We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek with a twist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
harbor of Kamares, Kamares, Greece
+30 2284 031202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Romantic environment with a great view and protected from undesirable weather.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greek with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Whilst we both love Greek food it is nice to try something a bit different in Greece. The menu here contained some beautiful dishes. I would not have thought curried chicken would taste this good. A wonderful setting just above the Main Street and harbour. A highly varied menu with some traditional and some not so traditional dishes. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    46
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, very nice and helpful staff, speak good English. Some of the tastiest food we have eaten in a long time, including some unusual dishes. Would recommend without hesitation.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Not the longest menu but that probably helps keep the quality high with an excellent choice of dishes. We ended up going for 3 meals during our 5 day stay in Kamares and we enjoyed every one. It became our favourite restaurant beause of the quality of the food and wine, plus the great service from the staff. Because of previous comments we had to try the goat curry one night, as Greek curry was new to us. It was lovely with a slightly sweeter taste than your traditional curry, which we were informed was due to the honey they put in it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a brilliant find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Sailing around the Greek Islands we anchored in Kamares. Looking for somewhere to eat we came across this true gem. 8 of us were accommodated without any fuss. The staff were very friendly and helpful - I think one of the waiters must have been one of the owners - he was passionate and knowledgeable about the menu. For the eight of us, starters, mains. dessert and drinks came to well under £200. Of the restaurants we visited on our islands trip this was by far the best for quality of food, service and value - a truly outstanding place! Oh and did I say that the view from the terrace was wonderful as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely host- great food, beautiful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal in Absinthe! the food was delicious and sophisticated. the host lived in Canada and speaks English perfectly so he was very helpful in describing the dishes and wines.The view is lovely.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

 
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absinthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.