We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cherry Village Resort to your Saves list
Cherry Village Resort
P.O. Pelling, Pelling 737113, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Pelling
RAIPUR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Though v didn't stay there as we already had a package but visited here and found the ambience very cool and beautiful cottage rooms were very specious and decore was also good. Iwish to stay there if ever in future get another chance to visit Pelling

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

After Delhi and Darjeeling this our first night in Sikkim and it was a great welcome. When we arrived at the hotel, the owner welcomed us in a traditional way which gave us a real impression of Sikkim. We checked in the rooms and we were invited to see the cultural program arranged by our Tour company Himalaya Home (www.himalayahome.com). We had never seen Nepali traditional dance before so it was perfect for us. Then comes the food, WOW! There were almost 10 different types of meal and they all were delicious. We enjoyed very much sleeping in this peaceful nature.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The resort is absolutely terrible, and I would never ever advise any unsuspecting traveller to go there, specially non-Indians. I say this due to the following reasons:

1. It is in the middle of nowhere. You are going to need the powers of the Almighty to be able to locate it. The roads are in terrible shape, and it's at least 25 kilometres away from any civilisation (for which reason you'll get in a hellish mess while going back) whatsoever.

2. The staff there... Oh my God, that is a whole another story! The resort is grossly understaffed, and the little staff that are there are grossly untrained and unreliable. They have this *lovely* habit of taking orders and promptly forgetting about them. And oh, did I mention that they have no intercom service, for talking to the reception area? Normally, that wouldn't mean a great deal, but in a filthy place, with biting cold weather, when you have to climb up those Golgathian stone steps, then you'll realise what I meant.

3. NO VALUE FOR MONEY. It's ridiculously over-priced, and what we get for nearly three thousand rupees (after taxes and God-knows-what), is a weed-overgrown, damp, filthy, cold little room where the blankets smell disturbingly bad.

4. They have terrible rooms. For a truckload of money (Okay, I exaggerated here), all you get is a 20ftx20ft cubicle, with stained and sticky carpeting, dirty washrooms, beat-up foot-mats, dysfunctional TV, smelly blankets, stained sheets and sticky, sticky tables. Oh, did I mention that the heaters are indented and barely even function, notwithstanding the 13degree weather?

5. THEY DO NOT HAVE A SHOWER IN THE WASHROOM.

6. If you've got lots of luggage, and aren't a sturdy 20-year old who can lift motorcycles, then I'll wish you best of luck. As I mentioned before, they are grossly understaffed, because of which, you'll have to heave your luggage all the way down the pebble-filled road (and those mammoth stairs!) into the reception, which is at least 50 metres away from the road. After that, you'll have to heave your luggage down the stairs and into your rooms, too. Did I mention that at the time I went there, it was freezing cold and raining?

7. Library? What library?
The "facilities provided" list very proudly announces: LIBRARY. Well, if you aren't a particularly enthusiastic tourist, who's mad about everything Sikkim, from the history of Sikkim, to the history of Sikkim, then I guess you're going to be slightly annoyed. Because, well, the "books" in the library are only magazines on Sikkim...that too old.

8. If you should, unfortunately, need a room on triple-share basis, then I really, really do hope that you're interested in Indian culture... As in, you wouldn't mind sleeping on a filthy floor, on a mattress.

That's all. Have a nice stay at the Gutter Village Resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i stayed at this place with my family in the first week of june for two days.it was a terrible experience overall.the staff is poorly trained or not trained at all.in the name of eco tourism they are fleecing people.the culprit is the management and not the staff as the staff employed are totally ignorant .Mr.chang who is the manager of the place is a pleasant man but his team is totally unprofessional..guess the majority of the people who are employed are un educated and have no idea about hospitality business.the owner of the place is apparently a budding politician ,available most of the times at the property.when complained about some issues he started assaulting one of the staffers in front of his colleagues.on arrival they informed us that the resort is affiliated to mayfair ,gangtok but i doubt the credibility of that claim.this place is one perfect example of people starting resorts and hotels in the name of eco-tourism and running it totally un professionally and unethically ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived after a 6 hour drive from Siliguri.. was a very pleasant and warm welcome in the traditional way. Its a small homestay with 5 rooms only.. Was taken care well by Raju throughout the stay. He took us for the village walk the next day and also told us about the location.. he also arranged for a cultural evening with Karoke & traditional sikkimise dance & music by school children.. The food tasted very good..

Negatives - Very Slow Service... location @ 8 kms from Upper Pelling.... Shop in the hotel very expensive don't purchase anything from there.. bugs in the room...

Overall a satisfied stay... Thanks Raj for your help...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Its a hotel one cant stop reviewing. Lovely wooden big rooms, with comfortable bedding & furniture,and beautiful interior, well equipped and fully active bathroom with no disturbance at all. Neat and clean mountain village type location, and pleasant environment in the lap of nature, surrounded with flowers and a small lake type water body with some beautiful fishes. All this with an open air table tennis and a pool board to play during your leisure time too. Enough open space for little kids to run and play all around. Very comfortable and outstanding service, lovely mouth watering food (don't miss their traditional Cheese ko achar & Mushroom kimchi). A really worthy hotel and really paisa wasool experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012. The room was not cleaned and the sheets were dirty. There were empty booze bottles and other trash in the room. Called the manager for a change in the room. Though there were 3 other rooms which were vacant, he refused to shift us as he mentioned that there were other guests who will arrive. Though an attempt was made to clean the room, the area below the cots etc were full of dust. There was no warm water in the bathrooms. We were told that either the heater in the room would work or the heater for the water would work. This is due to the power connection!!. The wash basin was leaking and the service very poor. We left the next morning and moved into another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Village Resort

Address: P.O. Pelling, Pelling 737113, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Pelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHERRY VILLAGE RESORT IS ABOUT 10 MIN DRIVE FROM UPPER PELLING. IT’S ONE OF THE FEW RESORT WAITING TO BE DISCOVERED AND THAT IS WHY CHERRY VILLAGE RESORT, IS IDYLLIC. THE RUSTIC LOOK BELIES THE PERFECT STAY COMPLETE WITH THE DAILY COMFORTS OF LIFE. HERE, RESORT OFFERS TO THE VISITORS WHO CAN PICK AND CHOOSE FROM AN ARRAY OF PRODUCTS RANGING FROM BIRD WATCHING, VILLAGE WALK, TREKKING, PICNIC, MEDITATION, SWIMMING AND MOUNTAIN BIKING AND LEARNING THE LOCAL LANGUAGE AND COOKING ETC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cherry Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Village Resort Pelling, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.