We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse on the Ganges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Glasshouse on the Ganges to your Saves list
The Glasshouse on the Ganges
23rd Milestone Rishikesh-Badrinath Road | Village & P.O. Gular-Dogi, Garhwal 249303, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Garhwal
Hereford
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The setting is lovely, on the Ganges above Rishikesh, and approached by a narrow, winding, mountainous road. We stayed in the "tents" by the river, which are due to be replaced but were still quite an experience, they have huge beds, seating in and outside, wardrobes, air conditioning and heating, plus a bathroom, so they are well-equipped. The hotel was very quiet, probably being so near Christmas, so the atmosphere was rather
lacking, and we have eaten better at other Neemrana Hotels, but still enjoyed it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we receive your positive feedback about The Glasshouse on the Ganges hotel above Rishikesh.

It is heartening to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the tents. With reference to your feedback about the cuisine, do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

Do venture out to any of the 29 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
70
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Its an absolute bliss in front of Ganges with spacious rooms and great service. It has private access to the holy Ganges for anyone to take a dip or spend hours enjoying the scenic beauty of Himalayas.

The food, service & hospitality is amazing and staff is geared towards taking care of the smallest of ones requirements.

A great place to spend few days in vicinity of Rishikesh.

Room Tip: If travelling with family - select the rooms in the building adjoining to the main hotel building an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges hotel above Rishikesh.

It is heartening to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the property. Your appreciation about the warm service has been conveyed to the team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent 2 days in this hotel which is nothing but a stay in nature. A nice property just on the blue river Ganges with breathtaking view of green mountains and silvery river beaches. Hotel is well maintained and staffs were courteous and helpful. Food was served as buffet with both vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes available. Have a small private river beach and long rocky pathway following the river. So many type of birds one can see! All rooms are river facing with some tenting facilities also.Lot of privacy and well designed lighting arrangements made the evenings mystic and charming. We stayed in north most room called Uttara which has a sitting place just outside the room facing the river and the green. One can enjoy the nature through big glass windows in complete privacy even taking a refreshing bath in the tub. Watching the setting sun when the river changed it's colour to reddish blue could be a bonus for lucky few. Hotel also facilitates river rafting during winter.I also enjoyed playing a few games of table tenis with my son. Overall it was a great experience and I look forward to visit the hotel again. A holiday one could never forget. Thanks Glasshouse for providing the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges hotel above Rishikesh.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Uttara room and thoroughly enjoyed the views and the birdlife.

Your appreciation about the maintenance and the warm service has been conveyed to the Manager and the service team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love ! We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable holidays.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been to the Glass house many times and the property is very pretty. The rooms have been recently done up. The food is good and the staff is extremely helpful.

This time though we decided to stay in a tent as the property was full and that wasn't a very good experience. Lots of big spiders on the tent wall, cat strayed into the tent in the the middle of the night and knocked off our toothbrushes into the dustbin! It was scary to be woken from your sleep with a crashing sound and you see the outline of a creature moving away. It was only in the morning that we got to know that it was a cat. So the last night the hotel staff kindly shifted us into a room that got vacant which was really nice. I also feel like the tents look dirty from out side.But again, this doesn't take away from the fact the the property, food, staff all are great and this is my favorite weekend getaway from Delhi!

There is lots to do in terms of rafting and walking around and of course chilling in the rooms themselves...

The nicest thing about this property --the sound of the ganges flowing by....

Room Tip: Call up the Delhi office once before you book online...ask for rooms facing the river as they are de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges hotel above Rishikesh.

Your appreciation about the cuisine and the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the Chef and the service team.

The Hoogly and Tamsa tents are recommended for initiated travellers who value being really close to the Ganges. Nevertheless please be assured that your concerns have been addressed and the necessary corrective action has already been taken.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable weekend getaways !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent two nights at The Glass House not long after the horrible floods caused so much destruction. We were supposed to stay in the two tents right at the edge of the Ganga, but they had been completely flooded and were unusable. The management upgraded us to huge beautiful rooms in what I believe is called Cottage 2. The rooms were more like suites with a lovely sitting area and comfortable bed.

