We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sound of the river” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse on the Ganges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Glasshouse on the Ganges to your Saves list
The Glasshouse on the Ganges
23rd Milestone Rishikesh-Badrinath Road | Village & P.O. Gular-Dogi, Garhwal 249303, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Garhwal
Bombay India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The sound of the river”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

One look at the location after arriving at the Glasshouse after a long journey all tiredness is forgotten, the sound of the river is invigorating. Not a 'heritage' property like most other Neemrana properties, the beautifully appointed rooms make up for the rather lacklustre building design and the inquisitive monkeys. The shower though is not great, the pressure weak and hot water runs out quickly. Also the view of the river is blocked by trees which is frustrating as one is so close to the river. The food was disappointing, heavy masala laden dishes, the fresh goat's cheese and desserts were savers. And the hotel really needs to invest in a good coffee machine, the coffee, for coffee addicts was really undrinkable. The teas though were good, a variety offered. Take a book and sit out by the river - the sound and immediacy of the river is unbeatable, you can wade into the Ganges here.This is really what makes the Glasshouse special - it's location. We booked a car to Ananda and had a leisurely lunch, white water rafting was arranged, too, for the next day. Suggestions: if the hotel could start a simple boat service to get you across the river, it would save an hour's walk on a busy road to the bridge to get to the other side where there's a lovely walking trail. Also, there were no massage facilities available which is a bit of a problem as there is no other facility nearby so one gets stuck having to forego one.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Alaknanda, a beautiful room that will sleep three comfortably without having to ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges hotel near Rishikesh.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Alaknanda room.

For guests that value being really close to the Ganges, we strongly recommend booking the Hoogly or Tamsa tents which are pitched just above the bank. The tents are highly recommended for initiated travellers seeking experience over just luxury and offer the most intimate view of the river and the sky touching the mountains !

We are disappointed to receive your feedback about the food. Your feedback has been communicated to the Chef and he will be delighted to incorporate any special requests whenever you choose to stay with us next. We hope that you will give our Chef an opportunity to try and please you during your next visit.

We are surprised to read your feedback about the massage facility as this is a part of the services offered by Neemrana at The Glasshouse on the Ganges. Please contact the reception to avail the intimate, in-room massage service during your next visit.

Please be assured that all your observations have been noted and the necessary steps to improve upon the same shall be taken at the earliest. It is our endeavour to improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us to do so.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
70
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

One of the worst ever experiences ever in this "non-hotel" hotel as they claim. We were there during the last week of March, 2013, one stay en route upper Himalayas, and the other upon return. On the first occasion, the room cost approx. Rs. 8000 and the other time approx. Rs. 10,000. Both rooms were run down, especially the second stay room where the a/c was literally growling the whole night, there was no closet to keep bags and clothes, the plaster on the ceiling had cracked open, the room was filled with flies and the staff had to literally chase them away, and to top all the toilet faced the car park. Who said anything about privacy in a star rated property? The manager of the hotel when asked for other options blankly stated that the only other available stay would be in the construction site. What cheek to offer a stay after having prepaid the room rent in full in advance and charging 5 star prices for a decrepit room! Keep away from this property if you can, for neither location nor staff behavior nor room facilities or conditions are conducive enough to stay that far away from the city proper at the rates charged. My worst experience ever.

Room Tip: None, stay away if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Glasshouse on the Ganges.

We are sorry to learn that your stay did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

With reference to your feedback about the Indus and Rishi Ganga rooms, please note that although the rooms are serviced daily unfortunately there is an increase in the insects due to humidity in this season, despite regular pest control. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused and recommend to our guests that they keep the windows closed at all times. We shall also add gauge doors at the earliest to remedy the problem.

Please be assured that all your observations have conveyed to the Manager and housekeeping team. The necessary action has already been taken and we shall ensure better maintenance going forth.

We have investigated your feedback about the interaction with the Manager. There seems to be a misunderstanding as the Manager was referring to the newly upgraded rooms in Cottage III and IV which we would have upgraded you to on a complimentary basis. Since there is ongoing work in the area adjacent to these rooms, we always communicate the same to all our guests in advance. Nevertheless please accept our sincere apologies for the gap in communication. The Manager has been given the necessary support to ensure that such feedback does not recur in the future.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your previous experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The property is very uniquely located. We stayed in the rooms and the tents for a couple of nights each. Our two rooms (which were priced at five star rates of Rs 11,500 each) were charming but overpriced. The bathroom in the Kaveri room reeked of sewage. Our other room was just fine. Our experience with the tents was fabulous. The tents are very comfortable and are located right next to the river. In our opinion, the tents are the best option for staying. Food is just average. Service is solicitous.

Room Tip: The tents are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Glasshouse on the Ganges.

Your compliments about the caring hospitality have been conveyed to the team at the property and we are pleased to learn that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay in the tents which are pitched just above the bank of the Ganges.

