We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Sequester

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mukteshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Resort Sequester
Save
You added Resort Sequester to your Saves list
Peora | off Mukteshwar & Almora, Mukteshwar 201355, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mukteshwar
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place was slightly disappointing for me & my wife...We had gone there in April 2012...The place was just OK but think it was slightly overpriced for the location and food...not much to do the drive was just OK..when we reached the room was dirty and food was very basic...I felt those of you who wish to explore Mukteshwar can actually complete it from Kausani/Almora...Much better that way...Kausani has better views..All-in-all just OK...certainly no plans to go there again...

Room Tip: Dont waste time here...there are better places to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks to Abhijit, we had a smooth booking and a very lovely drive to Sequester. He guided me to take the most scenic, albeit a bit lengthy of a route. But totally worth it. Such well appointed rooms in Peora was never expected. I had gone with my friend, and upon entering the room - his wife had exclaimed - how could you find such a deal ? Climb the hill behind the cottage early before sunrise, and you could soak in the calm of the place along the shining sun. Bhaskar Ji would never let you feel away from home - he knows the folklore, and he knows how to cook. Conversations and good cups of tea with pakoras - befitting of a vacation. I had love to visit the place in winters - when the forest right in front is supposed to look at its best.

Room Tip: I'd say - take the ones on the top floor - good view. Even though there is hardly any habitation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

To start with the resort is located off the town of Mukteshwar and the last few KM of road is in pretty bad condition. Its a small resort with 4 apartments each with own Small kitchen, sitting area, and a bed room. Resort is surrounded by fruit gardens and hills. Since we went in August, most of the day it was raining and was covered with clouds and thus making it a amazing experience. Caretaker (Bhasker) is a nice chap and is very helpful. Since resort is located at a good distance from the town, i suggest you buy your daily needs (smoke, drink, snacks, emergency medicines etc) in advance. Dont plan a long holiday unless you want to be out of contact with rest of the world.

Room Tip: try for the rooms on the top floor; you will have wonderful view of the mountains from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Resort sequester is just that - totally sequestered from anything remotely touristy. It is located in Peora - which is a small village close to Mukteshwar. The place does not have any other resorts/hotels, and is off the main route for Mukteshwar, which means that the villagers are friendly and the roads are empty. We did not see more than 2 vehicles cross us in an hour-long walk on the main road.

It is an idyllic location - for walking and talking and looking at the snow-capped peaks of Nanda Devi and Trishul (if the clouds take a liking to you and give way). Can you believe it - we had tea in a teashop right in front of the resort, where the owner had nests inside the shop with birds flitting in and out all day. It was almost as surreal as the cliffs.

On practical matters - it is a very small resort, with 4 studio apartments - the apartments have a big room with huge glass windows on all sides, a kitchen equipped with microwave, a dining table and a sleeping area with a king-size bed.There is a geyser in all rooms, so there is hot water aplenty. There is no restaurant/menu, the friendly caretaker provides all food and endless cups of tea in the room. The glass windows make you feel as if you are sleeping next to the mountains.

There is a flight of wrought-iron stairs leading to the rooms - making you feel that you are climbing a machaan. And there are multitudes of balconies where even the non-acrophobics feel vertigo kicking in. In short, the place is awesome.

Child-friendliness: On first look, it doesnt look like the right sort of place for young kids. However, we travelled with our very active 1 yr old daughter, and there were no major kid-related problems that we faced. Of course we had to carry her on the stairs and make sure that the room doors were closed at all times. The cook was very helpful and made custom food for our toddler.

For the shopping-enthusiast: Of course you wont stay in Peora if you are looking for the mall. However, for the nature enthusiast with a wee-bit shopper's germ inside, there is a nice outlet of Kilmora (www.kilmora.in) a 10-minute drive away, where you can get awesome dry basil leaves, and there is another shop at the Apricot farm within walking distance of the resort. Both shops have apricot oil and other stuff which is specialty of this region.

Disclaimer: Of course this is not the place for those looking for 5-star amenities. You wont get a 10-page menu, or a bar, or a swimming pool. But what you get can not be bought with mere money.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a better view, though that means 2 flights of stairs rather than 1 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

As has been mentioned in other reviews, these are just 4 rooms located in Peora village, about 18 kms(45 mins) away from Mukteshwar!!! Its a peaceful place with the rooms on 2nd floor affording you a view of snow clad peaks on a clear day!!!
The rooms are quite good in size with a double bed, sofa set and a dining table as furniture. The bathroom is fitted with a bath tub and is again good in size. A kitchen is also there with a microwave oven and a refrigerator to help you!!! The staircase is spiral and a bit tricky to manage if you are sleepy/high!!!
However, the best part about this place is the service. There are only two guys to take care of us, but they do it perfectly. They are pretty obliging and always willing to provide you with all the help that they can. There aren't really many options in food, but the few options that are there are made quite deliciously!!!
The road from Mukteshwar to Peora is not all that good but it compensates for that by being pretty scenic!!!

Room Tip: If available, choose rooms on the second floor(preferably Trishul) for best views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It's not a resort. These are four rooms (2 on each floor) accessed through a spiral stair case. Its bare bones yet very very charming. So is the location. Untouched. Great view, great smell of the flaura around. Best of all you get to enjoy great food that tastes just like home-cooked as per your specifications. With the great appetite that comes with the hill climate the cook and his lovely preparation is a boon.
+ Simple magical location, accommodation, food
+ Very close to nature, calm surrounds, a village around with hardly anyone passing by.
+ Great spacious rooms made entirely in wood - very earthy, very comfy.
+ If you are looking for a peaceful, no-running-around vacation this could be for you.

- Don't go there thinking this is a resort
- Very very far (from Delhi at least) - Took us 14 hours each way (although we were unlucky enough to find lots of traffic jams)
- Bad roads - Close to the hotel the roads are broken and really curvy. If you get nausea beware!
- NOT AT ALL CHILD FRIENDLY: The room are at +1 and +2 level accessed through a very basic spiral staircase with hardly any protection. Even an adult would be at the risk of falling leave alone children. Staying with our 4 year old our hearts were in our mouths throughout the stay.

+/- Its not in Mukteshwar. Its in Peora village which is a good 45 mins away (given the bad roads)

However on your way from the Peora to Mukteshwar their is an 8 km stretch running through a protected forest. This is almost like a jungle safari. If you take your time and are lucky enough you may spot a leopard, bear or something ...

Room Tip: There are just 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The location is just great. The place is quiet ....very quiet unlike crowded locations such as Ramgarh or Mukteshwar and yet you get a great views of the slowclad peaks (only if you are lucky enough). The rooms are almost like service apartments. The services are good. The cook is just great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Sequester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Sequester

Address: Peora | off Mukteshwar & Almora, Mukteshwar 201355, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mukteshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Himalayan mountain home is designed as a true family accommodation for people prefers to stay with nature and enjoy a perfect family vacation for leisure. You get a direct view of Himalayan ranges on a clear day. We offer simple and healthy Indian cuisines from our kitchen on order or as part of the package. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Sequester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.