We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ideal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ideal Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast Road, Devaneri Village, Mahabalipuram 603104, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ideal is definitely an ideal weekend getaway from Bangalore or Chennai. We stayed at the sea facing villa for 3 days and 2 nights. As many had mentioned earlier, the villa has a spacious bedroom, living room(with an attached toilet) and a decent dressing room. The living and the bedrooms give a fasinating view of the sea. This sea view is the best part of the villa. The villa also has a huge bathroom with jacuzzi,bathtub,shower-cube,etc. There was a power problem during our stay which left us to stay in the balcony for about an hour and we really enjoyed the night view/sound of the splashing waves during this time.

The beach is very private meant only for the residents(We heard that it is not the case when day outings are arranged for the office teams). We had a memorable time on the beach. There is a beach restaurant also which is ideal to spend the evening hours by the beach.

The resort has other facilities like a beach restaurant, swimming pool,etc. The morning buffet was complimentary, the spread was decent and the food was real good.

The staff were very friendly, we didn't have to tip anyone during the stay.

Room for improvement: The villa had old door locks, plumbing fittings which need replacement. Some renovation is required for the villa I guess.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms if there are no budget restrictions
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bose D, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort !!!
We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination! We are grateful that you had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed the facilities provided in your room. We would like to apologize for the power failure that occurred during your stay at our resort.
The issue with the power cut lied within the generator cable. The main underground cable connected to the generator caught fire and erupted in an unidentified area. However, our technicians managed to identify the problem and fixed it at the earliest convenience.
Yes, the beach is meant to be enjoyed only by resort residents. But when we do have group outings or day users (outside guests who purchase a day pass) our facilities are of service to them as well.
We are truly glad that you enjoyed the facilities at our property as well as our buffet breakfast spread. To add, we are pleased that you were satisfied with the hospitality provided by our staff. We would like to thank you for all your suggestions to further improve our property and will be sure to utilize the recommendations made. See you soon!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    246
    67
    18
    6
See reviews for
173
177
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ideal beach resort as many of you know is a renovated property so ur bound to see some old stuff - Room design,furniture,stuff like that.

We booked the highest category of rooms - Sea view Villa.
One amazing bathroom - thats for sure(Jacuzzi + Bath Tub + Bath Cabinet + one more bathroom in the hall) , all else ok !!!!

Bad Luck : Power failure through out the resort from 6 PM till night 11 causing all sorts of hell for my 1 yr old and absolutely no intimation from the staff on when this would be fixed.

Service :
1.I called the help desk 1 hour before arrival about my arrival and still they made us wait for 20 mins before being allotted to our room.
2.Called house keeping for a few items, they touched the doorbell and since the bell was very faint we couldn't hear them and hence they left without having the basic manners of calling us back informing their arrival and blunt departure.
3. All else ok ....(Did not expect a wow here but got what we needed)

Overall Experience:
I feel its not worth the huge amount i paid for the sea view Villa,however is a good worth for the lower categories.
Decent beach walk and view facility.
Well laid garden/Lawn and clever karts employed for transport.
Food - Not great at all , basic salads that we ordered did not meet the basic requirements(bite size pieces did not strike the cook i guess) xx cxzghc

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe/Sea view deluxe or the basic rooms - Really worth your while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bose D, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Vijay,

Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination! We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. Yes, Ideal Beach Resort is a renovated property, however our Sea View villas are vintage themed. As you may have noticed, all furniture within the sea view villa is of carved teak wood imported from Indonesia. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at our sea view villa, including the bathroom.
We sincerely apologize for the power failure that occurred during your stay. However, power failure ensued at 7.30.p.m. to 8.30.p.m. and from 9.30.p.m. to 11.p.m. which accumulates to two and a half hours. The main underground cable connected to the generator caught fire and erupted in an unidentified area. Our technicians managed to identify the problem and fixed it at the earliest convenience.
Regarding check in, although you had called ahead to inform our staff about your arrival, you and your family arrived at 1.25p.m and our staff checked you in at 1.45.p.m, 15 minutes before usual check in time. Being a weekend, our resort was well occupied yet we managed to designate you to your room before check in time.
In reference to your comment about housekeeping, we would like to apologize for not having informed you that they had rung your room bell. We will ensure that this will not happen again.
The sea view villa is our highest category room, fully equipped with one bathroom (Jacuzzi, shower cubicle), one toilet, a spacious living room as well as a fairly large bedroom. To add, it has the premier view of the sea compared to all the other rooms at our property. With that being said, the tariffs are of a certain range.
To conclude, we would like to thank you once again for your response about your stay. We hope to see you and your family soon for an even better Ideal Hospitality


