We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Amarena

L'Amarena
7 Place Paix, 41110 Saint-Aignan, France
0254754798
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Saint-Aignan
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Reliable and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been eating here regularly for over ten years and it has never let us down. Excellent pizzas, very good steaks but best of all is the warm welcome and family friendly atmosphere. Do, however, book - we have seen countless disappointed people sent on their way - usually with helpful advice on where to find a restaurant with spare capacity. Enough said!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have recently purchased a property across the road from L'Amarena, but have been traveling to St Aignan for a few years. We have always had takeaway from L'Amarena and it has been wonderful. Last week we decided to have dinner in the restaurant.
My partner and I attended with my two young daughters. The staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful with our menu choices. We only speak a small amount french, this was no problem. We ordered pizza and pasta and shared meals. We all enjoyed our the meals and can't wait to go to L'Amarena again. If you are a fan of carbonara, it is to die for! It is probably best that you book as it can get very busy.

Thanks L'Amarena for your hospitality and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, great tasting food and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We happened upon this restaurant at the end of a day spent visiting chateaux of the Loire valley. We decided to go in since almost everything else in town seemed dead, and this place was packed with people--all locals. The service we got was excellent, very attentive host/server, and food was brought to us very quickly. The food itself - of the many options (pastas, pizzas, menu a la carte, we tried a goat cheese salad and two small pizzas, all of which was delicious). The pizzas we tried were the Charolais and the Strasbourgais. They were both big enough to satisfy a hungry appetite. It was our first experience having pizza in France, so I can say it definitely is different than any pizza I've had elsewhere. Thin crust, thin on the sauce side. We also tried the "L'Amarena" ice crea cup, which was big enough for three people. It consisted of about 2 scoops of cherry sorbet, a scoop of vanilla ice cream, bordeaux cherries steeped in liqueur, a cherry syrup, and whipped cream on top of everything. You won't have a gourmet expereince here but rather a simple, honest, and local one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“smashing place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have lived in France now for 7 years , during our first year the Amarena was recomended by some new friends, six years later, still the best place to eat
and that is not just the pizza's.
When did I visit? ...... been there lots of times since 95.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Where to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

L'Amarena is known for its delicious pizzas, but it is also a classic, bistro-like French-cooking restaurant. We had a marvelous time there during lunch, eating elbow to elbow with the locals. The conversation is casual and friendly, and it is a place to feel like you have really gotten to the heart of this wonderful, untouristy town. People flock in, and la patronne, Veronique, often has to redirect overflow crowds to nearby restaurants, but she does whatever she can to accommodate. Carry-out is also popular, as are dinner hours. Her husband makes great food, standing at his grill right in the dining room. They offer direct and efficient service, and the wine selection is limited but entirely adequate. Even the coffee is pretty good, and that can be a rare thing. When you leave, don't be surprised by the offer of an extra treat from the lollipop basket, or even a hug, and always friendly regards.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amarena also viewed

Saint-Aignan, Loir-et-Cher
Saint-Aignan, Loir-et-Cher
 
Saint-Aignan, Loir-et-Cher
Pouille, Saint-Aignan
 

Been to L'Amarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Amarena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.