We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT HOLIDAYS-HIGHLY RECOMMENDED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makis Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamares
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makis Camping
Save
You added Makis Camping to your Saves list
Kamares, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT HOLIDAYS-HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

WELL DONE MAKIS!!!!!

Since 1999 I enjoy my Summer and Easter holidays on Makis camping/apartments.

Makis Camping and Apartments is situated in a beautiful bay 10 minutes walk from the ferry drop off point and main restaurants and shops in a beautiful location just across a small road from the beach.

When your reach there you will be welcomed by the owner Makis, a very nice guy and his kind staff. They are very helpful, hospitable, nice and friendly.

The campsite is perfect situated, quiet and very clean.

The apartments are also very beautiful and quiet with or without kitchen, very clean and nicely furnished with everything you need.

Makis is always next to visitors, in everything they need, he always tries to make them having and unforgettable staying at his place.

In Makis camping and apartments you can enjoy a perfect holiday.

The beach is beautiful and the sea is crystal clear, pleasant to snorkel and to swim. Lovely to sunbath.

Sifnos Island is a rare pearl.
Beautiful villages, amazing beaches, very good Greek food and warm and hospitable people.

Enjoy Sifnos- Enjoy Makis Camping!!

Highly recommended.

We really love Makis!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
43
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

l stayed 3 nights at Makis camping last july. It was the third time for me!
Sifnos is a nice place for hiking and Makis knows the best places and he gave me a lot of information and showed me the paths on the map.The camping is small but very nice and near the port.l can't wait to visit it again and see more places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed there a week ago with my boyfriend.It was so croudy but Makis has a solution for any problem you face during holidays.He found for us a nice place in camping as we had no room and seemed lost.Nice place to meet people

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The campsite is based 10 minutes walk from the ferry drop off point and main restaurants and shops in a peaceful location just across a small road from the beach. We stayed in Room 3 which has a nice shady balcony to sit and eat breakfast in the morning with a view of the mountain and the sea, and then has a lovely sunny aspect for the rest of the day. The room is newly refurbished to a high standard with a new wet room and is very clean. It has airconditioning, fridge, kettle and a TV which we didn't use. Makis was very welcoming and friendly and has lots of local knowledge and ideas for sightseeing. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is larger and has a sofa but Room 3 has a nicer aspect and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed in the apartments twice now. Great location, 10 minute walk from the bars and restaurants. There's a shop downstairs selling beers, snacks etc. Rooms get cleaned every other day, which is fine. Great view of the sea from our window. TV in room with a couple of English-speaking channels, fridge and plenty of plug sockets. Owner very friendly. For the price couldn't really ask for much more. Would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: We got the room above the shop, faced the sea. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed the whole August at Makis camping. That was my first experience in the camping lifestyle. Makis camping is located about 600 meters from Sifnos port so you dont have to take a taxi or a bus, you can go there on foot. The camping is really close to the beach, actually there is the camping a road and the beach. It is very clean and quiet place. Makis rules is to respect sleeping hours (15.00-17.00 and 00.00-9.00), the place and each other. Pets are also allowed. It has 8 turkish style toilets and 8 showers. He is very insistent to cleanliness. There is a lot of space and shadow where you can put your tent. It has two refrigerators where you can put your own stuff. There is also a mini market where you can find the basics at logical price. Makis is very friendly and he will help you to whatever is been asked. As it is located at the port there are a lot of hotels, cafe, taverns, pottery stores. If you want to spent your holidays in a cheap quiet and relaxing way you should definitely choose this place. Honestly I had a great time there and Im planning to visit it next year.

Room Tip: Apart from the camping Makis also rents rooms but you have to book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We have stayed at makis many times, its clean, quiet and a great location,with great views. Best campsite on the islands. We have also stayed in the rooms which are great for the price. Maki is friendly, helpful & is a great laugh. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makis Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Camping

Address: Kamares, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kamares
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Makis Camping Hotel Sifnos
Makis Camping Sifnos, Greece - Kamares

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makis Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.