With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ideal is a quite place with a lot of greenery. The hotel staffs are friendly. They have a private beach with huts. The pool is also satisfactory. The quality of room will also not disappoint you.
Buffet is waste of money as they cannot justify the cost what they are charging for it. Overall food is good and ala-carte is a good option when compared to buffet. Garden and Beach are excellent.

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms in Sea View Villa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bose D, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Kashyap,

Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination! We are pleased that you had a satisfactory stay with us. Ideal Group of resorts takes great pride in our surrounding greeneries and we are glad that you enjoyed the ambiance.

We are grateful that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality provided by our staff as well as the facilities at our property. In relation to your comment about the cost of the buffet, we have a spread of Indian, Sri Lankan as well as continental spread from appetizers to desserts. Therefore, buffet pricing are chargeable as such.

To conclude, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked 2 Standard rooms in Ideal Beach Resort, one for myself, wife and daughter and another for my parents in law for one night from 1-2nd October. The resort is located about 55 kms from Chennai and 3 kms before Mahabalipuram.

Check in took about 10 mins and thereafter we were accorded a warm and traditional welcome with a garland of jasmines and a watermelon juice as welcome drink. Thereafter we were taken to our rooms which were located in a villa, one room on ground floor and another on the first floor which we The rooms were quite spacious and well furnished with a bathroom which was equipped with a bathtub and 24 hours hot water.

From the balcony in our rooms we could see the beautiful gardens and the beach which was located a stones throw away. The gardens were kept neat and impeccably clean and the staff were constantly cleaning the garden and mowing the grass,

My daughter and wife immediately took a dip in the huge swimming pool which was crystal clear and had a depth of upto 9 feet. Then we walked over to the beach. The sea is very shallow here and ideal for swimming and some foreigners went out a good 200 metres to swim.

Since food was very expensive and especially the lunch and dinner buffets, we decided to go out to Mahabalipuram for dinner and made the capital mistake of relying on the recommendation made by the resort staff to try out Moonrakers.

We ordered tava prawns, calamari, parottas and butter chicken. The seafood itself was fresh but that was the only saving grace. The prawns and calamari were mixed up with raw uncooked chilly powder. The parottas were so stale and brittle that they fell apart on touch (the waiter admitted that the parottas were made in the morning though he did not specify which morning) and the butter chicken was so thin and watery that we decided that the best thing was not to risk ordering anything else there and paid the bill a whopping 1500 Rs and went to Ananda Bhavan which was the only good place for having some decent food and ordered dosas there. If this was the quality of food provided by the so called original Moonrakers, I shudder to think of the food which will be offered by their 2 namesakes located right next to each other. It was a miracle that none of us had an upset stomach after this disastrous dinner at Moonrakers.

The complimentary breakfast buffet at Ideals Restaurant was really excellent. We were smilingly served unlimited number of helpings from a vast variety of South Indian dishes tastefully prepared.

We were reluctant to leave the resort to go sightseeing in Mahabs and spent the morning lazing in the swimming pool and the beach. The resort became very crowded at around 11,30 am since the Management have a scheme whereby for an entry fee of 1000Rs, the visitor can use the pool, beach and have lunch at the restaurant. The charges for accessing the Resort Wifi was 100Rs for 24 hours.The Wifi was accessible in the rooms, swimming pool, and beach areas.

One of the outstanding features of this resort was the courtesy and friendliness shown to us by the management and staff. They were always smiling, pleasant and so eager to help that in all my holidays so far I have not come across more friendly staff.

From the lady at the reception who welcomed us warmly to the lady who uncomplainingly changed the scratch card containing the access code of the resort wifi which I obliterated by scratching too hard to the lady who patiently served us at our table during breakfast to the old employee on the beach who tirelessly cleaned the chairs and handed them over to us, all of them were dedicated to pleasing the guests.

