We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Mahabalipuram
Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in July. It was my second stay at the hotel and I was not disapointed. In fact I thought that the hotel had improved.

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The swimmingpool is also fantastic, but shallow and therefor quite warm (nice for kids).

Internet is free and the speed is mostly fine.

I stayed in a pool view chalet room which is large and well laid out. I would recommend these rooms because it is so easy to take a dip in the pool. Ocean view rooms are more remote.

The beach could not be used. The waves went all the way up to the hotel wall and the stairs to the beach was washed away. The sea is also very rough and only very good swimmers should go there.

There are only two restaurants but the food is generally good.

Overall very recommendable. There are of course room for small improvements:

The service at the bar close to the beach pool is very slow. I had to chase down a waiter to be served.

The same Kenny G CD is running all night long every night at the Wharf restaurant. Please by some more CD's.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We have taken your suggestions seriously and will implement them.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    285
    85
    34
    22
See reviews for
293
219
26
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

One of the best resorts I've been to.. the high point is definitely the long meandering pool.. its the best swimming pool ever.. absolute fun to lazy around in the long winding pool..
The infinity pool comes a close 2nd, fantastic view of the sea and fun to sit and stare into the sea..
Overall, great property, awesome lawns n hammocks and recreation center.. very courteous staff.. excellent breakfast spread.
All in all, an awesome awesome resort

Note: Lunch/Dinner in the restaurants provide less options to the vegetarians. Room service options give a better vegetarian variety. But nevertheless visit the restaurants in the resort, they offer a great view and ambience

Room Tip: There are large variety of rooms to choose from and spread over a large area. So if you are travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A great hotel with good food and facilities and very scenic. But employees need to be taught to deal with guests better. When entering the hotel for checking in, a security person stopped me at the entrance and asked me what I wanted and then followed me up to the front desk. Am not sure if it was standard procedure or an aberration, but it was very uncomfortable. Another instance was when returning cycles, the person in charge was rude and insisted that I had taken 3 cycles when I had taken two. Even after explaining that I had rented 2, he followed me to the lobby and in front of staff and other guests kept saying the same thing. Surely a hotel like Radisson can deal with issues like these more discretely and keep track of how many cycles have been rented out. One staff member told me a path was closed when it clearly led to the sea facing restaurant. I had to keep repeating the room number when using the pool and beach. I understand giving the room number for the restaurant or other services, but when we are clearly staying in the property, why ask for the room number when using the beach or pool, that too multiple times. For the breakfast buffet, staff would tell guests that it was self service and a few moments later the same staff member could be seen bringing food to a another table. A senior citizen was traveling with us, but we were still allotted a room at the very end of the resort, where it was tough for her to walk to the room. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for reasons stated above. Staff should be trained to deal with guests uniformly and treat them better, otherwise it spoils the whole experience. Security should be present but unobtrusive. Overall a bitter experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is a very big resort and we were very lucky to stay in the closest bungalow to the beach. Great sea view .
The room is very spacious and well maintained and clean. The only problem is when the a/c is on maximum it provokes condensation on the floor .
There are 2 swimming pools , the smaller one is near the beach and has a nice sea view, but too many crows !!
The Seafood Restaurant near the beach is good without beeing excellent.
Breakfast is very good with a great variety .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A fine saturday evening with a bubbly mood we entered this resort..been here many times in the past but my stay being the first time now, the occassion being my in laws silver jubilee anniversary, they were stunnned on seeing the beauty of the pools and landscaping..
And then after a long wait we had got a pool villa for a hefty price but ok as long as it is a five star service.
We entered the room, it was awesome and then I realized as the dusk broke my pool lights were not working, my jacuzzi was not working too, I had called those in charge but what a louzy response I had to fix them up, finally they said I gotta adjust with the pool lights as it wouldnt function for the night, so I had to stay in the dark outside my room..
To reach the restaurant for a table booked at 8 was finally done at 9, thanks to the shuttle vehicle's express response.
I had a pleasant surprise on returning to room, my aircon was not working at 11 pm, got it fixed by 12pm.
Lovely housekeeping service came an hour later to fix my extra bed which I had asked for.
On day 2, to add kerosene to the burning fire, my ceiling started to leak apparently due to leakage from ac duct, room literally got flooded and we had to call them again but in vain, had to eaze my heart to the manager in charge who took his sweet time to attend to my complaints...
Overall an horrible experience of the stay, especially for a hotel which claims to be a 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken. I have taken up the issue of the air condition and light issues with my Engineering team and we will ensure such issues do not repeat.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The property's clean and beautifully designed swimming pools alone make it worth the stay. The view of the ocean from the infinity pool is breathtaking and our 2-year old kids enjoyed watching the waves as they kicked around in their floats. Breakfast spread was outstanding. I found it very relaxing to lounge in the hammocks on the beach, with a book in hand and the sound of waves lapping against the shore in the background.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as part of a large family, try and get rooms within the same block. Else, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Love the property and had a great time.However, if you are planning to celebrate any special occasion, it might not go as planned.The managers didnt take any interest or extra care to make the occasion special which is a general practice at any corner restaurants also.

Room Tip: Pool facing are great if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We do take additional care for special occasions for all the guests when we know in advance. I have taken up your feed back with my F & B manager and the entire team.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.