We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in nature's lap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terraces

Save Saved
You added The Terraces to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Terraces
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kanatal, Chamba Mussorrie Highway | Tehri Garhwal, Garhwal 249145, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Garhwal
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
“Comfort in nature's lap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place has the most breath taking views of the Highest mountains. Snow clad peaks are always visible from each and every room in this resort.
The house keeping and gardening people have done a great job to keep this property spic and span at all times.
The Food is great to say the least. The service is friendly and discreet. Would keep on coming here again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms inn cottage number Five. they are closest to a well stocked bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Terraces at Kanatal is a very nice place to stay. It has nice views of the Himalayas. The resort is nicely sized and has almost all essential facilities. Rooms are clean and good sized. Staff could be tad better though.
Couple of tips:
1. Don't take the Jungle safari, do go for a picnic though
2. Wifi coverage is not much, mainly in the reception area.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the lobby level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We unfortunately didn't happen to stay here, but we were lucky enough to stop by for lunch and coffee.. stunning views of Himalayas while you are enjoying your delicious meal in a perfectly manicured garden.. what a prefect setting.. great service and worth the price you pay for..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In my last review i had given the title as Home Away from Home, so this time it is New Year Celebrations at our home. We were at the Terraces for the 6th year to celebrate new years eve with Ravi, Yeti, deep and the amazing cook Mahatam Ji, and the team of Terraces from 28th to the 1st of January 13. As always the food was amazing and the hospitality wonderful, the Chicken Fish and Mutton is delivered from Delhi and is fresh. Over the years the celebrations have improved although they were perfect even in 2006 also :). Watched the India Pak T20 live on the big projector screen with rum and coke. Although the schedule did not have any event marked for the 29th we were in for a surprise when Ravi announced in the evening that there will be a Sufi Quwalli night and what a night it was. the music ended at 2.0 am in the morning and was followed by hot and fresh dinner. all the three nights the dinner was never before 2.0 am and it was always hot and fresh. the second night was Jungle theme which needs to be seen to believe followed by Mexican Night. the effort put in by everyone to put up the interiors for the theme and then to change it for the next theme even though it is 2.0 am before the party winds up is out of this world. Just go there once and i can guarantee, you will go again and again. Hats off to the entire team at The Terraces. Hope you never learn to say NO to anything and always remain the same. Bravo Keep it up and see you soon in 2013 :)

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you are fit the higher the better view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is all about passion. When I asked Yatendra (Yati) why they are not thinking to put up more rooms in the space they have, I got a spontaneous reply that he was more concerned about continuing the same level of service or even raising their current bar than to make more money. All of their staff utilizes local people. And believe me, they are well trained share the same passion as that of Yati's, constantly trying to make your stay memorable.

As said by a lot of reviewers, we too got a warm welcome, a comfortable accommodation with an excellent view, nice service throughout our 2N stay, delicious food and timeless memories. I won't repeat the same stories of this great resort. Instead, let's look at some other experiences.

Our 2.5 year old daughter made a very good friend with Yati even before checking in when she was greeted by crayons and drawing sheets. First words at reception were..'this is not a time bound hotel.. feel at home..relax.. wish you a great holiday'..

The whole team works together to make sure everything you get is actually value for each rupee you paid for this high-end resort. I woke up and walked around a resort from 5.30 am in morning one day to believe this. In chilly morning too, there was a person going on terraces of each room to check whether gas cylinders for gas geysers were up and running fine. Resort lawns, restaurant, reception area were being cleaned to perfection early morning.

We also enjoyed live music during our stay and tried our skills too at singing. The resort staff has got a couple of artists who can sing and play guitar too.

I want to express my thanks to the whole staff for making wonderful memories for our family. Carry on with the same passion guys. We will be sending more people there. Would surely visit again.

Room Tip: If you are with kids or senior citizens, choose a room on lower floors. Suite is the best if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We got married on Oct-27-2012 and were booked for a 10 day trip to Bhutan which could not materialize due to lack of leave by virtue of my profession as a doctor. We then booked "The Terraces" for a 04 days 03 nights package and we have NO REGRETS for not being able to go to Bhutan.

We were overwhelmed by the extremely courteous and helpful staff. A special mention to Mr. VISHWARKARMA, Mr. MAHIPAL and Mr. KUNWAR CHAUHAN. The room was absolutely comfortable with the room service being awesome.

