We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spoiled Get together” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ponram Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ponram Hotel
254 Omalur Main Road | Peramanoor, Salem, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 69 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Spoiled Get together”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited this restaurant today for a get together after a long time, We ordered three dosas and one plate of chicken and an egg masala, We waited for an hour for the orders to be delivered and in the meantime I almost begged them many times to attend to our orders soon as it was getting late for our train. Finally after an hour we got our order and were shocked to know how we have been cheated in a tawdry manner. For egg masala, they have put eggs in chicken kurma and gave it us. The chicken was horrible and not properly cooked, When I asked them about this, they mentioned that you should have told us earlier then we would have changed it. How funny, They will cheat you, you have to identify and tell them that they have cheated and then they will provide good food and the sad part is I paid 100 Rs for the old chicken kurma they provided me telling me that it was egg masala. To sum up, these people are well dressed robbers who milk your money in terms of the so called Service they provide. Why can't food cell Police raid these theives?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Best Biryani I have had in my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was spending a night in Salem en route to Madurai, and found this place through tripadvisor. The restaurant is clean and functional. It has a nice AC section towards the right.

Man oh man! What a Biryani, it was by far the best I have tasted in recent years. The rice was evenly and richly spiced, and blended with tender pieces of roasted pieces of boneless mutton. I could not believe that biryani could be this good. I ordered mutton masala as an accompaniment, which was also very good. The food here has a full body spicy taste, and not just high on chillies.

You have to stop by this place if you are passing through Salem. Trust me, you will love it. I already have requests for a few parcel orders from my friends to bring back to Bangalore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vinoth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

It is one of the Worst Restaurent in Salem.They dont have mannerism in Serving and food is highly quality and taste is worst.I simply suggest go to some normal hotel you will get better food.
--Vinoth

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Authentic South Tamilnad fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Absolutely the best food in Salem. Start with the pepper chicken and fish fry for starters. The mutton biriyani is a must. The mutton just melts in your mouth. This is Dindigul biriyani at its best. The egg dosai was soft and fluffy and just unbeatable. No frozen stuff here. The meat and fish is all fresh. By Salem standards, the ambience was good and service excellent. Reasonably priced as well. A must visit restaurant in Salem.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponram Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Ponram Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponram Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.