We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RHS Garden Rosemoor

RHS Garden Rosemoor
RHS Garden Rosemoor, Great Torrington EX38 8PH, England
0845 265 8072
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for inspiration and a relaxing day out, come to RHS Garden Rosemoor and stroll around our enchanting 65-acre garden. Rosemoor is a garden of intoxicating beauty, meticulously crafted and planted, retaining the essence of rural North Devon within a dramatic backdrop of steep wooded valley sides.Whatever the season, the exciting colours, scents and textures mean that all your senses will be stimulated, and with both formal and informal gardens - as well as woodland walks, water features and open spaces - there is something for children and adults alike to enjoy time and again.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Our Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great visit, gardens very tidy and well stocked. Our visit lasted 5 hours and we could have stayed longer but it was closing time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    45
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Definetely worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

RHS Rosemoor is a wonderful,and superbly pretty place to visit.
More for the keen gardeners,than young families,it boasts some of the best rose gardens in the country, a beautiful thatched 'cottage' and garden,productive vegetable plots and huge open spaces where you can perch under one of the huge trees and take your lunch.The café is very reasonably priced,with outside seating area,and there is also another house where you can take afternoon teas.We were amazed by the size of the whole site,and didn't get to see all of it unfortunately!
Definetely worth a visit however.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As new RHS members we were interested to visit make our first visit to one of their show gardens. We spent about five hours there in mid August including coffee, lunch and afternoon tea!
We particularly enjoyed the hot garden with it's glorious colours and the wonderful productive vegetable garden.
Hopefully we will get the chance to visit at another time of year.
A good day out for adults - hard to imagine it capturing the attention of active children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“For Enthusiastic Gardeners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Obviously the gardens are superb and provide very many hours of study for the enthusiast and great enjoyment for all. Sadly, on an average day, there is a missed opportunity to turn the occasional gardener into an enthusiast or provide the children with a new hobby. As one of the remits of the RHS is to make gardening more accessible to all - especially the upcoming generations - more thought could be given to explaining what makes the displays so wonderful and by providing areas to enthuse the general DIY gardener (although there are horticultural walks and talks on some days).The children's "Great Garden Explorer" booklet was a good introduction to orienteering and children did go free in August. Having criticised (hopefully constructively) we had a great time picnicking on well sited tables in the woods and trying to supervise the children as we appreciated the wonderful displays.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Really liked it this time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We didn't like it at all on our first trip, made many years ago, probably in the mid 1990's. We went specifically to get ideas/buy unusual water & bog plants for a largish pond/rill/bog garden area we were opening up. I suppose it was not very long after the bequest (which was in 1988, I think) but everything was very bare, suburban, & as I recollect there was the fashionable blue painted wood a la Titchmarsh around. They'd planted tons of roses which had died and the RHS professed to be surprised that roses didn't always do well in Devon & Cornwall. I was appalled to see that Lady Anne's own garden (the only really attractive bit then) was neglected and overgrown and the fishing lodge boarded up and miserable. The rill & lake were OK, but unusual bog plants were not for sale, only ordinary ones obtainable at any good garden centre, but at twice the price. We've never been back, but at a party a month or so ago I met someone who was raving about Rosemoor. When I said we went once and hated it, he begged me to go back as it was lovely now. So we did, and it was! All the varied tall dividing hedges were being trimmed and although the end of the season, there was still lots of colour & variety. We particularly liked the hot garden with its mass of butterflies & bees. The gardens were busy, with a large number of small children, who I thought would not enjoy it, but thanks to the two excellent play areas and a very liberal approach to running around on the grass, they seemed to be having a ball. The lack of prescriptive notices about not doing this and that was particularly refreshing. Lady Anne's beautiful garden was now looking loved and cared for, and the house all done up as a pretty cafeteria and (I think) holiday lets. A great improvement. The entry process was quick & easy and the staff all smiley and polite. The shop was huge, with lots of attractive products (quite a few made especially for the RHS). The plant sale area was much larger than I remembered; I would still quibble slightly that the really unusual stuff you had spotted and wanted was not available, and the prices were very high, but it was well laid out and easy to find things. I'm really glad we went back and revised our previously unfavourable opinion, which after all was a long time ago.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RHS Garden Rosemoor also viewed

 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Great Torrington, Devon
 

Been to RHS Garden Rosemoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHS Garden Rosemoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.