We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STATUTORY WARNING! - Sonapani is extremely hazardous to your city life :D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonapani Himalayan Village Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sonapani Himalayan Village Accommodation to your Saves list
Sonapani Himalayan Village Accommodation
Sonapani Estate Village Satoli, Mukteshwar 263139, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mukteshwar
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“STATUTORY WARNING! - Sonapani is extremely hazardous to your city life :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been searching..for a lot of things..a long time. Being an avid traveler there aren't many areas that I've not yet explored. More than that, I'm a traveler who picks out nuances. I don't crib but I hold a strong opinion if things aren't right. I wondered if there was anything I could fault this place with & can only think of one, being too good to be true. I knew of Sonapani & wanted to be here for a long time. Now that I'm back, I feel like a 10 yr old who wants to hide his best toy so others don't ruin it. I'm trying to be selfless & rational when I say, you're missing a lot if you haven't been here. I wont go on n on about it. All the good bits that the 30 odd reviewers have said before me are true. Period :D

Staff, food, bird-life, flora/fauna, views, environment, planning, comfort, approach, safety, guest engagement and anything else that you can think of are all taken care of nicely. Most importantly, this place is still serene & not run over by big money city people wanting to buy summer abodes! I would fly over bhowali / bhimtal if i could to save me the agony of man, brick & mortar causing ruin to the ecology. Sonapani refreshes the senses. The serenity & quiet will do a super job of restoring you to normalcy.

Even for people who need the sort of hotels which have TV's, intercoms, lifts, chole bhature for breakfast, a 6 course lunch etc., those lot should also visit here to see the unspoiled way of how life is supposed to be, clean & calm.

The walks around the estate are fabulous. You will hear n read a lot about fruits so I wont talk more :-)

Go yourself, tell your friends about it, you will win pat on the backs for the suggestion. I've vowed to myself to spend atleast a week every year here. Carry your books & music with you & leave the rest to nature.

BTW - This area is totally undisturbed by the recent events on the other side of the state. Dont think twice before planning your trip. Best is to take the Shatabdi till Kathgodam & taxi further on which can

Room Tip: Take any. It doesnt get any simpler than here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NOIDA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been going to Sonapani every year, atleast for a few days, for the past 3 years. Ashish and Deepa, the couple who run Sonapani have become dear friends. Sonapani is a lovely place to visit, away from the crowds. Peppered with fruit trees, you may get to pick Apricots off the trees in summer, or catch the beautiful blooms in the Spring. Do not go expecting a regular hotel with a TV and Swimming pool. Sonapani is the place to go if you want a break from the frenetic pace of city life and want to recharge your energies. The food is delicious and their breads are amazing. Ashish and Deepa have been very involved in the local community. Do have a chat with them about that if you are so inclined. I'm there every year atleast once, who knows we may bump into each other there? That is the magic of Sonapani.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The Himalayan Village at Sonapani is unlike any other hill station that you may have visited. The owner has done a great job of selecting a location which is untouched by commercial activities. You will not find any hotels or honking cars with blaring music anywhere around. All that you can hear is chirping of birds and great views of the himalayas sitting in your cottage balcony.
What is even better is that you don't get the feel of a hotel stay at all. The promoter Ashish goes out of the way to make you feel at home. The food that the guests are served is home cooked food and hygienic. Another creditworthy fact about Ashish is that he is doing a great job of generating employment opportunities for the locals in the region.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Sonapani and am planning to go there again sometime in October. The recent calamity in Uttarakhand has affected the hospitality business in the region and Sonapani is no exception. In fact we visited the place at a time when the floods at Uttarakhand played havoc with lives of many. However Sonapani being in the Kumaon region was not at all affected.
So if you are still planning to go for weekend outing go ahead and plan your trip with out any reservation. The best way of reaching this place from Delhi is to take the Shatabdi train to Kathgodam. The remaining 69 km can be covered by car. In fact you can ask them to book a car in advance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

June 2013, currently here at Himalayan Village, sonapani. Monsoon fury at its prime, non-stop rains here for the past 3 days. Getting here in the rains can be an adventure. The hosts are a nice couple who have put in a lot of years and hard work to set-up this awesome property. Its plush green all around; not the usual pines but the ethnic trees, fruit orchards. Food is simple and nice, electricity is erratic -- serenity, peace of mind is abundant, the sleep is wonderful. I did not come across any another property when i searched 'sonapani'. Though there are some other small properties in the region, i doubt if they can match himalayan village. More later ..

Room Tip: Cottage where the view is not obstructed by the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ashish and Deepa have created this with passion and you can see that in the property. It is like staying with a friend who serves delicious food. The property is very remote even from Kathgodam. There is a basic road that goes there. It is a single lane road for the last 2KM. The property is on a slope so, if you have it at the bottom then there is a quite a trek to get to the top

The area is hilly so for walks be prepared to go up and down.

This is a good place to spend a few days is you want to be in the mountains and don't want to be camping.

The staff is wonderful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the top, there is a quite a trek to the main dinning hall from the bottom roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are usually travelers who like a hectic holiday, making sure all the attractions are visited in a place.But the stay at Sonapani was like a holiday within a holiday.This place was blessed by mother nature, wherever you look there was just fresh greenery and unpolluted air.The cottages were well maintained and provided. You can complete a years pending sleep within a day here. The pin drop silence is a boon to this area. Food was awesome.Dishes were included from the local cuisine.We do not have enough words to describe about Ashish, Deepa and the remaining staff. They were really loving and hospitable. Its worth a second visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just back from a trip to Sona Pani with family and friends. WOW . The property has 12 cottages. Done up simply in Kumaoni rustic style. Rooms are large. There is a spacious cupboard and a dressing table. There is even a battery operated lamp in case of power outage. A sit out in front of each cottage where you can look out into the trees valleys and mountains far away..sip coffee if you must and do nothing else. No TV yes net connectivity is there. Bathroom is simple with hot and cold running water but no shower. If you want those kind of 5* luxuries you are better off else where. Ashish the owner lives on the premises with his family. Interacts with guests and they eat the same food as the guests. Plenty of fruit trees Apricots peaches plums and pears. Just pick them off tress and eat. How fresh is that.
The only negative if at all is the distance from Kathgodam. and the drive to the property from the main road is nothing short of Roller coaster. First time is a bit scary and gets easier . We trekked to a nearby village and literally walked for our lunch..and no we did not sing for supper. The kumaoni meal was delicious and we had worked up a good appetite.. in the 45 min trek and the whole experience was great.
Ashish does not take walk-ins so book ahead. You will keep coming back.I am already planning it in October. I shall post plenty of photos soon

Room Tip: If you are a couple and want seclusion ask for the room right on the edge overlooking the valley ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonapani Himalayan Village Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonapani Himalayan Village Accommodation

Address: Sonapani Estate Village Satoli, Mukteshwar 263139, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mukteshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Sonapani Himalayan Village Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonapani Himalayan Village Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.