We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Universe - 31st August 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kielder Observatory

Kielder Observatory
Black Fell, Kielder, England
07805638469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Kielder
Type: Observatories/ Planetariums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kielder Observatory is a centre for public outreach in the science of astronomy and physics. It serves to promote the universe to our guests, enabling people from all walks of life and levels of interest to access the visual splendour of the cosmos. With a superb array of telescopes and instrumentation to explore the depths of space. Expert tuition awaits the visitors who come along and take part in our featured events, sit in complete comfort in our classroom next to the log burning fire and let us take you on a tour of the universe.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Universe - 31st August 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Myself and my son visyed the observatoy last night , the weather was awful so we were unable to view the sky with the telescopes. The talk however was captivating and thought provoking -- fantastic evening, just imagine what it would of been like with clear skies! We were on holiday in the area but are contemplating a future trip from North Wales in the future just to visit the observatory again. So wish we lived closer!
Jeff & Matthew Johnson - N.Wales

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    31
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“poor weather made fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

thanks for a fun and interesting night even though the weather awful! i forgot to ask a question though have you ever seen a ufo !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Special Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This was a spur of the moment booking a week before our long-planned trip to Northumberland and turned out to be the highlight.
The mostly voluntary team have got so very many things right. A beautiful building in a glorious setting and passion for & knowledge of a subject communicated engagingly.
We were fortunate and cloudy skies cleared for the final hour when true dark skies began. The team stayed much later than the advertised finish time letting the visitors who remained take advantage of the weather and skies.
The only downside was that a computer glitch meant it was significantly overbooked which led to less telescope time than there would otherwise have been. And as a total amateur this meant I struggled to see much as it took quite a while 'to get my eye in' and there was generally a big queue of people waiting behind you. But it was a genuine mistake and the team did everything they could to give all a great experience regardless.
This is a wonderful place, with a vision to bring the wonder of the universe to all regardless of knowledge, background and physical ability. It should be backed to the hilt.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must See.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We traveled 1.5hrs to visit Kielder Observatory last night (15th) and although it was cloudy following a torrential rain storm it didn't prevent us from experiencing a superb overview of our skies and what we can see from the resident astronomer Gary, whilst we could get up close and see the 2 telescopes we didn't experience the view due to the overhead clouds however on our return journey we did see some clear areas which we stopped the car to jump out for a look and we actually saw the summer milky way which i can only describe as an incredible sight

i highly recommend this visit

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Went to the kielder observatory last night, unfortunately it was cloudy, nonetheless we had a great time, the volunteers are very knowledgeable and the place is very special. We definitely will go back there hopefully next time the weather will be on our side.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kielder Observatory also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
 
Northumberland, England
 

Been to Kielder Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kielder Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.