We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New managers are generally maintaining the standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Reading Road, Winnersh, Wokingham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Winnersh
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Winnersh, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New managers are generally maintaining the standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I am a regular at this pub and was slightly fearful that the young couple who have taken over in the last month would not be able to maintain the high standards that Roberto and Luana maintained for their food. I think that Luke & Grace are a hard working, enthusiastic and professional couple, but their attention to detail is slightly lower than previously. I did have cause to make one complaint (hence not a 5-star rating), but it was handled properly, courteously and without any rancour. I would rather give an immediate, honest critique and feedback to those responsible so that they can improve and my opinion was received in this manner

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    19
    14
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading Berkshire UK
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“New Owners Still Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We went for an evening meal and met the new owners Grace and Umberto who now run this pub/restaurant.

The menu is excellent and there is such a lot from which to choose.

We started with freshly cooked soda bread with herb butter..NumNum

Carole had a superb burger, Simon had Lasagne and I had Chicken Milanese.

They have a wide range of quality wines.....C and S had red, I had white.

We rolled home well happy !!

If we had stayed there was a Karaoke !!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lunch with friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been a regular here since Roberto and Luana took over the restaurant and have been very impressed with the food. Especially since Roberto was always happy and ready to make modifications to the menu for me (being a fussy wotsit where food is concerned). So, I was very surprised when I went on Friday (after a break of 3-4 weeks, a long break for me) to find it under new management and the menu quite changed. Where had all the wonderful seafood pasta gone and the red pepper tart/pheasant? ! Anyway, I chose the salmon and atlantic prawn salad with the marie rose on the side. The salad was ample and the prawns fresh, not defrosted. Very enjoyable it was too. My friend had Luana's stew which went down a treat. I will go back but not as frequently as the menu selection is more restricted for what I like to eat. Shame as it is local. I wish it well. The burgers ordered by others looked amazing but not my cup of tea so to speak.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food - particularly chocolate brownie with sauce and fruit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Convenient and very friendly staff. Enjoyed my stay.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Was ok. Bedrooms ok but need updating. Bathroom grotty, with hardly any room around the toilet, and the shower grossly underpowered. Restaurant was ok, but very expensive. Good breakfast and friendly staff.
Would only go back if I really had to.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Winnersh, Wokingham
Sindlesham, Wokingham
 
Hurst, Wokingham
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.