We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love nature and no frills, this is the place for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balenbouche Estate

Save Saved
You added Balenbouche Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balenbouche Estate
P.O. Box VF 707 | Saint Lucia, Laborie, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Summer Rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Laborie B&B and Inns
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you love nature and no frills, this is the place for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We chose Balenbouche because of all the great reviews and because it looked down to earth and different - as far from an all-inclusive beach resort as you can get - and that's exactly what it was. We stayed in the Almond Cottage for three nights and were very happy with our choice. Verena and Uta were lovely hostesses and the many dogs and cats made us feel right at home. One cat, Cali, pretty much stayed in our cottage the whole time, enjoying the attention, and one of the dogs took up camp on our front stoop, sat with us at breakfast, and even escorted us to the beach. We could see and hear cows from our window. Breakfasts on the porch of the "big house" was fresh mango, mango juice, coffee, warm rolls with cheese and jam, and scrambled eggs. Our cottage was comfortable and we just left the doors and windows of the bedroom open all night. The rest of the house is open anyway so you do have to not mind bugs and a few small lizards. The outdoor shower, which has a curtain that blows open to the great outdoors, has a few tiny resident frogs. Wasn't a problem. Do bring your ear plugs though. The frog and insect noises at night are close to deafening, especially if you aren't used to it. We mainly used Balenbouche as a base for exploring, and drove up to Ladera for lunch, to see the volcano, and walk the Tet Paul Trail. We did spend a couple hours on the beach about a 10 min. walk from our cottage, wading in the water and getting some sun, but the current makes it not good for swimming. If the idea of living in an open air cottage and having the outdoors come in sounds good to you, you can't do any better. We enjoy camping and this was a big step up from that, but it's not everyone's cup of tea. For us, it was just as expected, and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Calabash Cottage is right next to the main house and Almond is fairly close as well. Frangiapani sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Balenbouche Estate is the perfect place for nature lovers. The cottages are very comfortable and beautiful. The natural environment is charming and very relaxing. The hosts are extremely welcoming. We would return there without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Balenbouche for 4 nights at the end of our St Lucia trip and very glad we did. The cottage was beautiful and the welcome and service fantastic. Our hosts made us instantly feel welcome and their cooking is excellent, I would definitely recommend sampling it.

This is definitely somewhere where we would love to return to and can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you like all-inclusive, swanky resorts this is NOT the place for you. If you like peace and quiet, beautiful surroundings, and some delicious home-prepared food then Ballenbouche is perfect. Hosts Uta and Verena offer something really special and our week in St Lucia was so much the richer for staying here. Our little cottage was simple but beautiful, the lush gardens a joy to explore and all their suggestions of places to visit were spot on. The company of one of the cats and several of their dogs made it feel like a home from home. Whenever we mentioned we were staying at Balenbouche local people were full of praise for the Lawaetz women and we would echo that: their efforts to preserve the estate and open it for others to enjoy are much appreciated.

Room Tip: There are two fully self-catering cottages and two more basic ones. In retrospect self-catering may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Balenbouche for a week long Yoga experience. The hospitality is as good as it gets... anywhere !
We were cared for in every way.
The food was fascinating and the variety made every meal a perfect delight. Interesting teas and juices, smoothies and cocktails were prepared fresh at all meals.
Varena kept us on the go and was always there to ensure our adventures and excursions were inspiring, yet safe.
When we needed down time, the property was inviting and rejuvenating. Natural surroundings with soothing sights and sounds, are all around. Creatures of all types share this place... dogs, cats, tortoises, lizards, frogs, cattle, horses, birds and insects of many kinds, and more ! The landscape is just as varied, with flowers, fruits, and herbs of all kinds. And the SEA, the glorious sea.
Thank you ladies, for offering such wonderful and welcoming surroundings for our tropical escape.

Room Tip: OK, so the swimming pool was really the ocean, but it is fantastic. And the Fitness center is the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are looking for shiny surfaces and fiberglass Jacuzzis, you can skip this place. If you want to connect with the heart of the Caribbean and draw deep sustenance from its natural beauty, do not miss the chance to stay at Balenbouche Estate. Entering this remarkable sanctuary is like taking a step back centuries in time to a place where the frenetic confusion of modern life effortlessly dissolves. There is nothing Spartan about this place; the accommodations are spacious and beautifully designed, the meals are sumptuous, the surrounding forest and beckoning sea a flawlessly peaceful setting for relaxation and renewal. The Lawaetz women are unimaginably graceful and beautiful hosts who offer their guests a priceless gift in this utterly unique retreat they have built over the past 30 years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My search for the perfect place to stay in St Lucia took weeks of online searching and researching hotels ... I don't like 5 star hotels like Sugar Bay .. I don't want boring calm seas with awful holidaymakers and noisy children eating burgers and fries by concrete swimming pools.
I wanted and I found Nirvana - a fascinating place of heritage, great natural beauty and calm run by the amazing Ute Laewetz and her daughters.
The charming cottages on the Estate are decorated tastefully in an Eclectic West Indies, Far East and Austrian Tyrollean smorgasbord of style. There is excellent organic and homely breakfast and dinner, Yoga, friendly dogs and horses, toads and hummingbirds in an historical plantation estate with its own wild beaches where we spent hours each day bodysurfing the wonderful breakers.
This review cannot begin to give an impression of the magic of the place but all I can say is we loved it for a fabulous few days. Thank you so much. Michael, Claire, Jack and Harry. :)))

Room Tip: Who needs a concrete swimming pool and fitness centre when you've got your your own beach and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balenbouche Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balenbouche Estate

Address: P.O. Box VF 707 | Saint Lucia, Laborie, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Laborie Quarter > Laborie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laborie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balenbouche Estate is a secluded Historic Plantation Guesthouse offering several tropical vacation cottages on the south-western coast of St. Lucia. Beautifully landscaped gardens and nature trails surround the 70 acre property, which remains a working farm, heritage site, and family residence. Secluded beaches, hiking trails, and rivers are within walking distance. Our unique blend of tropical elegance, unspoiled nature, and warm hospitality will leave you truly relaxed and inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Balenbouche Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balenbouche Estate Hotel Laborie
Balenbouche Estate St. Lucia/Laborie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balenbouche Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.