Your feedback about the Kaveri bathroom has been conveyed to the maintenance department and they have taken the necessary measures to ensure that this does not recur in the future.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your visit and do hope that you will continue to patronise The Glasshouse on the Ganges as well as the 27 other properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went here in January & further north into the Himalayas, the hotel is 20+km from actual rishikesh city -but this doesn't bother me, because i was not staying here to experience rishikesh, it was more about a unique location, truly one of a kind & ease of access back to main road to continue further into the himalayas / or a great place to stay if your going to be in area & want the hotel as a base.
I say the room is a 3 star because it is -i had one of the general rooms right on the river, with chairs outside room facing river. Nothing special about the room, a bed, normal linens, can be very cold so ask for heaters & bathroom very big but not the greatest shower & hot water runs out quick. i was not too concerned with the room as i was pleased with my overall experience.
The hotel grounds are amazing, they have created an amazing environment with lush plants everywhere, peaceful walkways & nice outdoor seating. There are reviews complaining about not having a "night scene" or "nothing to do" at night -these people can not embrace & be one with nature, because the best thing about this hotel is not having "that scene" anywhere around you. Calm, serenity, peace of mind & rest -these are the reasons one should stay here.
Ok, the food at the hotel: Holy Crap -the food at the hotel is amazing. The chef is one of a kind, their lunch dish selections are phenomenal & dinner menu or buffet is top notch -the food may be possibly greatest food from any indian hotel in india. Its solid "home made" type food -and it will appease any taste pallet.
Service at the hotel is enough, they will advise you best they can & get whatever you want done. We went rafting, someone picked us up from the hotel, the hotel set it up it was solid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Glasshouse on the Ganges hotel near Rishikesh.

It is rewarding to learn that you were able to unwind and enjoy the serenity of the property. This is exactly what we strive to achieve.

We have conveyed your generous compliments about the cuisine to the Chef and his team. Your appreciation about the warm and hospitable service has been conveyed to the Manager and the entire team.

With respect to your feedback about the rooms, please do note that The Glasshouse has a range of accommodation options from INR 5000 to INR 15000. The room size, decor, and amenities are in accordance with the price. Do inform our Sales team about your requirements and they shall gladly assist you in finding a suitable room whenever you stay with us next.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we have two little babies 3+ n 1+ n we went on 14th feb 2013 for 2 nights n 3 days stay chose kaveri cottage...the cottage was very big...bathroom was nice very big again..staff was very cooperative specially..as we have two children...for babies food n milk...they all ready all the time..all in all i like to go this place again..

Room Tip: as a couple u can choose tents... these people dont provide much room serive but we got this facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges resort near Rishikesh.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Kaveri room in Cottage II.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the team at The Glasshouse.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although it was quite well appointed (improved from previous reviews, I think), it just lacked atmosphere. To be fair, this wasn’t really the hotel’s fault but we were the only guests that night and the service seemed a little ‘over attentive’ while the waiter stood by our table for dinner and at breakfast. The food was excellent, but this is a ‘dry’ hotel.

Our room and bathroom were large and initially quite cold although three heaters were provided, so temperature wasn’t a big problem. The Glass House does boast a wonderful location with fabulous views and walks along the banks of the Ganges and I imagine that a stay later in the year with more guests would be a much more cheerful experience.

The problem is, that after dark, there’s nothing to do, obviously, there’s no bar, dry or otherwise and so no focal point for people to gather, meet and chat in (this was less of an issue for us the only guests). Another thing that was a bit strange was the fact that the main lounge area has its roof and upper surfaces finished in bare concrete, which didn’t go with the standard of furniture or views – not terrible, just a bit odd looking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges resort near Rishikesh.

Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We recommend visiting the property between March and October as that is when the property is in full swing.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is now my official favorite getaway from New Delhi. Just a 5 hours drive, nestled in Shivpuri on the white sand beach of Ganges. It is perfect and must place to visit. of all the 5 properties of Neemrana I have stayed in all over India, this I think is the best.
Stay in the luxury tent, they are the best.
Clean and cosy rooms.Well done up.
It is a quiet place.
Lovely for time on your own.
Meals are part of the buffet. Though too many items, nice but little way too oily. One thing they need to do is reduce the number of items and improving the taste a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Glasshouse on the Ganges, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Glasshouse on the Ganges hotel near Rishikesh.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the tent which is pitched just above the bank from where you can enjoy the breathtaking view of the holy river below and the Himalayan foothills above.

We have noted your suggestions about the food and have conveyed the same to the Chef and his team.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse on the Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse on the Ganges

Address: 23rd Milestone Rishikesh-Badrinath Road | Village & P.O. Gular-Dogi, Garhwal 249303, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Garhwal
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Garhwal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glasshouse on the Ganges honours an extraordinary geographical site where the Ganga turns around and flows north towards its source. It is a magical natural spot. Set in a lychee and mango orchard of the Maharajas of Tehri Garhwal, with a garden of tropical plants, full of rare birds and butterflies, it has a sand beach of its own. After the maddening hustle of the crowds which throng the daily dip or the Kumbh Mela, there is no better haven of calm anywhere in the vicinity of Rishikesh. It is known for its serene and spiritual atmosphere. You can easily commute between the Glasshouse and the crowded pilgrimage spots without feeling the strain of its fascinating but continuous oppression of numbers – the calmest bank to watch the Kumbh! You can enjoy an evening Arti at the Parmarth Niketan Ashram. You could also visit the Ram Jhula and the Lakshman Jhula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Glasshouse on the Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasshouse On The Ganges Hotel Rishikesh
Glasshouse On The Ganges Rishikesh
The Glasshouse On The Ganges India/Garhwal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse on the Ganges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.