We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottawadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had to pay for our stay at Sea breeze in advance, which seemed weird. They had the experience people wanted their money back, the receptionist told us. We soon understood why.
We travelled for 8 weeks in India before arriving in April 2013 in Mahabalipuram and this was one of the most expensive places. In spite of the promising loation, the rooms were not worth the 3500 INR we had to pay for them at the end of season. The (deluxe) rooms were ok, but simple, as was the whole layout of the hotel and premises. Everything looked a bit worn out. The 'garden view', meant we had a window at the backside which gave the smells and rumours of crows, kitchencarbage, if you opened it. The swimming pool was warm, crowded most of the time (also with clothes wearing people) and certainly not as bright as on the hotel pictures. We should have inspected the place before accepting to stay, but still, we felt a bit cheated when we left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    88
    66
    33
    27
See reviews for
64
91
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hi

The location is bad & it’s not worth to spend money/holiday over there. I have selected super deluxe room but the bed & bathroom was not clean. Before checking in please see the room then only stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Tamilnadu tour inInnova – 6 seater
I write here with my person view, please do not be bias with my opinion, our tour to Tamilnadu turned out completely different than our tour to karnataka.
We travelled from Mumbai to our tour of Tamilnadu. We had fixed a tour through SLS tours with whom our last experience to Karnataka was very good. This time also Mr. Madhu had been very nice in planning but in end he was out of programming and job was handled by other person, he talked very rough, we decided to go on our own in last moment, though we followed same tour as we had been discussing and finalized with Madhu, I still feel that SLS is very reasonable, co-operative and properly planned. We took a private operator Mr.Mohan,9444601159 he turned out to be very nice , he was with us for 3 days then his driver took over , driver was nice but could not speak or understand properly English or Hindi. In all it turned out ok we managed out . We recommend both Mr. Mohan if you are going on your own or SLS still.
Our last tour of Karnataka was heritage and knowledgeable for architect work , every where guide we hired were knowledgeable, every sight were properly explained and maintained. But in Tamilnadu we were disappointed, we did not get proper guide and explanation at any place except one or two. It turned out to be religious tour , temple tour only. Temples are big , some of them are worth seeing but there are no information except whatever we got on net. If you are going please plan such a way that most of temples are closed between 12 or 1 p.m. to 4 p.m..If you are not keen on worship and going in garphgruh to see lord you can see workmanship of temple easily. To go in if you are in off period people will say pay Rs. 50-300 to go in fast, but it does not make much difference, please check and decide. After paying such money in most of place line combines with free entry person inside garphgruh. Government of Tamilnadu should take out proper study and publish of all places in details accordingly. Every where you have to take out your shoes from far distance and walk on wet or rough road , which should be properly maintained. I would say that people we found every where were very honest and co-operative.We had booked all hotels from Mumbai on net , only Chennai and kanyakumari were paid advance other hotel kept our booking and confirmed a day before.Most of the hotels are 24 hour check in-check out.All hotels were bed and breakfast.
Avoid going on holiday or long weekend –heavy rush in temples.Check all holidays for palaces and adjust your tour.

Day 01 : Chennai On Arrival at Chennai we were welcomed by our car driver deluxe Innova and we went to hotel Accord Metropolitan **** ( Please book on net 4000 per room it will be cheaper than getting room after reaching there difference will be Rs.2000 per room).transfer to hotel afternoon move out for a full day local tour of Chennai. visit St George it is the first bastion of British Power in India it was built in 1640,Fort Museum, St Mary’s Church ,MGR memorial, Marina beach this sandy beach is considered to be the second longest beach in the world ,Parliament building, Parthasarthy temple ,San Thome Cathedral Basilica, Kapaliswarar temple evening return back to hotel and over night stay at hotel.
Day 02 : Chennai –Tirupathi (26.01.2013)
Morning drive to Tirupathi check in hotel Bliss *** very good hotel service, reception every thing was good (3000 per room) afternoon Tirupati darshan (Please start early 3-4 a.m. from Chennai to have darshan at Tirupati, avoid holiday we could not do it as it was 26th January),evening went to Padmavati temple and night stay at Tirupathi
Day 03 Kanchipuram – Mahabalipuram (27.01.2013)
Morning after breakfast at hotel drive to Vellore –Golden temple –1500 acre space made by shri shakti amma clean and worth visitng then to Kanchipuram .This place is know as the golden city of temples it was once the capital of pallavas from 6th to 8th Century .There are innumerable temples among which the Ekambareswar temple ,Kailasanath temple, Varadaraja temple deserves mention .The Ekambareswar temple is a 1000 pillared temple with 5 prakarams and another important notification is that more then 5000 families are engaged in silk industry .This place is known for silk sarees known as Kanchipuram sarees. Afternoon drive to Mahabalipuarm it is 45km away from Chennai on arrival check in Hotel sea breeze** beach resort(2500 per room). Location is very good , we chat till late night in cool breeze at their garden on shore , rooms were big but rooms and lobby were not clean ,food was good,reception not good.
Day 04 : Mahabaipuram - Pondicherry (28.01.2013)
Mahabalipuram is also called as Mamallapuram and it is a sea port built by Mahendra varman of pallava dynasty during 7th century .The monuments here are made out of solid rocks. The place offers tourist a superb of monuments and a fine beach resort. Morning move out for a local tour of Mahabalipuram the main attraction of Mahabalipuram is a open air rock sculpture known as “Arjuna’s Penance“. Mahishasura mardini Caves and Mandapams and few rocks cut temples ,butter ball,ganesh temple,seashore temple(architect work of roman,Egypt,dravid and north . Take guide for complete city tour. Afternoon reached Pondicheri Hotel annamalai *** (3500per room),immediately go for visit Auroville-banian tree and Maitrimandir –a golden ball then local tour of Pondicherry .Pondicherry is a costal town ruled by French for 300 years .This city is very much known to the public by its Aurobindo Ashram.Raj Nivas, Government palace ,Botanical garden ,The French institute,Library of museum etc evening visit pondicherry beach and over night stay at hotel.
Day 05 : Pondicherry –Chidambaram –kumbakoram- Tanjavur (29.01.2013)
Morning have breakfast at hotel later check out and drive to Tanjavur on the way visit natraj temple at Chidambaram, on way to kumbakoram visit shrikhandi,sarangpani temple very good,swamimalai temple on arrival Tanjavur check in hotel Gnanam ***(2500 per room).
Day 06 : Tanjavur – Tirchy (30.01.2013)
Tanjavur is also called as Tanjore it is a historical town and popularly known as the temple city .It was ones the capital of Chola Empire. Afternoon move out for a local tour visit Brihadeeshwara temple which is the main attraction of the town built by Raja Raja Cholan take proper guide ,Palace built by Nayakas. Art gallery ,Saraswati Mahal library ,etc On way to Trichi Srirangam the temple here is dedicated to lord Vishnu ,samayapuram temple and check in at hotel grand gardenia (3000per room).Evening went to Rock fort temple-ganesh- at height with 384 steps but easy to climb.. Overnight at hotel.



