We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Warm welcome and good service. Great little hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nymphes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nymphes Hotel to your Saves list
Nymphes Hotel
Agia Marina, Kamares, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location. Warm welcome and good service. Great little hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nymfes is perfectly located just 5 mins drive from the port of kamares where ferries arrive in Sifnos. It has a lovely pool with fantastic view. Moshe is very friendly and accommodating, agreeing readily to change our reservation dates at short notice and they even do laundry free of charge. Highly recommended. Also recommend heading up to the church (agias Simeon?) on the mountain above for a fantastic sunset view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have spent two weeks at hotel Nymphes (which by the way is reviewed on tripadvisor also under the name nymfes, but it's the same hotel) in July 2012. The hotel is situated in Agia Marina, a 5/8-minute walk from Kamares, the port of the island. It's a lovely location, since it's much more quiet than Kamares, which may get busy especially when ferries arrive, but it's close to everything (restaurants, mini-markets) and it's a nice walk along the beach to get there from Kamares. The owner, Mosha, and her husband are really nice and welcoming and always greet you with a smile. The hotel is small and very well-kept, and has a nice view on Kamares and the port. Our room was a triple, with a nice balcony overlooking the sea. It was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, however there were some minor deficiencies: the wardrobe did not have any drawers so we had to keep swimming-suits, t-shirts and so on in the luggage. The bathroom was recently renovated and clean but a bit small, especially the shower. The breakfast, which is included, is served in a lovely garden by the swimming pool and is excellent: the bread is always fresh, Mosha's mother always prepares a home-made cake, there is ham, cheese, eggs, butter and marmelade, croissants, pain au chocolat, greek yoghurt and fresh fruit. Linens and bath towels are changed very often. The beach of Kamares is at a few minutes walk from the hotel and it's very nice, with white sand and suitable for kids, with tavernas and umbrellas and sunbeds. It even earned a blue flag. In Kamares there are also buses going to the other beaches. Personally I think Kamares is the best place to stay, much more quiet than Apollonia and by the sea but still not far from the island's highlights. A wonderful stay, we definitely reccomend it and we will probably come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family of four (2 adults and 2 children 11y and 15y) spent 4 glorious nights at Nymfes Hotel in late June 2012. We had selected this hotel from previous reviews and we were not disappointed. From the moment we were collected from the port, we were made to feel at home by the hosts Moscha and Yiannis. We had originally booked a two bedroom suite, however upon arrival we discovered that the second bedroom and sleeping arrangements were not suitable for our rather tall children. Moscha immediately noticed our concerns and offered our children another suite of their own and negotiated a very reasonable price for both the rooms. From that moment onwards, Moscha and her entire family welcomed us into their hotel and went to great lengths to make every aspect of our holiday memorable. Moscha arranged for a hire car to be delivered to the hotel, listed all her favourite restaurants and beaches, and nothing was ever too hard for her to resolve or explain.
I can recommend this hotel for an authentic greek island experience. The decor, the service, the cleanliness and the exceptional hospitality of the owners/hosts will make the Nymfes experience unforgetable. Moscha even let my young daughter name their new kitten Hermione!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Nymphes hotel is located In Kamares, 5km from Appolonia (the island capital ). The room was nice ,comfortable and clean. Breakfast is continental buffet breakfast and takes place in a lovely courtyard . The owner of Nymphes were so friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I am certain that there is not enough that I can say about this incredible hotel. We stayed here for 4 nights and I feel like we had bit of a homesick feeling after leaving the hotel, and the staff, to go onto the next island.

Upon arriving to the hotel (arranged by Aegean Travel) the owner and her daughter greeted us and our children-- we sensed the comfortable atmosphere immediately. The room (family suite, I assume) was tastefully decorated which set the stage for our Greek island experience. With a white canopy over the double bed, there were linen curtains hanging over the arched doorway into the separate room with television and ready-made pullout bed. After all of her ooh's and ahhh's, my daughter (10 years old) said she felt like she was a princess in her bed. While we had a nice sized balcony for our family suite (two entrances through french-style doors) they also offered a terrace just below for lounging. The hotel really did seem like something out of a fairytale with the seemingly-traditional furnishings and tasteful decor.