The gardens and its beautiful flowers deserve a lion’s share of credit for their awesomeness. The beauty of the resort is a result of the hardwork of Mr. Rajbaksha, Mr. Mohan Lal & Mr Rana who are always seen in the lawns working towards the beauty of their creation.
Meticulous maintenance and wonderful flowers make The Terraces, a paradise amidst the hills.

We would like to thank Mr. Rana for an amazing trek to his house in his village and his daughter for a hospitable cup of Garhwali tea. Mr. Mohan Lal made our day by presenting my wife a lovely bouquet on her birthday. The fact that it was made in-house using the flowers from the lawns really touched our hearts.

Mr. ARPAN SIMON & MR. VISHWAKARMA SHRIVASTAVA have contributed to the success of our trip, by their generous display of the "out of the world” talent they shared with us over dinner. Mr. ARPAN SIMON is probably one of the best Guitar talents we have come across. We thank them for making my wife’s birthday one of its kinds.
The Gazebo bonfire flocked by Mr. ARPAN SIMON & Mr. VISHWAKARMA’S Musical magic made us feel out of the world. The room was decorated in a lovely subtle way that made our hearts grow fonder of this place.

Another thing that we would like to mention is the amazing kitchen staff and the chefs who make superbly delicious food. We would feel guilty if we forget to thank Mr. SHER SINGH for the mouth watering dishes and the extremely marvelous birthday cake he had baked for my wife.
We even carried his donuts with us to Delhi. Food of all cuisines including the authentic Garhwali meal that we had asked for, were a pleasure to savor onto. We also appreciate the kitchen staff for their expertise in catering to all that we demanded.

All said & done, the administrative staff played a responsible role in making sure that we had a real good time at The Terraces. Mr. Yeti, a pleasant personality was a great friend to have been there whenever we needed his assistance. I look forward to keeping in touch with him and would be glad to visit this place many times again.

Let me thank Mr. KUNDAN BHANDARI for the delicious Garhwali meal, we had over a candle light dinner in the “Machan”.

Thank you Amrita for convincing us to visit this paradise in the hills.

Thank you for making my birthday an “UNFORGETTABLE ONE”. We had real good fun.

Thank You !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hi Friends,

We stayed at this hotel for 2 Nights after having been recommended by relatives in Delhi and had one our best short stays ever. I am loss of words in describing the beauty of this place. Out of all my reviews if there was one hotel to be given 6 star, this would be IT. The pros and cons below :

Pros
1) Dont believe people. Dont look at photos or videos. Experience it live to understand the beauty of mountains, forest and calmness. The resort has it all. Its unbelievable that a 5 star property was possible at a height of 8500+ feet.
2) The room layout was excellent. Very spacious. Lovely balcony to spend a lot of time. Top class room/toilet amenities.
3) Service staff treat you like family. They dont say "no" to anything. They are superbly trained and very "human".
4) The Food quality is out of the world. Just abt everything. Try the Chinese, Indian, the lovely desserts. The breakfast spead at such a height is amazing.
5) They have many things to keep you occupied. A spa, disc, bar, beautifully done up bon fire area and gardens, an indoor games room, kids play area and sit out safe. They also provide outdoor activities like jungle safaris, which is a must (Might not see much but just the exp.)
6) The view from the room is outstanding. Also pin drop silence thoughout the day.
7) The lively bon fire late in the evening with Arpaan and others singing old hindi/english songs was the perfect way to end the day

Cons
1) Its comes at a big price. You might not digest it initally cos such a price is paid for branded top grade city hotels. But do believe worth every penny

I must highlight the reception given by Mr.Yeti and his team. Provided us all the comfort. Made us feel like home and as Mr.yeti said this place is "timeless". It truly is.

Go explore it. You will not repent. Always good to visit a place that is unheard by many.

Thanks team Terraces. WIll be back soon.

Happy Travelling
Gautam

Tip of the review : Do the jungle picnic lunch if pocket allows

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view but 403 (i stayed here) and 404 are slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terraces

Address: Kanatal, Chamba Mussorrie Highway | Tehri Garhwal, Garhwal 249145, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Garhwal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Garhwal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terraces 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasure, we invite you to our little hamlet at Kanatal, known as The Terraces. The Property is perched at an altitude of 8500 ft, offering a spectacular view of the snow clad Garhwal Himalayas as from each one of the 20 well-appointed rooms and a luxury suite. It is a place surrounded by forests, chirping birds, unambiguous blues, friendly folks and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Terraces Hotel Garhwal
Terraces Hotel Uttarakhand
The Terraces India/Garhwal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.