We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B in beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward

Windward
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scalloway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windward
Save
You added Windward to your Saves list
Port Arthur, Shetland, ZE1, Scalloway ZE1 0UN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Scalloway B&B and Inns
Grantown-on-spey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B & B in beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed for four nights in early September 2010. We could find no fault with either the accommodation or the breakfasts. Beth & Ian fantastics hosts, friendly and helpful who knew the islands well. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended. It's the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Very friendly B+B, well located, beautiful conservatory/breakfast room with stunning view and great food. Beth was very welcoming and recommended the Scalloway hotel for dinner where we had one of the best meals of our holiday. Beth and husband are keen kayakers and have a drying room you can use for wet clothes. We booked late and therefore only stayed one night in the smallish twin room (private bathroom across the corridor), but we would have loved to have stayed for several days in one of the larger rooms.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Everything you read about this B&B is true. When you imagine yourself on a lovely, bright sunny morning (they DO happen), looking out over the water, contemplating life, totally relaxed; this is it! Brilliant room, wood panelled with combed ceillings and large windows allowing for floods of sunlight. The friendliness and helpfulness was limitless and we had a stimulating, interesting conversation with Beth and another guest over breakfast, sat round a large dining table in the consrvatory, enveloped by stunning surrounds. Scalloway is a' magic' wee place and my wife Karen and I had a very good meal and couple of drinks with the locals in the hotel. If all that isn't enough, two of the nicest beaches 'anywhere' are within a 10min. drive... Honestly. Go!! Thank You Beth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLE OF SKYE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I recieved very warm and friendly and introuduced to all the family the room i stayed in was a spacious clean warm and comfortably The room i had an ensuit bathroom also food was well cooked and presented very well the hosts werevrey friendly also very by giving advice on where to go and what to see and how to get there Staying in scalloway i found was very good base for exploring the rest of the islands the buses run regularly but ifound that if you had any problems the family were very helpful

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Beth did our laundry, made restaurant and ferry reservations, and showed a knack for bringing us and all her guests into conversations. She loves people and she loves Shetland. She listened to our interests and suggested itineraries that allowed us to explore much of the main islands in a short time. An evening spent sharing wee drams from a Norwegian guest's bottle of Bergen while Beth chopped garlic and mangoes for chutney will stand out among my many wonderful memories of Shetland.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

An excellent B & B. Room was comfortable and agreeable. Delicious breakfast cooked to order by Beth. Beth and Ian are native Shetlanders and eager to share their appreciation of their homeland with their guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Windward Bed and Breakfast is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. One guest room is a little on the small side, however it is again exceptioanlly clean with some lovely touches.
The huge family room is probably one of the best rooms I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. Beth and Ian are so accommodating, nothing is too much trouble, breakfasts in the conservatory with a staggering view are delicious. I would absolutely reccommend this bed and breakfast without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward

Address: Port Arthur, Shetland, ZE1, Scalloway ZE1 0UN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Scalloway
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scalloway
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Windward Scalloway, Shetland Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.