We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Books

Apollo Books
89 Fisherman Colony | Opposite Le Yogi Restaurant, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
+91 98 40 364422
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Mahabalipuram
Type: Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Apollo Book Club provides you novels, guides,Indian writing, philosophy in many different languages. Book Exchange &Tourist Information also possible.
Burhanpur, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

As a books lover I can only recommend Apollo Books! The choice is really well made and Apollo is an excellent bookseller, the kind that you will hardly find in your life. He will always give you the best advice if you don't know what to read and he is so friendly too.
One of the best bookstore I went in my life... and one very good friend in add!
We lived in Chennai for a while and use to have a big library close to our home, but we always came to Apollo to find what to read as he has a great choice of books!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chenna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem in India.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I found a few little gems on my travels and Apollos Books for me is one of the best. Not just a bookstore, a wonderful place to meet people, to relax, read a book, chill out with a coffee and get some great advice from Apollo. Apollo is a great man, I had the pleasure of meeting his wife and two sons. Their friendliness, warmth, and kindness has blown me away. Apollos Books is a must visit if you find yourself in this part of the world, an absolute diamond!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Apollo's family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was traveling in India alone for six months
After a few months I got mamalapuram
And I was already used to business owners who want only money
And all the business of tourism,
And do not trust anyone.
Until I went to Apollo
There but books in all languages ​​that are arranged on shelves by subjects, all clean, and beautiful, and makes you feel like read even if you have not done it until that moment,
I found a family that was part of me for three wonderful months
So dear people gathered to see how books are getting the respect they deserve,
  And to feel at home so far :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely bookstore with great owner Apollo. I love the vibe that this bookstore provides. Apollo treats the people with sincerity, and I felt that what he wanted was something much more than business. It's a must go when you want to meet new people and good books in various languages.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bookstore with temperature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Apollo Bookstore is the best, honest bookstore in SouthIndia, just near the beach. It is a comfortable, well-organized and clean place. I enjoyed the time with Apollo and his friend, Sanjay there, sharing interesting history about Mahabalipuram, and also a lot of good tourist information. Thank you Apollo.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo Books also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Apollo Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.