We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rabdentse Residency - Couldn't have seen Kachenjunga peak better from any other hotel in lower Pelling - I believe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rabdentse Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rabdentse Residency to your Saves list
Rabdentse Residency
Palden Estate, Lower Khechopalri Road | West Sikkim, Pelling 737113, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Pelling
Kolkata
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rabdentse Residency - Couldn't have seen Kachenjunga peak better from any other hotel in lower Pelling - I believe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We traveled for a family vacation for a 3days 2 nights package (5 adults with 3 senior citizens + 1 4.5 yr. kid) arranged by Sai Kripa - Rabdentse Pelling. It was mesmerizing. We were offered the best suite rooms where we could see the clouds getting into the rooms and the glorious Kanchenjuga peak from within our room.

Right from the first day I contacted Sai Kripa (Mr. Suman - the owner) for the package, it was very transparent. Their email responses were always well attended. Pickup and drops from and to NJP and 2 days sight seeing were as per plan.

On the hotel side, I think it is the best hotel in terms of location, hospitality and good food in lower Pelling. You will feel you are residing amidst the mountains and wake up early with the mesmerizing morning sunlight and bird chirp from the hills. Rooms were clean with geyser hot water and complete toiletries. We had no problem to cater to our needs for our 4.5yr. old kid.
Our room gave us the best view of Kachenjunga. Uploading few photos I clicked from our room.

The manager, P. C. Nayak and his assistant Bapi was over helpful. Haven't seen such a great hospitality. Even the restaurant staffs were always willing to help our needs.

It was a well arranged package without any misses and 100% coverage.

Thanks again for the wonderful hospitality and hope to have this continued. I will always refer Sai Kripa for my other trips in Sikkim.

Thanks Again, Mr. Suman, Mr. Nayak & Bapi. :)

Room Tip: The room "Kings Crown" offerred us best view of the moutains and Kanchenjunga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
84
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the King's and Queen's suites at this hotel in July 2013. First the positives: the view from the King's and Queen's suites is magnificent. You get a great view of the Kanchendzonga ranges as well as the green valley below. The king's and queen's suites are very spacious, especially for the discounted off-season rates we paid.

But there are some aspects where this hotel clearly needs to get it's act together. The service at this hotel is below average: many of the lights in the rooms and corridors do not work; the hot water supply is erratic; the room service is really bad: they don't clean your rooms properly and the hotel phones don't always work making you go down to the reception to get hold of the staff.

All in all, despite the service, our stay was a good experience because of the rooms we got: the views from the king's and queen's suite are worth their weight in gold and are probably the best in all of Pelling. Stay here provided you get the king's or queen's suite and with the knowledge that you will need to compromise a bit on service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I must say I almost followed blindly what TripAdvisor rates. Hence booked this hotel online for 2 nights after going through the good reviews (2nd Best among 12 Hotels) in TripAdvisor. This was the very first mistake that I made. I could have easily looked for Upper/Middle Pelling Hotels. So advise others to avoid this hotel. Its basically a Budget Hotel so cut down your expectation. Location is good as its in Lower Pelling. On a clear Morning, one can see Peaks from Hotel Lawns. Rooms had very few electrical Points hence charging laptop/mobile is always an issue. TV was a tiny old model. Reception Desk is Rude. Food was average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012. The hotel is right at the end of lower Pelling. So, you will have to negotiate a lot of traffic while reaching the hotel and also on your way out. However, one advantage of this is that there are very few buildings obstructing your view. The hotel is one level below the main road. So, you will have to climb some stairs whenever you want to go out. It is a small hotel with friendly staff. The person manning the reception was quite helpful. I would suggest that you book the Queen’s Necklace or the King’s Crown for a good view of the sunrise. We had the Queen’s Necklace which was a large room. We did not have to move out of the room for a view. The room rates are reasonable, so it will not pinch you. But I suggest you book in advance for these rooms as they are in demand. The King’s Crown has even better view as there was some construction activity to the left of the hotel and it was partly blocking my view. If you want to stay in a smaller room, you can go down to the small open area outside the restaurant for a good view of the sunrise. Food is ok and very reasonably priced. Overall I liked the experience and would definitely go back to this hotel for my next trip.

