We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wli Water Heights

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hohoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wli Water Heights
Wli-Afegame, Hohoe, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hohoe
Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Water Heights for two nights with pur two small boys ages 2 and 5. The room was simple, but clean, and was large enough to fit a large bed for us and a double for our sons. It had a great working A/C! The only thing we didnt like very much was the lack of hot water. they dont have any water heaters,so be prepared. Martha, the owner, was there to welcome us, and the staff were so kind and accomodating. Food was delicious with a good variety, and it took about 40 minutes to get it once ordered. We just ordered ahead and didn't have any problems. The area is quiet, other than farm animals, with a nicely kept yard. We walked to a market area just outside the hotel, and the locals were really nice. The children especially were eager to play with our children and have their picture taken.

It's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the falls. Once in the falls, it's a 40 minute (flat and easy) walk to the lower fall. A guide is included in the entrance fee. we had Alfred, and really liked him. My children swam in the waterfall pool with a local school group. They had a blast!

Overall, I would recommend water heights hotel for anyone traveling in this area. The price was great, and again, Martha and the hotel staff (especially Seth and Gideon) made sure we were well taken care of.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A good hotel - make sure you book a room with air con to help make the nights sleep a good one. The service could do with being more efficient - but on African timings, just take it easy and slow down.

Room Tip: Choose the room with air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Low-key but very satisfying lodging. Good food, Almost-plush, clean white towels. Very clean room and bathroom - properly functioning, modern fixtures, good water flow and flush, a rarity in hospitality industry properties in Ghana. Staff is well-trained - courteous, pleasant, solicitous and attentive. The owner (the delightfully personable Martha) has obviously invested in her human resources - an all too infrequent practice in businesses of ANY level in Ghana. Excellent value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive and a hike up to the Wli waterfall, we settled into this lively hotel. The staff were welcoming and gave us an orientation to the property and the surrounding area and the town. The food was beautifully prepared and presented and tasted so so good.
I had been away from Ghana for over 30 years and this lovely property and staff made us feel at home in a most warm way

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a small, family run hotel in lovely compact grounds, with friendly staff, within walking distance of the village. The rooms are spacious, simple and clean. There is a nice verandah to sit out on and the food is good.We thoroughly recommend this place if you are visiting the area - and enjoy the walk to the falls - it is worth it. There is no pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great bargain - room was basic but clean - we had shared bathroom facilities - no hot water - but relatively clean and definitely usable and we were provided nice white towels. The staff were all wonderful - helpful and polite. The food was great but is cooked to order so either order ahead of time or plan on enjoying the wait in the lovely patio dining area. Great bang for the buck - would definitely stay there again. The waterfall in the rainy season is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

the property was well kept. the food was slow to come even after we requested it in advance, but the food was decent. the rooms were clean and nice. the only issue was the rooster that started crowing at 5:30am. I also stayed at wli lodge a few weeks earlier and I preferred heights, though they are comparable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wli Water Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wli Water Heights

Address: Wli-Afegame, Hohoe, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Volta Region > Hohoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hohoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Wli Water Heights Ghana/Hohoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wli Water Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wli Water Heights to your Saves list