We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality.. Unexpectedly great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahua Bagh Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahua Bagh Resort
Save
You added Mahua Bagh Resort to your Saves list
Nandgaon, Murud, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murud
1 review
“Best hospitality.. Unexpectedly great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place at the peak of summer but the service offered by sudeep and his entire team made the trip worthwhile. New rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable. Although bagh needs to improve on indoor activities or arrange some local sightseeing, you will not regret the stay due to the excellent service provided by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lovely & Quiet location next to a 5 minute walking distance from the sea. At location Sudeep along with 2 helpers really took awesome care of all our Food & Beverage needs, its a wonderful way to break away from the commercial lives that we lead.

The warmth & hospitality extended was out of this world & rare to find even in best of hotels in the country today

Room Tip: All rooms are at par
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Mahua Bagh wouldn't suit your idea of an ideal resort with 24 hours of A/c,room service facilities etc but goes much beyond that, in the warmth and affection that the limited staff present provide you with.If you are too accustomed to sitting and chilling out in the confines of your room then this isn't a place for you,definitely not in the summer's. But if you don't mind sitting out in the open and just relaxing out this is definitely the place for you. Not that they don't provide you with A/c in the rooms,it's present but for a limited period in the nite after dinner and in the noons after lunch.This is due to the frequent power outs in the area. And though we were a group of 8 persons with small children including my 7 month old son, we didn't find it so much of a drawback but others might not find it appealing, specially in this heat. This and the approach road are probably the only drawbacks that anyone can encounter here. We reached the place late on Friday Nite after a long Drive from Mumbai and it might get a little difficult to spot the place in the dark due to absence of sign-age on the last 1 km stretch but if you contact the local in-charge,he will not only guide only but also comes out on his bike to assist you.He did this for all of us since all of us couples were traveling separately and all of us got a little
lost towards the end and also did the same for my friend who came alone early morning at 2 am.The food at the Bagh was amazing,the veg fare included. Never enjoyed veg food so much including their home made pickles
Quite a few of the vegetables that they use are grown in their own farms. Moving on to the rooms we stayed in the 4 new cottages and quite preferred them over the old cottages. The old cottages have a nice view of the beach but the new ones allow us a lot of space for the children to play and move around. which wud'nt be possible at the old cottages. The old cottages therefore would be preferable for couples more than families according to me. Room nos 5&6 have an open shower included which is pretty cool.All the new cottages have a television set and a fridge. There are 3 very playful dogs on the farm,Gypsy the biggest of them all is a darling. And I can't complete this review without mentioning
the Hospitality of the staff Mr Shivlal, Micheal, Mahesh, Sudeep and all included. They really made us feel at home and gave us service which was better than a 5 star hotel. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and is prepared to let go a few frills of luxury. After all not everything in life can be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you like rural simplicity, delicious home grown food, the sound of the sea and a cool breeze blowing through coconut palms this is the place for you. If you prefer 5 star luxury and all mod-cons then maybe think again. Mahua Bagh is a peaceful retreat, beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated. We stayed in one of the newer a.c. rooms which had a fantastic modern bathroom with regular hot water and a sunken shower area; a cool veranda where sometimes our meals were served by the very friendly and helpful staff, and also where the lovely dogs would snooze in the heat of the day. Mostly, meals were served in the shade of the mango trees whilst the chickens scratched around us. The food was freshly prepared and some of the best we have eaten whilst in India, indeed anywhere. Taking a break from the heat, noise and busy city life of Pune where my husband has been working, we were exploring this part of the coast and didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The beach which you can walk to when the tide is out is long, silver and mostly empty. The road is winding, potholed and the place hard to find but it is worth it. The only complaint is that the curtains, mats and bed spreads were not clean and I used my own scarves and throws to sleep under. For a place at this price and wanting to encourage visitors, it should be a priority to keep it clean and the bins in the rooms emptied sometimes. That said however we still recommend the place very much. The positive elements far outweigh the few glitches. It is one of the most beautiful places we have been and we returned to Pune refreshed and rejuvenated.