At the same time I fail to understand why the Management cannot offer a bottle of aqua fina per day complimentary to the guests without charging 40Rs plus tax for a half litre bottle which is placed in the room. Also the price of dinner and lunch buffets should be brought down to a reasonable 350-400Rs to enable the people who stay in the resort to have their food in the resort itself.

Since we were permitted a late checkout we left the resort at 4pm with pleasant memories and with plans to visit again in the next convenient holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bose D, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination!! We appreciate your feedback and kind gestures regarding your stay with us. Our staffs endeavour to provide the warmest welcome for every single guest visiting our property. To add, we are glad that you and your family enjoyed the ambiance of our resort as well as the scenic view from your room.
Our private beach is idyllic for both a swim and just a stroll. In reference to your comments on Moonrakers, we are regretful that you had an inadequate experience there. Moonrakers are popular for their seafood hence the recommendation to have dinner there. Had known that you would have encountered an experience as such, our staff would have definitely made a recommendation to go elsewhere.
We are contented that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet spread alongside the service of our staff. On weekends, we get visits from non-residential guests and foreign expats who want to use the facilities of our resort and are charged Rs. 400. Therefore, it gets pretty crowded over the weekends.
Bottled water in each room is complimentary; each room receives two bottles daily free of charge, however if more is required then it is chargeable. In regards to your suggestion about reducing the prices of buffet, we have a large spread of food ranging from Indian to continental, beginning from appetizers right up to dessert. With that being said, the prices of our buffet have to be of a certain price range.
All in all, we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our staff hospitable and welcoming. We hope to see you and your family soon!!

With warm regards.
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we were a family of 4 and we had a relaaaaxing time.... (we used to earlier go to pondicherry for such places, but this is much closer to chennai)

the ppl out there were sweet, helpful n accommodating...

even localites like us had access to their paid beach, which ws extremely well maintained.....

we hired a cycle n did a bit of rounds....

the food at the restaurant ws gr8, though the service could b a lil faster...

will definitely go again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bose D, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Tushar,

Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort !!!

Thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your weekend destination! We appreciate your pleasant comments about our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed the ambience as well as the surroundings of our beach.
In addition to that, we are glad that both you and your family enjoyed the food. We acknowledge your feedback regarding the service, and will definitely work on it. We hope to see you soon for an even better “Ideal” experience.

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triesenberg, Liechtenstein
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I felt at ease with this hotel, and the staff was very friendly, the food tasty. Nice room, lovely animals made of hand towels on the bed. But I would have preferred a shower on its own and not one in the bath tub. The garden and beach was clean - but I surely won't miss the corbies...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bose D, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort!

Thank you choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination! We are grateful that you had a pleasant stay with us. To add, we are contented that you were satisfied with the hospitality provided by our staff as we here at Ideal group of resorts strive to provide the best of services to all our guests.
In relation to your comment about the Corbies, please note that we will definitely take more drastic measures to avoid such pests. To add, not all the bathrooms in the rooms are equipped with a shower in the tub; most of it has a shower cubicle on its own. However, we are beginning restoration of all our rooms soon and should be done by next year. We hope to see you soon!!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hi everyone Ideal Beach Resort is definetly one of the better resorts out there in Mahaballipuram in par with other well reputed resorts....We had taken a sea view villa n we all just loved it,so peaceful n loved the sound of the wave,all the staff are extremely polite and the rooms are affordable without comprimising luxury and comfort...The beach is also truly private and not like other resorts with their namesake 'private' beaches,,. I will definetly be back to the resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bose D, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal Group of Resorts !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination. We are appreciative of your thoughtful comments regarding your stay with us. Our sea view villa is ideally located, facing the waves and is secluded from the other rooms which makes it the picture-perfect holiday location.
We are glad that you enjoyed the stay as well as the hospitality of our staff. In addition to that, we are deeply contented that you appreciated our private beach. We hope to see you soon to further indulge in a greater “Ideal” experience!

With warm regards,
Winston Prabhu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ideal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Beach Resort

Address: East Coast Road, Devaneri Village, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideal Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ideal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Ideal Beach Mamallapuram

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.