We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great romantic discovery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo to your Saves list
Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Visconti 8 | Via Dal Pozzo 24, 28040 Oleggio Castello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“a great romantic discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We decided to spend here our first wedding night. After the wedding we arrived at the Castello del Pozzo (it was a little hard to find our way around - but maybe we were just a little tired) and we found out that the room was upgraded! the staff brought our bags in this amazing room: never see anything better. The only problem was the big cement wall outside the window that blocked the view to the park... We had food service which was excellent if not a bit pricey. The following day, after a quite abundant breakfast we had a walk around the park and that was exceptional. the old and abandoned glasshouse was truly magnificent. Overall we spent a very good day there and we won't forget it for a very long time. but it was a special occasion, after all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    67
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
165
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wanaque, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is an excellent but price-y property. However, I saved 30% by taking a 5 day
package which was only offered on line. A friend who owns a winery in the area could not negotiate a better price in person. No need to take a big expensive room either. Excellent
breakfast and super, personal service. Squeaky clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel looked promising on internet, but it was a big disappointment. Difficult to find, a long way from the airport, overpriced - especially in the restaurant. Lacking atmosphere and style. In addition dreadful sleep because of ever chiming church bells nearby. Stay clear!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Room: We had a nice room but could not get hot water. Even after informing the staff a few times nothing really changed, we just found out that we have to let the water run for 10-15 min before it turns hot.
Dinning: Really good food (with a lot of butter used- maybe thats why so tasty:-) but very pricy at the same time. It takes a lot of time till dinner is served.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofstade, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had great rooms ( junior suite) and the breakfast was more than fine.
Our problems were the dinners and the bill we had to pay at the income desk.
We had five dinners and the first day we had to wait more than 2 hours to get our food served.
The last day, as the menu was fixed we changed some parts ( as we had friends who eat only fish and no raw food) . Not a problem the other days but when we paid the bill an extra of 160 euro's was charged ( without any comment when we ordered).
The bill to be paid at the end of our trip was complete chaos.
Some friends who left later had to pay extra's where we were not informed of.
It took more than an hour to get the bill and the extra's we had to pay the day later (trough our friends). As a B&B hotel I would have given 4 stars.

Room Tip: Take a junior suite and B&B. Good restaurants all over ( l'alchemista at 500 meters and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

You are visiting a real family home when you stay at this hotel. The enigma that is Castello Dal Pozzo starts from the point of arrival, a slightly challenging mix of mews and maze that is made up by the road on the approach, you come to a junction and have to go either to the castle or the palace as was the case for us. On arrival the palace strikes you as a work in progress with the wellness centre and further apparment complex under construction, but this is NOT a negative here as it is clear that this will make the last piece in the jigsaw for the complex, and take the ratings from 4 to 5 for any reviewers I am guessing.

The staff were excellent and more than willing to spend time helping with the slightest thing, and the advice on the local area was detailed and freely given. The room in the palace, junior suite, was spacious and the bathroom very up to date. The facilities in the room represent a good blend of modern with a twist in respect of the history of the family. I cannot imagine any corporate traveller feeling out of place here, but someone likewise in need of a tranquil get away will not be disappointed.

During our stay there was one of the KTM motocross training days, this took place in the grounds of the castle and reminded me of watching this type of event in UK so many years ago.... nostalgia of a different kind. It was not intrusive however as the noisy bit was during the day when most people would be out looking at the lake or be in the cocooned surroundings of the conference centre.

The breakfast could have been better, some fresh fruit and juices would have been welcome given the target market for the establishment. On a positive note we brought in some soya milk due to dietary needs and this was warmed each morning with no hesitation, again service of the highest standard.

The finish in the hotel was spotless, housekeeping made up the rooms with a lightening speed and efficiency.

I must say something about the whole ambience of the castle/palace/village of Oleggio Castello. The feeling you have become guests of the family cannot be underestimated, the castle is still a home and the ambience does reflect this, there are parts of the buildings that look grand and others that have the authenticity of the longevity of the place.

One day we bumped into the sister of the owner, just about to set off on her scooter, we must have looked a little lost and she pointed out where we could get to a local park, she also asked if we were at the hotel and were having a good stay, you really did get the feeling you were welcome in their home/village.

To conclude, the palace is "getting there" in terms of having all the tick list of facilities that are mandatory for a 5* hotel. For me however, the ambience and sense of being somewhere special is already in place and that is what matters, the other pieces may be more important to some clients but for those of you who want to have a bit of living history while visiting the region then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want grand surroundings and historic look and feel choose the castle.. It is worth noting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The first thing to be said about this hotel is that they have wonderful staff. They were faultless. From our initial reception, to all the staff we met in restaurants and the wine bar we found them to be delightful. The hotel (we were in the Palazzo, room 603, decent view of the lake) is in great condition. Great food and service at Le Fief too.
We would certainly visit this place again. Perhaps to try out a room in the Castello to try and spot the ghost!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo

Address: Via Visconti 8 | Via Dal Pozzo 24, 28040 Oleggio Castello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Oleggio Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oleggio Castello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of the Castello Dal Pozzo is as ancient and distinctive as its splendid surroundings, and together they create what is undoubtedly the most unique and exclusive Property to be found on Lake Maggiore… a fascinating treasure: the Castle…English art experts defined the architecture of the Castle as one of the purest re-interpretations of neo-Gothic Tudor existing in Italy.Set as a jewel in the delicate filigree work of the surrounding English gardens, the Castle offers the most exclusive and unique setting for any event.Excellent in-house dining combined with exquisite hospitality and impeccable service ensure the success of every special occasion, ably overseen by our professional and courteous staff.La felice sinergia con il Palazzo accresce le opportunità per eventi e soggiorni.The Palace, situated just across from the Castle, adds an additional component to the already wide range of different solutions for all events and stays. ...the perfect setting: the Palace …Built by the Visconti d’Aragona family, the luxury Palazzo boats a perfect combination of age old elegance and modern comfort throughout.The Palazzo is the perfect setting for a relaxing stay in the thirty bedrooms, full of charm, whilst the excellent selection of dishes and traditional specialities offered by the restaurant “Le Fief” complement the atmosphere of wellbeing.The Palazzo has versatile spaces for MICE activities (auditorium capacity of more than 300 people and 8 smaller meeting rooms) as well as prestigious Ballroom for Gala events.A few minutes drive from Lake Maggiore, the Castello Dal Pozzo Property is located 30 kms from the International Malpensa_Airport and a mere 60 kms from Milan City.Motorway exit (A26 – Arona) 2 kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Venere, Hotels.com, Escapio, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castello Dal Pozzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.