We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurios anniversary !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram to your Saves list
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence 2014
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“luxurios anniversary !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

this place was greatly advices to me by my friends who had stayed here some time back when it used to be GRT temple bay. so this year we thought we would spend little extra to spend our 2nd anniversary in luxury.

really this hotel is worth every penny you spend. these are the kind of hotels one should visit every time you feel the need to pamper yourself. first of all great property, excellent staff, superb rooms and an infinity pool you can be in all day.

there is also a restaurant by the sea ( wharf i think ) which serves amazing food. but more than the food its the breeze which surprised us. in feb we were feeling too cold when we were sitting in one of the tables along the beach. the place itself was so romantic that it felt great to have chosen it for our anniversary

the property is so huge that one really needs those golf carts which they have to take you to your room. where we stayed there was a huge swimming pool running across till the restaurant where at that time i guess the pool bar was getting build. this pool has to be the biggest that we've ever seen. there is also one restaurant next to the pool. we found the food at the restaurant decent but nothing spectacular.

in the end would like to strongly mention that this hotel defines luxury. especially the rooms and the hotel landscape is so well designed, that you feel really great to be staying in it. and if you love being in the water all day... the infinity pool welcomes you !!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    397
    116
    57
    33
See reviews for
451
287
34
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Like all vacations this stay had its "plusses" and "minuses". However, none of the "misses" were attributable to GRT Temple Bay. The little one fell sick before we checked-in and that put a dampener on our stay. But the elder one and we did enjoy to the extent possible given the circumstances.

This is a nicely done up and well maintained property. The kids enjoyed it - the elder one was busy with the many activities. The pool was fantastic as was the beach and the bay. We could hear the roar of the waves all night as the door of our room opened right onto the beach was hardly 100 meters from the water's edge. Was a wonderful feeling.

The food was great and the staff was thoughtful in accommodating our strange requests what with a sick child. She did recover enough the second day to go cycling around the property. Both of them loved it and we were extremely reluctant to leave. We did want to extend but the rooms were booked and could not extend.

We have some unfinished business here and would certainly want to return to enjoy everything that the resort has to offer. The location is great as Mahabalipuram is not too large a town. Esp, if you have your own vehicle (as in our case) getting around town is simple. Medical facilities though are limited in the town and quite basic.

However the most spectacular aspect of this visit obviously were the temples and the architecture. We heard they were good before we went there, but only when we saw them in person we were able to appreciate the full extent of their magnificence.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Have stayed for 01 night and been booked on Sea View Challet with an amazing view of noisy sea. The property is spread in about 40 acres of land and have everything for leisure guests like water activities, ATB, nice 02 swimming pools, Golf etc.

The property in around 45 minutes away from Chennai Airport.

Must stay..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I was there for a wedding and was put up at the pool villa which had a private pool and an open to air jacuzzi and bath. The entire resort is superb which has the largest swimming pool in asia. The rooms and the resort are fantastic, would strictly recommend them to improve their room services.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I and my team went for leisure trip at GRT Temple Bay.
It is a lush beach resort over looking the blue waters of the Bay of Bengal Sea. We can see the real Gods nature there. We felt such a wonderful experience there!

The cleverly designed rooms and other cottages attracted our team a little bit more.
We used one of conference room which was superb with clean and groovy look. Also this resort purposed as ideal location for business desires, training & development programs. It is situated at the scenic, remarkable seaside town of Mahabalipuram. It is located near by Chennai.

Temple Bay resort looks elegantly furnished, deluxe rooms and cottages, all designed to give you a view of the blue sea, and the legendary seashore Temple.

Also 24 hour front desk is available which helps great for new comers for the resort. Good restaurant is available for the tasty sea food. We feel the tariff is high compared with other hotels. Since it was a business trip we ignored the cost and enjoyed more. We enjoyed superb swimming pool there. At the overall, the quality of hotel is good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Hi,
Had a 2 day stay with friends at GRT Radission at Mahabalipuram. The best hotel in this part of the country , I would say. The staff were very friendly, the food (sea food) excellent. The best part is the Swimming pool - So big & we spent hours in this pool. The rooms were cottage types , with absolutely no disturbance. The room service was good. The location is also great. You can reach chennai in 40 minutes & pondicherry in another 1.5 hours. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Feel bored, walk to the beach. Yes. It is expensive, but worth a try.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a truly amazing beach resort. The right place to go when you want to be busy by just doing nothing !

The staff and service is very good and the WHARF restaurant is awesome with its view and cuisine !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.