We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeanGate Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added DeanGate Motel to your Saves list
DeanGate Motel
High Street, Lydney GL15 5DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Myself & 4 friends stayed at the Deangate Motel for two nights to attend a wedding at Clearwell Castle (just 5 minutes away by car).
We loved our big & spacious rooms and the fact that they are soundproofed was an added bonus.
The Motel is well maintained, very clean and tastefully decorated. The rooms have comfy beds, a flatscreen TV, good quality toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge.
Thanks to Phillipe for feeding the birds....I have never seen so many Robins (30+) all perching on one bush before - a lovely treat!
You'll get a great welcome here with the new owners really making an effort to ensure you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room as windows upstairs don't open at the moment (due to be altered in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deangate1, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thankyou for your great review for DeanGate Motel. We look forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    23
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
40
54
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just stayed at the Deangate Motel at Lydney on the edge of the Forest of Dean.This property has one of the best motel rooms we have ever stayed in.Spacious,well decorated,with an amply proportioned bathroom with shower.Accommodation was also spotlessly clean.Flat screen tv and good quality toiletries also provided.Ample gated hard standing car park.Although there is no on site catering,a continental breakfast can be pre-ordered which will be delivered to your room at a pre-designated time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deangate1, Owner at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thankyou very much for your beautiful comments. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The rather unattractive town of Lydney now boasts an attractive motel, that oozes quality. Car parking is easy,ample and free (Lydney has just become a car parking paying town !). Rooms are spacious, with comfortable, firm, beds. The attractive bathroom would benefit from better lighting, a shelf,and the power shower needs, well, more power. The continental breakfast ,delivered to your room (this is a motel), is well worth the 5 pounds asked. If you dream of a Full English Breakfast,try Kaplins, at the bottom of the town (but only open from 9.00am) and you will get the full works, served quickly for 6 pounds.

Should you be around for Sunday lunch and could be amused by the "spit and sawdust" atmosphere of a real Forest pub, then the Naggs Head at nearby Yorkley could give you something to talk about- not least the selection of 6 vegetables and choice of 5 desserts, all for under a tenner.

The motel has already been sold to new owners, who seem keen to maintain quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deangate1, General Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review of DeanGate. We hope that you do find the opportunity to visit us (and the Forest of Dean) again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newort
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Excellent accommadation and good service. The bookings were made and a slight mis-communication with the room availability when I arrived. I had booked 5 twin rooms and 2 doubles in total, this had been confirmed over the telephone and took a little while to arrange.
Granville and his Wife are lovely people. It seems that difficulty comes if a person makes a booking on-line, these details seem to get mis-placed.

Once settled we all had an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deangate1, Manager at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thankyou for your great review for DeanGate Motel. We look forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I booked this motel (in person) in mid-April for the evening of May 19th. All details (credit card, contact info etc...) were taken and I left looking forward to my one night there.
I telephoned this morning to ask what time I could arrive to be told that there was -
a) no record of my booking (the record was eventually found), then
b) the room had been double-booked, then
c) the third excuse was that the previous owner had put the booking in the wrong month.
The (new) owner/manager seemed a little vague and asked me the same questions about the booking 2 or 3 times. Although he did try to get us alternative accomodation, he failed to find anything which fitted my needs - as a result, my weekend has been ruined. A shame!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deangate1, Owner at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thankyou for having tim to review DeanGate Motel. I am very sorry that your weekend was ruined but we made a mistake. Everything was written down as you said but when taking on a brand new business you are bound to make mistakes that's how you learn. We are very sorry again for the mistake and we wish you could come and stay with us so you could review us properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This review would have said excellent the hotel itself is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. However the guy on reception doesnt appear to be very professional and would be more suited to working in a room somewhere alone and not around people. The thinly veiled eye rolling when requesting breakfast and a few snide comments stained what was otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: dont stay here unless u have a thick skin and can tolerate rudeness from someone who should know bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great welcome from Michael fantastic comms and flexibility from both Michael and Granville and wonderfull recommendations for dinning throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deangate1, Owner at DeanGate Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thankyou for your great review for DeanGate Motel. We look forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DeanGate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeanGate Motel

Address: High Street, Lydney GL15 5DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deangate Motel, situated on the edge of the Forest of Dean, offers boutique bedrooms, continental breakfasts for just £5 per person per morning, free parking and free Wi-Fi. The elegant rooms at the Deangate all have a modern en-suite bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Rooms also offer a flat-screen TV,sound proof walls, hairdryer and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your DeanGate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deangate Hotel Lydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeanGate Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.