We were told about the garden being destroyed, but while there were sections which had nothing, much of it was still lovely, and it looked like they were already working very hard to replant. We saw some beautiful birds, including one nesting, and spent a very relaxing time there. We had three boys with us, ages 8, 9, and 10, and while they might have preferred a place with a bit more "action," there were games to play, a ping pong table, and books. Another time of year this is a great place to jump off for river rafting, but in monsoon season, especially this year, it was the perfect place to remove yourself from the heat and noise of the city.

All of the meals were included, and the food was plentiful and delicious.

Room Tip: Once the tents are rebuilt, I think it would be lovely to stay there-We took a look inside, and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay in Cottage 2 and thoroughly enjoyed the greenery and the birdlife as well.

Your appreciation about the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

The tents have been reinstated and are ready to welcome you whenever you choose to visit next !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is out of the world. I stayed here for 2 nights but I wish I could stay for atleast one week. This place is very relaxing as it is away from hustle bustle of the city life. Quiet place but with delicious food options. The fruit garden was also attraction for my kids. The holy river Ganges flows by the side of the hotel which adds to the attraction and beauty to it. My first choice to stay in Rishkesh !!!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a swimming pool and TVs in the rooms so be prepared else everything is excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges.

We are delighted to read about your experience at the property. Your appreciation about the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

It is heartening to learn that your family thoroughly enjoyed the fruit orchards as well as the proximity to the river Ganges.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon for many more memorable getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is a great hideaway in Rishikesh. The moment you step in the property, the serenity of this area takes over you. Rooms are spacious and decorated tastefully. The best room to stay would be the tents near the bank. These air conditioned tents are comfortable and have attached bathrooms.
Chef prepared amazing food and was very courteous. We loved the hot Balushahi and home made ice-creams severed for desserts.

However there was something very disturbing about the hotel. They are constructing new rooms in the hotel. During my stay I noticed that all the debris and construction waste were being dumped near the banks of Ganga. When I asked one of the construction worker, she told she is just following orders to throw debris there only. This killed our entire experience , as I felt guilty in staying a place which was so disrespectful to nature and Ganga. With the current flow of Ganga these debris were being washed away daily.I did not expect this from a hotel who runs only because of this magnificent river. They should be more careful with their waste and should ensure that it is recycled/ disposed off properly.
I would be really happy if the management would look into this matter soon.

Room Tip: Chose the AC tents or rooms on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property. Your appreciation about the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We have noted your concern regarding the construction and have conveyed the same to the person in-charge.
Further, in the hills there is no system of disposing Melba, as they do not need to fill up places. Even when they widen the road all that falls down the hillsides and also in landslides, the debris does fall within the river and it settles the materials by either sending them to its banks or washing it away. These are not pollutants for the river.
However, if you could suggest an alternative, we shall be delighted to apply the same. Recently, in the Uttarakhand disaster entire homes, temples ,etc. were washed by the river and there is no trace of them.

Please note that the necessary instructions have been given to the construction team so that this is managed better in the future.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse on the Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse on the Ganges

Address: 23rd Milestone Rishikesh-Badrinath Road | Village & P.O. Gular-Dogi, Garhwal 249303, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Garhwal
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Garhwal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glasshouse on the Ganges honours an extraordinary geographical site where the Ganga turns around and flows north towards its source. It is a magical natural spot. Set in a lychee and mango orchard of the Maharajas of Tehri Garhwal, with a garden of tropical plants, full of rare birds and butterflies, it has a sand beach of its own. After the maddening hustle of the crowds which throng the daily dip or the Kumbh Mela, there is no better haven of calm anywhere in the vicinity of Rishikesh. It is known for its serene and spiritual atmosphere. You can easily commute between the Glasshouse and the crowded pilgrimage spots without feeling the strain of its fascinating but continuous oppression of numbers – the calmest bank to watch the Kumbh! You can enjoy an evening Arti at the Parmarth Niketan Ashram. You could also visit the Ram Jhula and the Lakshman Jhula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Glasshouse on the Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasshouse On The Ganges Hotel Rishikesh
Glasshouse On The Ganges Rishikesh
The Glasshouse On The Ganges India/Garhwal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse on the Ganges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.