We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the sea and Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram to your Saves list
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“By the sea and Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed over for the Indian new year in April which coincided with a weekend.

The sea side chalets are very well located - if you like to sit on the sit-out and just spend time looking at the sea, hearing the waves, reading, chatting up..... (We got a chalet that was among the closest to the sea, in the property.)

The pool side rooms are better if you plan to be in the pool, else the sea side chalets give you more of nature's nature.

Food at the Wharf is good. Breakfast spread too was good.

The spa is OK and standard, nothing spectacular.

The property is right in Mamallapuram and that was one of the reasons for us to choose the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet closer to the sea. (If you are with kids then perhaps they may like the pool side r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    349
    98
    49
    27
See reviews for
390
251
31
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel has a fantastic beach-front location. Its a sprawling property with many trees - a big plus for someone from Chennai. And the swimming pool is amazing.

The pluses end there. They have a 9-hole golf course which is pathetically maintained - clearly, nobody knows anything about golfing in the maintenance team.

Food is mostly on par with other similar hotels. But the coffee was *extremely* bad. It looked & tasted like brown colored hot water. Only, hot water tastes better.

The location map in the lobby displays a telescope. We hoped to do some star-gazing at night. When questioned, people feigned ignorance on what happened to the telescope. Why display a telescope when you don't have one?

People in the reception need some training on how to handle customers. They were very slow, didn't know how to handle customers & generally not knowledgeable about the property.

Room Tip: Check if the rooms around your room are under repair/maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU Resort Templebay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

The issue of the coffee has been taken up with the Executive chef who has then taken up the remeidal action for the same.

The telescope is under maintenance and we are hope to get it back soon and then it will be put to guest use. Also the maintenance of the golf course has been taken up.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Our Learning and development Manager has taken up specific training program to educate the reception staff to handle to the guest requests.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

A very well organized hotel. Service oriented staff, sufficient leisure activities for kids, one of the largest swimming pools in india with ample sunbeds and privacy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wonderful stay, huge resort, big pool, & memorable services. I want to be there again & again. luxury at its best.It was a family trip & kid were very well taken care by the staff. Do not miss tostay in this place. One suggestion for all.......... Please switch off your phone & forget your bussiness here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We visited radisson blu temple bay in mahabalipuram. it is 354km from bangalore.The road upto kanchi is superb, but from kanchi it is state highway which is very narrow full of traffic. anyway we made it by 2pm, the checkin was smooth and we had a grand lunch. Evening I went for a ayur massage while children went to swimming pool. There are lot of activities for children who just didnt come out of recreation room. All the heritage spots are just within 5km from the resort. but since it is summer it damn hot. We stayed for 2N/3d. the food, games and the entire environment was superb. the room was cleaned daily and all utilities worked. certainly value for money. will consider the resort again for my pondy trip. good luck to the entire team.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Temple Bay is a good choice for a stay at the beach while visiting Chennai. The rooms are spacious, clean and location is excellent.
The spa as fantastic and the massages very relaxing
What's a bit annoying is the little things about service like:
Asking 3 different waiters for salt in the restaurant before you finally get it.
Asking the night before tohave luggage picked up by 7 and they do it by 7.30
A simple checkout taking 30 minutes

The hotel need to train the staff to ask the guest to repeat a request if they don't understand it and not just say yes and do nothing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU resort Templebay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way from Pondy after a fantastic stay at the GRT Pondy and stopped here for the spa to top our vacation with a great massage.

While I was getting the massage, my wife wanted to take our 4 year old to the pool. After making them walk the pool stretch twice, the manager at the restaurant told her that the only way to get pool access was to buy a buffet lunch.

When my wife was at the pool she had no help at all from the staff - she requested a tube for our little boy and got it after a long wait and that too one with a hole in it. Their pool stay ended with our son having a minor accident in the pool.

By the time my massage (fantastic one at the serena spa) ended, it was already closing time for the buffet. When we reached the restaurant with the plan of requesting to use the money as credit for ala cart dishes, the manager (karthikeyan) hurried us to use the buffet.

While we were seated the staff came over and asked us to get everything we need as the buffet was closing. I ended up taking care of my shocked son while my wife picked up the left over scraps in the buffet for us to eat. By the end of it we felt like we had been conned by the staff to order a buffet that we couldn't make on time to eat. Paying ~5k INR for buffet left overs and a defunct pool.

After being denied by the floor manager for any sort of compensation, we spoke to Mr karthikeyan and Mr swamy and conveyed our terrible experience. The offered to send a compensatory voucher to my personal email address and asked to trust them. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me - never received the voucher.

I was planning on making this a recurring destination for my family to make use of the spectacular spa. Given this experience I would never stay here. Perhaps stay at another resort with better service and drop in for the serena spa.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU resort Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

I had done a thorough inquiry on your incidence and i was assured that the voucher was sent to you. Regardless of whether you have received or not, I am authorizing complementary meal for you and your wife at Waters edge cafe for a weekend lunch, valid till November, 2012. Please Print a copy of this and hand it over to the Waters Edge cafe for availing the same.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.