We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottawadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the Suite and were four members. The room was spacious with two double beds in two rooms with a spacious balcony. The rooms were clean. The food was also tasty in the Restaurant and staff were friendly. Would recommend this hotel to business travellers and leisure travellers. They have a good swimming pool and also the hotel is adjoining the beach where one could go for morning or evening walks. Great location and lot of greenery in the hotel compound.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious and comfortable for a family of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    79
    58
    28
    20
See reviews for
56
80
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hi everyone.....a bit late in posting the review about our experience of Sea Breeze........we had been to this place in September 2012 actually. To begin with, we initially had no plans of staying here because we had already booked our stay in the very pathetic Blue Bay resort in Mahabalipuram (already reviewed).

So after that bad Blue Bay decision (completely our fault.....we did not read Tripadvisor members' review of Blue Bay resort) - we quickly wanted to salvage whatever remained of our short holiday, and zeroed in on Sea Breeze Hotel in Mahabalipuram, with the help of a local auto rickshaw driver.

Sea Breeze is a nice place - the rooms are spacious, be it deluxe, super-deluxe, or cottages. The place has a decent-sized clean swimming pool and nice lawns. It has the beach right behind it but during full moon or high tide, there is usually very little beach space to play around. It also feels a bit crowded, due to this beach area being used for boat parking.

The staff try their best to be helpful, but can improve their service and do better with properly understanding guest requirements or instructions. Food was okay - not bad, not too good either.

The nice thing about staying at Sea Breeze is that there are many shops all around - so if you are a bit bored or you want to do some window shopping, all you have to do is come out of the hotel and you have many shops selling paintings, wall hangings, curios and clothes. There are plenty of other eateries very close to this hotel that cater to all tastes and preferences, especially when it comes to varieties of sea food.

The Shore temple and the adjacent beach are pretty close and walkable distance from Sea Breeze. Sea Breeze has the advantage of being a beach hotel as well as the advantage of being well connected with the town.......everything you need is available nearby - be it different cuisines, medicines, personal care stuff, some of the sightseeing spots, bus station, auto stands, bakeries, curio shops, etc.

Overall, this is a nice place with some room for improvement when it comes to food and service. Our stay here was enjoyable - we only wish we had gone to Sea Breeze straight and not have had to suffer Blue Bay Mahabs at the start of our holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious - you may choose the cottages with lawns and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

resort is located in a great location to the main street and main town the pool and gardens were.also good. However while sleeping reveived alot of bites but beds bigs and pretty comfortable. Breakfast was terible with no service and a cheese omlet chucked om front of us

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A pleasant trip and stay to unwind with friends, rooms are good. Service is ok ok, your request seems to be fulfilled only when you press hard for want you require at staff.

Please be careful while up on restaurants the cutlery are not cleaned properly. Plates and coffee cup are not at all clean, definitely needs a replacement.

Lush garden, natural landscape even had a great time in swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berneuil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found the Sea Breeze to have a lot of charm. Nice garden room with a little patio to sit outside if you wish.
Not luxurious by any means but perfectly serviceable rooms, clean and comfortable.
Restaurant left a little to be desired, food good enough but not wonderful.
The waiter did underchange us but as it was only 5 rupee's we didn't say anything, not worth getting him into trouble perhaps. Still, if he took 5 rupees from everyones change it could mount up nicely lol. A bit of a problem with mosquitos but then it's the situation of the hotel I guess. They could however have provided mosquito repellents to plug in the rooms, luckily we carried our own. We did however have to spend quite a bit of time each night killing mossies before we could go to sleep. The vents in the bathroom were such that it was simply louvered glass so the mosquitos had free access which meant taking a shower was a bit of a nigtmare, fighting them off! Em, I'm now wondering if I should rate "very good" but overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The service is very slow, unprofessional and the food is bland. The hotel offers a fantastic view of the shore temple.Some of the staff members are helpful but the overall attitude is pretty bad. Some of the rooms are pretty old and has bad plumbing. Insist on seeing the room before paying advance. Do check availability of hot water. Of late, they have really tried to improve the place.Hotel Indeco charges almost the same price,but offers much more facilities and comfort. I used to frequent Hotel Sea Breeze, but now prefer Hotel Indeco. I find this place notoriously over-priced for an average Indian tourist.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Sea Breeze hotel is extremely well located. It occupies the best site in Mahabalipuram near the seashore temple with a direct access to the beach. The hotel space is wonderful, with trees and green. The is also a large swimming pool and a massage parlor.
All of this is fantastic, but then all you're expecting from such great place is not there. Food is terrible especially the buffet breakfast with its terrible Nescafe powder... The service is mostly nonexistent, and price are becoming high for all of this. The swimming pool is not necessarily very clean too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Address: Ottawadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea Breeze

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.