I can not express my thanks enough to the owner, Moscha, for how wonderful she was to our children, and giving us such warm greetings each morning. My daughter left her case of DS games on the ferry to the island and Moscha called the ferry line, tracked us down through the travel agency, and called us at our hotel in Milos after arranging for us to pick them up from the sea port. Just as we were leaving Sifnos, Moscha sent someone to bring my son his sippy cup before boarding our transfer ferry. We are so grateful to all of the staff at this hotel for helping our family to have such an amazing time in Sifnos.

The hotel also offers: wifi, a computer in the lobby, toys for the children to play, DVD player in the room (though we did not use it), refrigerator (in our room, not sure about the others), towels for the pool and beach, books in the lobby about the island, and unbeatable Greek yogurt at breakfast time.

Room Tip: We used Aegean travel and our room choice was outstanding. Since I have not stayed in any other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and i were booked into this hotel by Fantasy Travel In Athens ( booked by email from the Uk- amazing travel agent- first class faultless service ) so wasn't sure what it was going to be like until we got there. We were collected by prearranged taxi and taken through the harbour and main town ( 2 minutes maximum!) and up a small hill - another 2 minutes by car. The building is new but slots into the hillside as if its been there for years. The reception we received was friendly, helpful and low key- perfect. Our room over looked the outdoor breakfast area and swimming pool ( room no 13) and had a small balcony. The double bed had drapes and crisp white linen. A small fridge in the corner of the room and a Tv and CD player were nice touches.The bathroom was tiny but functional and immaculate- fresh tiles, fluffy white towels and complimentary 100ml toiletries, sewing kit soap etc. The shower was tiny but useable- I am very tolerant on holiday of things not being quite as good as at home AS LONG as the place is immaculate- and it was. Breakfast was as much as you wanted it to be- various cereals, cold meats, eggs, toast, mini hot pain au chocolate , individual rice puddings, cakes, fruit and a huge pot of greek yogurt. fresh fruit juices and whatever type of tea or coffee you desired. We sometimes ate breakfast on the tables next to the pool ( small but long enough to do lengths) overlooking the sea- I am a geek so i enjoyed watching the ferries come in and out at various times of the day ( the speed that they get people off and get back out to sea never failed to amaze us). The guest book which I wrote in whilst waiting for our taxi to the ferry, was written in by people from ALL OVER THE WORLD- from all over Europe, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Alaska- such a surprise. Apparently the hotel was recommended in a Sunday Times magazine and people had come out here on that recommendation! We had a little unexpected surprise gift from the owner when we left too. The location was great for us- far enough out to enjoy the stroll to the harbour for an evening meal - ( 10 minute walk into the harbour, mostly along the beach if you choose)although I cannot imagine anywhere being a bad location on this island ( glad I didn't stay in Apollonia though- the harbour is far a nicer place to chill with a cocktail or coffee after your meal letting the sand run through your toes as you sit on the decking of the beach bars) Faultless for me . Note- free wireless internet so bring your ipads!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Nymphes Hotel for the second half of our stay on the beautiful Island of Sifnos. Based in the main port of Kamares, this hotel is set back from the main beach which is a ten minute walk away.
When we arrived we were greeted by Mosha the owner, and her father. Mosha was such a lovely person, and as the stay went on i met the rest of her family who all helped out and lived on the hotel site. The atmosphere is very family oriantated and homely which is wonderful, but we still had plenty of our own space to relax and unwind. This hotel recently opened and is an extention of an already exsiting hotel business.The pool was a brand new addition, and a welcome site after the hot walks down to the beach and too the main town.
The rooms although quite small and compact, was beautifully laid out with all touches covered even down to the embroided pillows and sheets.The shower was great though a little small, and you even got loads of lovley organic tolietries included.
Breakfast was heavan!!! From home made rice pudding right throught to freshly baked pain au choclate you had an amazing choice and it was always fresh and very filling.a buffet is definatley good , as you have lots of options too choose from, and you even get fresh filtered coffee and fresh orange juice not from a carton!!!

over all the hotel and staff were amazing, and i would definatley stay here again. I might take a suite next time for the extra space, but i guess in the standard room you have the extras of a balcony for a fantatic view and a fridge to keep your water cold, which you need lots of in July as its baking hot!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nymphes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nymphes Hotel

Address: Agia Marina, Kamares, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Nymphes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nymphes Hotel Sifnos, Greece - Kamares

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nymphes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.