities (we particularly enjoyed the swimming pool) and offers a tranquil setting to rest after a long day of game-watching.
Michele, Filip and their family were gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was a feast and certainly a highlight of our trip!
We were upgraded to the best suites (Orange rooms) at no extra charge upon our arrival - one will be hard pressed to find better accommodation anywhere in the area. The Lemon3Lodge offers exceptional value!
We will certainly not hesitate to visit the Lemon3Lodge on our next trip to the area...

  • Liked — Hospitality, setting, breakfast
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Main Street R336 | Addo Elephant National Park, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and trendy 4 star guesthouse near Addo Elephant National Park. Air conditioned double rooms with en-suite bathroom, Coffee- and tea facility, comfortable chairs, writing desk, TV and free WiFi. Swimming pool, sundeck, shade, garden and a 4 ha lemon orchard. Lounge with DSTV- international, dvd, music, book, information and a honesty bar. Safe off street parking. Wireless internet available all over the venue. Breakfast with yoghurts, muesli, cornflakes, fruits, fruit salade, cheeses, cold meats, tomato, cucumber, marmalade, Dutch sweets and a selection for fresh bread and toast. Meet & greet the locals during our Nkosi FOundation township tour where we visit our cooking project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.