We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Dolphin to your Saves list
Hotel Dolphin
Barristor Colony, Old Digha, Digha 721428, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Digha
Visakhapatnam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ordinary Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited Digha in the summer of 2013 and stayed at Hotel Dolphin. We booked rooms in advance through Cleartrip. When we reached the hotel, rooms were promptly given to us. But there were lot of confusion about the type of rooms blocked by cleartrip. We did not know whether it was deluxe room or executive room.
The hotel is a mediocre one. I did not like its location. It is little away (around 400m) from sea beach and view from the hotel is very ordinary (no sea facing rooms). The main beach of Old Digha and market is around 1.5 Km from this hotel.
There is no elevator in the hotel and all A/C rooms are in the higher floors. It may become difficult for old people. The hotel is more like an economy or budget category. Whereas, all the rooms are not that cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent three days there.Executive Rooms were too good.Food was very good and staff was very co-operative.very beautiful garden.No tension for car parking.they have good space for car parking.staff was always ready to help you and guide you.

Room Tip: If you are going with your family then go for Family suit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Absolutely pathetic right from the booking. Arrogant staff behaviour,unprofessional attitude, not fit to be in this kind of business. The booking office in Kolkata is filled with worthless staff. I had to cancel my booking at the last moment due to sheer inefficiency of the booking staff. Recommend elsewhere

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Hotel has excellent rooms with gentlemanly service. Food preparations are good and they have excellent cooks who makes your choiceble food in no time.The manager and staff are courteous.Sea beach is also near.( 5 min)

Room Tip: Go for a a/c room which is cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited Yesterday...Deluxe A/C Bed Room....Yesterday's Lunch was Outstanding compare to Dinner...and their food quality was really Superb nd very friendly nature.....nd 24 hours Free Wifi..... Comparing Gala their normal resturant food was best............
We went 4 a beach walk after we came we found the door was unlocked and we report to Mr.Mark nd he immediatly came for our aid nd accompained us to the CCTV FOOTAGE where we found no glitch nd i realized that the mishap occured due to my negligence nd thnx to our room neighbour who found the door was opened nd he locked it himself nd inform us nd also thnx to Mr.Mark Prakash nd his management for their friendly nature.
Hotel Dolphin is Excellent

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe AC or Executive AC........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed for 2 nights with my family. The hotel rooms are old & need renovation badly. Hotel staff are welcoming but billing takes a lot of time. Needs renovation badly & modern gadgets. Also no sea facing rooms. Nice decent garden with animals & play area for kids. They also have driver accommodation & food quality is pathetic,.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my wife and my father in law and my 3 yr old kid.

Good for reason -
Really good rooms with afoardable rates at off season.

Good parking space inside hotel.

Children play ground.

Free Wi Fi

Very close to beach.

Cottages good for a family of 4-6.


Bad for reasons-

Food is horrible.

Outside food not allowed.

No sea view rooms.

Poor service.

Dusty bed covers and blankets.

No bar.

No cards accepted.

Atm located very far.

OVERALL OK.....nothing great...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binay A, Director of Sales at Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks for highlighting all the positive points of our property.

We do appreciate your effort in putting negative points, it helps us to maintain our property better.

Thanks to your feedback the machine we were using for credit card has been replaced, now all major credit cards accepted.

To maintain food quality we have started getting raw materials directly from branded companies which we were laking to get from local market. The main reason for not allowing outside food from local market, as they don't maintain proper hygiene. We get pest control done by professionals on regular basis which help us to maintain hygiene.

We are aware of the fact that we dont have sea facing rooms and we never misguide our customer for the same although from some rooms partial sea facing is there.

For service issue we are extremely sorry, we are improving it day by day and you can feel the change in your next visit. For any service related issue you can call us on +91-33-2237 2000 (Hunting Line) or email - info@yashodainternational.com. We will be happy to help you out.

For dusty bed covers we have changed our laundry man and shortly we are planing have our in house laundry.

Hope you will consider is in your next visit.

Your Sincerely,
For Yashoda Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolphin

Address: Barristor Colony, Old Digha, Digha 721428, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Digha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Digha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dolphin welcomes you for a comfortable and memorable experience at Digha. Standing proudly in a prime location at the heart of Digha, there is easy access to local attractions, transport and the beach!We offer hospitality and services to suit all needs, from globe trekking tourists and their families to business professionals. Hotel Dolphin is sure to offer you a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dolphin Digha, West Bengal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.