Room Tip: Choose the top three rooms in this hotel i.e. the Knight's Armour, the Queen's Necklace or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Booked this hotel online for 4 nights after going through the good reviews in tripadvisor. This was the very first mistake that I made.

Due to poor road condition we reached at 9 pm through heavy rain and dense fog. We had to pay double the amount to our driver as he had to take a detour. Nobody was bothered to tell us that the major road leading to Pelling was blocked for the entire previous day. Even after informing them during the day that we were having tremendous difficulty reaching Pelling, none from the hotel bothered to make a single phone call even after noticing that we haven't reached at 9 o'clock in the night.

Secondly, while booking online I categorically asked for a certain room in Rabdentse for 3 nights and 1 night at Takura, as there wasn't availability for all the 4 nights in Rabdentse (atleast that was what I was told) and the person who looks after the online booking readily and happily agreed. Next day we were shifted to their annex building which was under construction (with zero view of hills) and not to Hotel Takura (we had seen it from outside down the road, it was in a beautiful location) as agreed before. The very next day we were again shifted back to Rabdentse but not in our preferred room. Again breaching the agreement that we had before.

On confronting the manager he said he had to allot our rooms to his 'Guests'. I wondered if others were guests then what were we? Free riders? and on asking the online agent, he simply said (and SMS'd) that I will be given my preferred room the day after. That day never came.

There are couple of things which I learnt through all these. Never book online and never pay all your dues before you check out. They had done their best in spoiling the expectations that we had of them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are decent sized and clean. The entrance to the hotel is through a narrow passage and stairs down a hill side. The hallways and stairs are decorated with cartoons of celebrities, maps of the region and pictures of local places.

The service is excellent. The staff is extremely polite and courteous and not at all disturbing. The manager is very friendly and helpful. He upgraded our rooms to superior ones for no extra charge. The rooms were worth it because of the spectacular views. He also helped us in drawing up a list of places to visit, and arranged for a cab.

The restaurant provides good Bengali food. There is also a small garden cum free area where you can play badminton. There is also a carrom board inside the hall.

You can see the Kanchendzonga range from your beds. Furthermore, in the evenings and nights, you get a panoramic view of distant villages with their lights, which is a beautiful sight.

As a bonus, the cloud sometimes comes into your rooms and gives you a feeling of floating on it.

Room Tip: Book the superior rooms, they cost extra but the spectacular views more than make up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had made the booking after reading the reviews & seeing the pictures in trip advisor. Entrance is pathetic.. as construction is going on of some other hotel. If you want to see the view you can book only "queen's necklace" room, rest give u a view of backdrop of other hotels. However, food is great, that was the only good thing about the hotel, rest they dont even bother to do the housekeeping on extra stay. Pictures in the official site is deceptive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rabdentse Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabdentse Residency

Address: Palden Estate, Lower Khechopalri Road | West Sikkim, Pelling 737113, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Pelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
 Spacious rooms, well constructed and airy. Wall to wall carpeting, private balcony, encircled by hotel’s own beautifully landscaped lawns and garden, where guest can walk and enjoy the panoramic views of mountain ranges. Original paintings by master artist. Attached bathroom with geyser. Complementary guest stationary and toiletries. Multi channel color television in all rooms. Intercom and telephone system. Laundry and dry cleaning facilities. In house generator. Room heater available at a nominal cost. Hot water bag and hard be on request. Doctor on call. Delicious Continental, Italian, Oriental, Mexican, Chinese, Sikkimiese and Indian cuisine. In room dinning. Garden coffee bar, Bar-B-Q and Chung parlor.  Travel & Trekking counter with full equipments and guide. Indoor and outdoor games. Member of PTDA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rabdentse Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabdentse Residency Pelling, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rabdentse Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.