Day 07 : Tirchy – Madurai (31.01.2013)
Morning after breakfast at hotel drive to History rich Madurai .A great historic town.The Pandya king’s ruled from here until the 14th Century . . visit Madurai Meenakshi temple the most notable in the meenakshi temple is 1000 pillared. Hall carrying some beautiful sculptures of the seventeenth Century. On arrival Madurai check in hotel Royal court****(4500 per room not value for money) later proceed to visit, Swami sundareswarar temple, Gandhi museum, Evening is free to move around the color full town of Madurai.
Day 08 : Madurai – Rameshwaram – Tuticorion (01.02.2013)
Morning after breakfast at hotel proceed to Rameshwaram on arrival visit Sri Ramanatha swamy temple, Gandhamadhan Parvatam ,Dhanush kodi 12km ride in sand worth experience etc drive to Tuticorion check in hotel GRT Residency*** (2500 per room deserve ****please try their chain in south they claim it of same good quality)
Day 09 : Tuticorion - Kanyakumari (02.02.2013)
Morning drive to Kanyakumari on arrival check in hotel seaview ***(2500 per room very good sunrire from room) afternoon local tour of Kanyakumari visit Gandhi museum Vivekananda rock, Kumari amman temple ,sun set point and over night stay at hotel
Day 10 : Kanyakumari – Trivanduram (03.02.2013)
Morning after breakfast started for Trivanduram to return back home on way visited Padmanabhan palace worth going ,visited sachindram temple if time permits go to Padmanabham swami temple back mumbai

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went stayed in this hotel for 3 days in December 2012.
We choose deluxe room. The quality of rooms were average. Even though we pre-booked the room, We waited for around an hour for the rooms to be ready.

The best thing about it is it is in the heart of Mamallapuram just behind the sea shore. Shore temple was so nearby. We could see it from the hotel itself.

The cleanness and responsiveness of room service and other inhouse facilities were not up to the mark. Complimentary breakfast was kind of okay.

Consider this place for a short stay like for a day or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was our first time in Mamallapuram Tamilnadu location is so good a nice stroll along beach and and just outside hotel there is so much to see, the rooms are very clean and keeped well with the wonderful and freindly staff Matilda,Sheela and Nijay so nice people,good breakfast rooms cleaned everyday the only downfall was the amount of steps we had to clime to get to room and noisy at night with people coming and going the pool is good very warm water so much to see around the rocks and carvings ar something else never seen anything like it,i think the hotel is for short stay passing through at night nothing to do most places to eat shut at 10pm there are no bars there its a dry state so not even a beer with your meal,

Room Tip: if trouble walking insist on ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I went with my family yesterday and stayed here.Really i got good room.All the foods i ordered was good.breakfast they provided also very good.So i will prefer this hotel next time.Private access to beach.Swimming pool also very nice. I can see many foreigners staying and enjoying.Geart sea breeze keep up the same and improve some gym and childrens equipments..

Selva
TCS
Chennai

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I go to mahabalipuram often during weekends, and on one such short trip I chose to stay at Sea Breeze. The resort has a very good ambiance, and looks like it caters to the needs of overseas travelers, and the service suits to their etiquette, which I found very unique in this resort. The sheets very clean and the room smelt very good. Pool was very big, and I had a great time with my friends. The sea is very accessible, we took few nice pictures with the sea shore temple falling in the background. Overall great experience have visited twice since my first stay in Feb 2013. Keep the work up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Address: Ottawadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea Breeze

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.