We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best taste in Sifnos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
harbor of Kamares, Kamares, Greece
+30 2284 031202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Romantic environment with a great view and protected from undesirable weather.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The best taste in Sifnos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Warm people ,delicious taste , reasonable prices good location ,what else you need to enjoy a full clear taste meal

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    46
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Not really Cheap, but a better view of the harbor, and far better service. If you pick a restaurant, pick this one.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venhuizen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Delicious food, not typical Greek, but you can order gyros if you want. They ask a good price for good food. Nice ambiance with a view at the bay of Kamares.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than your average Greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent 2 weeks on 3 Greek islands and this restaurant was the best of the lot. It is really good Greek cooking with a bit more style and flair than usual. Also the wine is well chosen and of good quality. A bit more expensive than the competition but if you are on Sifnos well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Greek with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent one month in Sifnos and while I love Greek food, I was happy to have found Absinthe, which has a little variety on the menu. Don't get me wrong, there are definitely traditional food choices - I had some great meatballs that were grandma's recipe and fantastic eggplant salad and a to-die-for fried filo-wrapped feta cheese drizzled with honey. But there were also some flavors that I couldn't find anywhere else on the island like chicken curry, spicy goat, and a spicy pork or beef with rice. Needless to say, I ate at Absinthe several times and was never disappointed. The portions were rather large for me, especially since I was there alone. But I was able to take home any leftovers and for certain dishes I was able to get half-portions so I could try more things on the menu! Both of the George's that work/own the restaurant made me feel like family when I was eating there and when I saw them outside the restaurant.
I was even introduced to a great bourbon that I hadn't tried before. They have a great variety of alcohol as they used to be a bar and - yes - there is even absinthe!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

 
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absinthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.