We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kielder Water Bird of Prey Centre

Kielder Water Bird of Prey Centre
Leaplish Waterside Park, Kielder, England
+44 1434 250400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Kielder
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Officially licensed Birds of Prey Centre set in the heart of beautiful Kielder Water and Forest Park, the only place in Britain with dark sky status.
newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

the staff make you feel very welcome and they know their stuff!! lots of birds to see, mountain goats and some rare breeds also. wrap up warm if you go in december like us as its open air

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    10
    2
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant family day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went here yesterday - lovely sunny day and a lovely warm welcome from Ray and his staff. Ray - the man in charge - was so knowledgeable and caring about his birds and shared his knowledge in a way that the whole family understood. My 2 year old and 5 year old both had a turn at wearing the glove to catch a bird which made their day. We all had a great time and would definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bird of prey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent !!! Got to go, well worth it, lovely staff and owner dedicated to these birds, give you loads of info nothing a bother. My grandsons absolutely loved it

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“sarebri26”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visited on 10th April. Thoroughly enjoyed our day. Best display we have ever been to. During the display the audience, in particular the kids, were allowed to have the birds sit on a glove on their hands. My two daughters were extremely happy to be allowed to participate. Ray & all the staff were very friendly and happy to answer any questions. The children were allowed to stroke Willow the owl and raved about it for hours afterwards. Ray also let the girls sit in with some baby bunnies while we had a chat about the birds. I cannot recommend Keilder water bopc highly enough & will def visit again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited the centre at the easter break with the family with the 5 kids ranging from 12 to 21 and had a great time.
The centre is run by a very friendly and knowledgeable family who engaged not only with my kids but all the younger attendees at the centre. We visited mainly to see the birds of prey in flight and found the session great fun and interesting. The birds fly to hand with lots of people attending being given the chance to have a bird fly to them as well as the fun elelment of food being thrown into the air for the balck kite to swoop in, catch in flight and then transfer to its mouth whilst still flying. The birds flown when we visited were a black kite, eagle owl, harris hawk, ural owl, barn owl and the big one - sea eagle the UK's biggest bird of prey.
The owls were fantastic as they are totally silent. The eagle is like a small plane when it swoops overhead.
Seeing the birds fly straight at you to get food placed behind your head is an experience.
I'd pay to see the flights every day.
When the flights were over, the centre has a wide range of birds to see with the staff being available to answer questions and provide an insight into what they do each day and how the birds react to flying, their ideal weitghts, training programmes etc

The american kestrel is tiny. The burrowing owl is very cute - my partners words. The pelicans are huge ! The fluffy rabbits are very cuddley.
After the formal display, some of the other birds were flown as part of their training which was fun to watch as they sometimes preferred to land on building and tables rather than the gloved hand with the food in it. Ray then spent 5 mins persuading them to come back

The centre offers experience packages where you can handle the birds, be involved in flying them and take part in training which we wanted to do but didnt have the time due to other bookings.

Our children are a wide age range and come from the 'technical world' and are rarely far from a computer or phone but enjoyed t so much we returned the following day to see differnt birds fly.
I'd recommend it to anyone and will return to go an experience day with all the kids being keen

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kielder Water Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
 
Kielder, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Kielder Water Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kielder Water Bird of Prey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.