We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place (perhaps don't take your children)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Le Mouton Dort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Le Mouton Dort
Save
You added Auberge Le Mouton Dort to your Saves list
28 Avenue des Martyrs de la Resistance, 06430 Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Carlisle, Cumbria,
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely place (perhaps don't take your children)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a b and b set in a most fantastic position in the hamlet ofSt Dalmas de Tende. Lovely rooms and a great pool set amongst the mountain scenery. We stayed 3 nights as family of 5 and enjoyed ourselves. The location lends itself to walking in the Mercantour, and the core market is 'couples' - and if that is you then fab....! With 3 (lively) children, 'madame' was a little on edge, and the food was a little 'adventurous'! She was lovely and gave us great advice, and tried ever so hard.
So full marks to the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at the Mouton Dort for two nights and wished it could have been longer, it is a great area to explore. We were in one of the detached cabins that appeared to be newly built and were quite perfect with a large storage cupboard, tiled bathroom and flat screen TV. The room was clean and fresh and there were separate heaters in the bedroom and bathroom so even with the window open at night the bathroom stayed cozy. We chose not to eat at the hotel the first night but on the second night we joined our hosts for a wonderful meal consisting of local food and traditional dishes. Philippe & Julienne are great hosts it was like being at home as we got to know our fellow diners. The views are wonderful the air is fresh and the road up to this beautiful little hotel is steep but perfectly safe if you take your time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

A delightful beginning to our road trip of Provence. Several kms from Tende itself, Le Mouton Dort offers modern accommodation in a village atmosphere with exceptional hosts.

The rooms are comfortable and clean with amazing views of the surrounding area. The free wifi was by far the fastest and best that I experienced in France, particularly for an out of town establishment.

If you enjoy walking, you will enjoy this place, but you will need a car to get there in the first place. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. Sleep quality is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed here on the first night of our holiday and no hotel afterwards could come close. To start with, the proprietors are genuinely friendly and warm, and made us feel really welcome. (I don't think they speak much or any English, but I didn't check this so could be wrong.) It's a bit out of the way off the main road, but worth the trip - a lovely quiet spot high in the valley.

Our room, Lilas 5, appeared to be newly refurbished, simply but tastefully furnished, and the bathroom was lovely, with a very good shower. The room had its own separate entrance, giving a feeling of privacy, and a small balcony with a view over the valley.

Evening meal was a fixed menu and was fairly simple, but really tasty, the home reared lamb being beautifully tender. As the weather was fine, meals were taken on the terrace which had a superb view (though the small inside dining room also looked cosy and comfortable should it be needed during bad weather). Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice, fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereal as well as the usual pastries, and unlimited coffee.

Finally it was excellent value for money. One night with 3 course evening meal, breakfast, a couple of beers and 2 pichets of wine came to less than we paid for a room alone in many places. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Le Mouton Dort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Mouton Dort

Address: 28 Avenue des Martyrs de la Resistance, 06430 Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes Maritimes > Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Riviera and Piedmont, at the foot of the Valley of Wonders, Philip and Julian welcome you to their hostel where friendliness, nature and quality are waiting for you! Le Mouton sleep by its secluded, sunny, plumb village location offers peace and serenity, and since your arrival. On sunny days you can enjoy our swimming pool (only in Tende) indoor solar heated in a mountain environment. Enjoy our spacious and functional rooms as well as terraces enjoying a beautiful view of the valley. Parking available - WiFi available in all rooms - Satellite TV - reservation activities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Le Mouton Dort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.