We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Incredible place to relax and unwind.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of INDeco Mahabalipuram

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added INDeco Mahabalipuram to your Saves list
INDeco Mahabalipuram
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shore Temple Road | Mahabalipuram, Mahabalipuram 603104, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Ealing, London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Incredible place to relax and unwind.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Wow! What a hotel! The service is the best I have come across. The hotel’s welcome message seemed cheesy at the beginning of our stay but as time went on we realised it was very accurate. It was unbelievable how far the staff were willing to go to ensure we had a pleasant stay with them. We wanted cocktails made with our alcohol (so not much money in it for them) for our group of 20 people and on a minute’s notice the staff were running around to get the ingredients. Two of the staff jumped on a scooter to get ingredients the hotel did not have and the bar manager was made available to assist us with the preparation of the cocktails. The service is better than any five star hotel that I have been to.

This is an eco hotel and is very simple. The rooms are basic but clean. The buffet has a small but tasty selection of food. The room service is good and the in-room dining has plenty to choose from.

Overall, the experience was perfect with the entire group leaving delighted with their stay.

The location of the hotel is very close to the beach but unfortunately there is a mosquito infested temple pond behind the hotel so ensure you have plenty of mosquito repellents ready to hand; although the rooms were free from them.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    58
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
64
57
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

we have been to INDeco Hotels Mahabalipuram for a 2night 3 days stay with our entire family, we all enjoyed the stay very well, the foot massage at the entry point was a great experience, pongamiya....good restaurant with wide choice of menus......delicious food, personalized service, lot of Indoor and out door games for children and adults, well maintained swimming pool, museum with lot of collections, well trained staffs......over all great hospitality

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

i visited there after the tsunami, after visiting tirupati, we stayed there for 1 night. we chose it because it was away from crowded chennai, quite a peaceful place,and preffered destination of foreighners. the massages they do there are wonderful. it is just on the beach and very green.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We had a days stay in Sterling Resorts Mahabalipuram duirng Diwali (27.10.2008). Stay was pleasant and rooms are OK and room service OK. AC was working (but it had no control switches). Staff courtious. More importance given to customers who pay and take room on rent rather than sterling members. No light facility in parking place and hence could not go near the parked vehicle at night time.

  • Liked — Nearby to all tourist spots
  • Disliked — AC not having control swithes, and Parking lot without lights
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We are just back from holiday at mahabalipuram..We couldnt pre-book, so went to Sterling directly, as it was next to "Shore Temple". (I had gone through the reviews on Sterling earlier, and they were quite mixed)..It was a long weekend, and most of the resorts were full. In sterling, only one room was available..which was "Royal Suite". As we were there only for a night, so we decided to take it..(though it was more than our budget).

Royal Suite was very very impressive. Dome shaped room with natural sunlight in orangish-yellow shade filled all over..shadow of tree leaves were visible all over the roof..and it was quite spacious ..had sofa, sitting srea, dining area etc and a big bathroom with bathtub and shower area..we were quite impressed with the room...

Resort ambience was also very nice and very ethnically decorated ..with interesting curios..they aptly titled it as - hotel set in a museum..

Reception people were very warm and courteous..

But the problem area was in the regular service staff or in fact the bosses of service staff..who were quite rude..food was pathetic..i will not recommend it for any meal..housekeeping service was poor..we got attended only after making 5-6 calls to housekeeping..because of solar heater there was no hot water in the evening..only lukewarm water was there..and that too came very slowly..

there was a private entry to beach..the only problem I faced was the stray dogs in the private entry area to the beach..and a person like me who is dead scared of dogs couldnt use the resort entry to enter the beach..security didnt bother at all...

so, in short I would say that resort setup was amazing. But they need to improve tremendously on restaurant and housekeeping staff and food.

  • Liked — ambience and room
  • Disliked — staff service and pathetic food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

My husband, seven year old daughter and I stayed for three nights over a long weekend.

The hotel is in the middle of the village but is a litle oasis of peace and quiet. It's within easy walking distance of all the sights.

The room was spotless, maybe showing a little wear in some parts, but generally in very good condition. The a/c worked perfectly - useful when the temperature's 40 and above.

The reception's quirky and interesting with many antiques. It's set in extensive, beautifully kept grounds, and has a lovely spaciaous feel to it.

The music by the pool did become a bit loud on one occasion so I asked them to turn it down which they did.

If you're looking for an ultra plush five star hotel - you may be disappointed. However, this is comfortable, clean and efficient with a good restaurant and I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds and excellent location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Sterling Resort. The room was run down, dirty and had water damage by the air conditioning. The bathroom was also dirty and had cockroaches and flying ants. When cleaned the fan was left on leaving a stench of drains in the room. The shower was also very basic.

The food was also terrible - the restaurant seemed to want to cater for Western tastes and in doing so produced very bland Indian food of a poor standard with limited choice for vegetarians. There was also constant techno / bangra music pumped out by the pool all through the day - not very relaxing!

This hotel needs some serious renovations and attention to detail. It seems to have an identity crisis in trying to cater for both the Western and Indian tourism market soby creating a less than satisfactory experience for both.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to INDeco Mahabalipuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDeco Mahabalipuram

Address: Shore Temple Road | Mahabalipuram, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — INDeco Mahabalipuram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled close to the legendary Shore Temple and the popular 7th century monoliths, is INDECO Mahabalipuram, the town's only luxury boutique hotel. This hotel is situated right in the heart of the town and spreads over a tranquil beach, offering contemporary luxuries in a historical back drop.INDECO Mahabalipuram, is an Indeco boutique hotel on the shores of Mahabalipuram and is set amidst the tourist attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your INDeco Mahabalipuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indeco Mahabalipuram Hotel Mahabalipuram
Indeco Mahabalipuram Kanchipuram

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INDeco Mahabalipuram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.