Room Tip: The older rooms which are higher up have the best views and more privacy. The new rooms have good ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We visited Mahua Bagh based on the high recommendations of our travel agent and guess what. It exceeded our expectations!!! Although, its not a joyride to this place, its definitely worth the time and energy. Unlike all commercial resorts and hotels this home like property is a perfect place to unwind and just BE. The tiny villages adorning the the property which were extraordinarily simple and beautiful. Although short staffed due to the Holiday season, the villagers cum room service help were way too polite and courteous. This enriching experience in Solitude cannot be described by words alone. You need to see, feel it and then believe it. Make sure you call the Manager / Agent to find out the best time to visit this place. DO NOT rely on Google maps for this location. It lands you in Kashid , whereas this place is Mazgaon which is close to Nandgaon.

Room Tip: Rooms number 2,3,4 are known for the overlooking bay view, however I'd place my bet on 6,7,8 (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I visited Mahua Bagh for a 2 night stay from 21-23 March 2014. It is situated at Nandgaon, mid-way between Kashid and Murud. We were very happy with the service, food and ambience at this place.

On arrival, Mr Shival, their manager and Sudeep, one of the staff welcomed us with a refreshing drink of home-made limbu pani. Since we were the only guests on that day, we were shown all the rooms to choose whichever one we liked; we finally decided on one of the older rooms, as it was at a slight height, and with a view of the beach. All the rooms were basic, but very airy, bright and cosy. Linen and bath towels were clean, and basic toiletries were provided. A couple of the newer ones even have open-to-sky showers.

I must mention the food: all meals were included in our package, and we thoroughly enjoyed them. Since this is a farm, a lot of the vegetables & fruits are grown on site, and they make their own pickles and chutneys from the fresh produce. Meals are served outdoors, on the lawn, under the shade of huge mango trees. Fresh fish is available on request. All the dishes we were served were freshly cooked and very tasty with huge portions.

Service is really excellent, and Mr. Shival, Sudeep and the other staff were very attentive to the guests' needs and made one feel completely at home. We were offered tea and evening snacks too, which is very rare in most package deals. Everyone was always very courteous and friendly.

Pet lovers will really enjoy this place, as there are three loving dogs on the property; Gypsy, a huge but gentle giant, Sheru, the quiet one and Jap, the most energetic and mischievous of the lot. You can even get your own pets to this farm, they are welcome here. As dog lovers, we were very happy to have the three dogs around us to play with. The dogs even guided us to the beach, which is about 5 minutes away from the property.

The only (minor) negatives were lack of a paved access road to the property (which is apparently because it is near the Phansad sanctuary, and the government doesn't allow construction of paved roads) and the electricity problem which the region faces. There are frequent power cuts, and though the resort has a generator, it is not always sufficient to power the entire resort. This could be a problem in the summer if the ACs and fans don't work.

Overall, it is a great place for a weekend break for couple and families. The fresh air, yummy food, superlative service and playing with the dogs will rejuvenate you for the gruelling week ahead. We highly recommend this farmhouse-hotel.

Room Tip: The older ones have a beach view, while the newer ones have slightly better (i.e. less worn) furnish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went for a weekend holiday, saw the review and booked it. The place & the resort - Truly Awesome !! We have booked 3 new cottages, very very big rooms with Open shower and nice interiors. They served home cooked food, taste was really good specially Dal Fry and Sevaiya ki kheer. They have their own farm, so you will get fresh veggies for lunch & dinner. Serve lunch/dinner/breakfast in open garden restaurant.

Resort is located right next to Rocky beach and they have nice view from old cottages with huge terrace. Service was really good. Only thing which needs to improve is the "Last km road" which was very raw. Main Road work is in progress which will take sometime, I think 5-6 months.

Special Thanks to Mr. Shaiwal Jain, Sudeep, Michael & Kaka for their splendid hospitality. Keep Rocking !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahua Bagh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahua Bagh Resort

Address: Nandgaon, Murud, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Murud
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murud
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mahua Bagh Resort Murud, Maharashtra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahua Bagh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.